We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value, location and service!”
Review of A View of Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A View of Rome
Ranked #20 of 3,642 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value, location and service!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Staying at A View of Rome was the best! The location is ideal: a lively neighborhood just outside Vatican City with public transit and many restaurants, and the promised view of St. Peter's dome from our window! The double-paned windows six stories above the street keep out the noise and open, delightfully, for a look outside. Our clean room was small but offered plenty of storage in the wardrobe, bedside table and shelves. Daniele, Livio and Filipo were charming and extraordinarily helpful hosts. Their touring and restaurant recommendations were excellent (don't miss the restaurant in Trastevere), and thanks to their timing advice, my husband and I were able to get into the Vatican Museum on a Saturday afternoon without a reservation. We enjoyed our breakfasts with the innkeepers and the other guests. Let them arrange airport transfer (driver and car) for you; it's the civilized and safe way to get into Rome after a lost night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    56
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
206
456
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We received a warm and friendly welcome from Lourdes on our arrival. She was very helpful in explaining the transport system and where the main historical landmarks were. The room was spacious, clean, and very quiet. The hotel is located very conveniently and is only five minutes away from bus stops, tram stop and Metro and also only five minutes away from Vatican City. Although we didn't take her up on her offer, Lourdes was happy to arrange for tickets for an audience with the Pope, which I believe takes place on a Wednesday morning. There are no breakfast facilities at this hotel, however, there are a number of places nearby, and if you are happy with a croissant and coffee as we were, there are a couple of small local cafes at the end of the road. Wouldn't hesitate in recommending to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenatHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We booked this B&B based on Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. This was our fourth trip to Rome. We have always stayed near the Pantheon, however, this time we wanted to stay somewhere different and decided to stay near the Vatican.

A Touch of Rome is literally right across the street from the walls of the Vatican. It was such a perfect location for us. What we liked about this area was that it was not quite as touristy as other parts of Rome. We ate in small restaurants and shopped at local stores and bakeries that were frequented by locals, rather than tourists.

We were in Room #1. It was large and modern, and extremely comfortable. It had a small refrigerator and coffee maker. Though they don't serve breakfast, Daniele suggested a local bakery a block away that was ridiculously cheap and very yummy. While in Rome, we were in the middle of trying to buy a house in the USA. We needed to download documents from our lender for our signature. This was a stressful time for us. Lourdes was extremely helpful and accommodating. We closed on our house on time, but we could not have done it without her - thank you so much Lourdes! Everyone from Lourdes, to Daniele, to Simone were all so nice. They always responded to our emails immediately. They also arranged transportation for us to the airport on our last day. The driver was 15 minutes early. He was extremely courteous and a very safe driver.

We look forward to staying at A Touch of Rome on our next visit.

Thank you again.

Thomas and Karen Bermel
Honolulu, Hawaii

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNBDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Everything you want from a B&B and more. Fabulous location and really really helpful staff - Daniele and Simona can not do enough. Throughout our stay they were so helpful, recommending great places to eat and providing advise on places to visit and the best time. The B&B was located on the first floor, but if you need a lift then no problem, one is available. Your accommodation is clean, bright and well maintained. A Touch of Rome location is excellent for the Vatican, Metro and shopping. The clue is in the name!

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappiontment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickos59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Our family of four (2 adults and 2 teenagers) from Australia, recently stayed at this outstanding B&B. All of the reviews you have read on trip advisor are absolutely spot on!! Livio and Daniele have a genuine warmth and interest in their guests and go out of their way to offer advice to ensure their guests have the best stay possible in Rome. The family room was spacious, spotlessly clean, quiet and with a magnificent view of the Vatican.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I was a little intimated visiting Rome as I have not been traveling by myself for a while and ended up going there alone. Host Dianelle made my trip really wonderful. He's more like a brother, cooked breakfast and showed me how to enjoy the city. I couldn't have been happier. The room is clean and best extremely quiet. It is located just steps away from the Vatican Museums and the St Peter's Basilica but you can't really hear any noise from the outside. The location is very convenient, taking bus 20 you'll get to Coloseum and other sites within 20 minutes. The subway is only 5 min walk. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. In the beginning, I wasn't sure I want to stay near Vatican. But I was pleased to have done that. At night, tourists are gone so this place is mostly filled with Italians and locals, ideal for chilling out at night after a day in the sun and heat of busy Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pphd1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

No words can describe my heartfelt gratitude for the staffs of A View of Rome ( namely Livio , Danniele, Simona and Filipo ). From the time I was booking to the end of our stay at both of their B and B's ( A View of Rome and A Peace of Rome ) is nothing but full support and awesome hospitality we've had received. They patiently give you advices and heads ups of best places to see and eat. Constantly asking and making sure of your comfort at their place. Clean and detailed accomodation. But the best of all was our accommodation at the room # 1 at A Peace of Rome ". Me and my husband felt pampered and privileged. Grazie to all of the staffs and owners. No hesitation to be back here again in the foreseeable future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BicolExpress63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#35 of 1,256 in Rome
718 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,256 in Rome
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanella3
#8 of 3,642 in Rome
369 reviews
Prati
La Cupola del Vaticano
La Cupola del Vaticano
#34 of 3,642 in Rome
293 reviews
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#4 of 3,642 in Rome
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A View of Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A View of Rome

Property: A View of Rome
Address: Piazza del Risorgimento 14 | Scala A Floor 6, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 3,642 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — A View of Rome 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the sixth floor of a splendid 18th century palace,located very close to St. Peters Basilica, the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel The B&B A View Of Rome is also within easy walking distance to Castel Sant' Angelo, Piazza Navona, Piazza di Spagna and the Pantheon. Perfect for people who want to enjoy the beauties of the Eternal City from a central Rome location. From the enviable position of the B&B A View Of Rome you can admire the unforgettable views over one of the most evocative cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your A View of Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a View Of Rome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing