We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Cromata Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cromata Rooms
Ranked #881 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed here one night as we were traveling to Rome for our return flight. It is near the rail station making our arrival easy, and an easy commute to the airport in the morning. The room was modern, clean, comfortable and quite. Wifi is available in the room. The breakfast is a coupon and pastry at one of the local coffee shops. No problem. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dallasboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

This was our first stop in our honeymoon. The B&B is lovely; clean and well located. The host was very nice and helpful. It's within a 5 minute walk from 2 metro stations: Termini and Vittorio Emmanuelle. Free internet, very nice bathrooms, comfortable bed, clean linen, and a spacious room (the wife loved the colorful theme) make this a very good place to stay.
There are a couple of downsides, though. The "breakfast" part is not inside the hotel; it's a 10-minute walk away in a cafe.Another thing is that we spent 30 minutes looking for the hotel, as there are no signs on the street or the building it's in.
Overall, we had an excellent stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The "rental" arrangement at Cromata Rooms is somewhat unusual. This not a hotel, B&B, or a pension; it is basically a room in an apartment. A manager will meet you to check you in and check you out, but not much else--and you had better make precise arrangements to meet with them when you arrive. We arrived earlier than we had stated and were stuck outside the building on a busy Rome street in the middle of a hot day. But after we eventually settled in (a phone call by another renter reached the manager), we were happy with the clean, spacious, quiet room w/ excellent AC. Kitchen with stove, refrig., dishes, pots, bottled water, etc. readily available. Location is 10 minute walk from train station and from a metro stop from which you can reach most attractions. Still requires a lot of walking to do anything in Rome, and this place is not strategically located. Other than an initial orientation to attractions and transportation from the manager, we were entirely on our own with just our guide books. Do not expect any advice or assistance beyond that. Neighborhood is very ethnic (Asian, Indian) but felt very safe to us. Not far from pleasant park, some small restaurants. Local gelatto restaurant nearby had outstanding gelatto choices and a great community fun atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank antshrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

To be honest, I booked at the last minute and didn't have time for much research. Cromata Rooms had good reviews so I just went for it. Given its price and proximity to the train station (5-10 minute walk) I expected something seedy. We were delighted to find a pretty, modern, immaculately clean room, much bigger than expected, and extremely quiet.

This is not a hotel or a hostel: it's literally just three rooms (each with private bathroom) and a small, communal kitchen on the third floor of an apartment building. There's no sign, just a buzzer downstairs for "Three Rooms Cromata."

A staff person (I don't remember her name) was waiting when we arrived. She checked us in, took the payment, gave us a map and directions, and left us with our own key to the room and the downstairs entry. That was it! Every easy, very simple, and no frills. My husband thinks it's brilliant.

Communication was great and the woman who met us was really nice and helpful. I've only given "service" three stars not because of quality (what we had was great!) but because there are no extras that some people might usually expect, like 24-hours reception, a restaurant, or room service. But personally, I'd much rather just have a great room and a comfortable bed..

There is free, fast Wi-fi, and someone does clean the room while you're out.

The metro and train station are 5-10 minutes away; the Colosseum is a lovely, 20 minute walk. Breakfast is at a cafe down the block: your choice of coffee, and either a croissant or a simple breakfast sandwich.

I highly recommend this wonderful gem of a place. We were very happy with everything about it and will definitely stay there again if we come back to Rome.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank autumneve75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

The rooms are on the 3rd floor of an attractive apartment building (entrance not easily seen). Our room was pretty, well-appointed, CLEAN and very-very quiet. The modern touches in the old-style building did the trick. We will definitely stay there again :o)))

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Cromata Rooms is a 3 bedroom B&B owned by GianLuca who is a very personable guy and also very helpful. We stayed here for 2 nights and I tried to extend my stay for another night but the place was fully booked!
Cromata is located near (2 min walk) the Victorio Emanuelle train station which is one stop away from Termini (the central train station of Rome). We walked every day to Termini and all the important sites (including the Colosseum) from this hotel. Cromata is also a little isolated from the unending crowd and noise of Repubblica and yet it's walking distance to it. I thought that was a perfect location.
The hotel is located in an apartment building and there is no 24 hour reception. The breakfast is served in a cafe close by (choice of coffee/cappucino and a pastry or sandwich). There is a lift so it's convenient for people with luggage. Also wi-fi is free. It's not the best signal but it worked well enough. If you are to go to the Cromata rooms website, you will see pictures of each of it's 3 rooms. The rooms look exactly like the pictures. Very clean and well decorated.
I really enjoyed my stay at Cromata. Convenient location, good service, comfortable and clean room were some of the things that I found precious. And the price...very reasonable (at time of review). Note that I did meet a photographer from a B&B magazine who came to shoot Cromata so it may get more popular in the future so get in while you can!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iyer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

As some of the other reviews state: Be certain of what you want before you book.

If you want to have hotel service (24h reception) in a historical neighbourhood and in a calm street -> don't book here.

If you want a clean, safe, central, inexpensive place to sleep -> don't look further, you found it.

The neighbourhood is not pleasant, but it seems to be safe enough and it's very central. If you use the side entrance of Termini station (which is recommended when going to the airport), trains and metro are like 10min walk away. The street is very noisy, but you get used to it. The breakfast solution in the cafe might not be for everyone but it's good quality food in an authentic Roman location.

All in all fantastic value for money. Sure there are 4 and 5 star hotels with better service and quieter location, but I'd say if you don't need reception and dead quiet at night you will be hard pressed to find something better for the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ihaveaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#464 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
6,962 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#113 of 1,271 in Rome
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#225 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#348 of 1,271 in Rome
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromata Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromata Rooms

Address: Via Cairoli 84, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #881 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cromata Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cromata Rooms is an high quality boutique inn located in the heart of Rome close to the Colosseum and to S. Maria Maggiore's basilica. Our rooms are each characterised by a sugestive play of colours and are all equipped with bathroom en-suite, cable-tv, air-conditioning and mini-bar. Every detail has been carefully taken care of; the furbishings are made to measure to fully satisfy our guest's expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Cromata Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing