We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel, but a good place to stay”
Review of Cromata Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cromata Rooms
Ranked #876 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 28 September 2010

As some of the other reviews state: Be certain of what you want before you book.

If you want to have hotel service (24h reception) in a historical neighbourhood and in a calm street -> don't book here.

If you want a clean, safe, central, inexpensive place to sleep -> don't look further, you found it.

The neighbourhood is not pleasant, but it seems to be safe enough and it's very central. If you use the side entrance of Termini station (which is recommended when going to the airport), trains and metro are like 10min walk away. The street is very noisy, but you get used to it. The breakfast solution in the cafe might not be for everyone but it's good quality food in an authentic Roman location.

All in all fantastic value for money. Sure there are 4 and 5 star hotels with better service and quieter location, but I'd say if you don't need reception and dead quiet at night you will be hard pressed to find something better for the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ihaveaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Cromata Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights, just before leaving we made the mistake of reading more reviews and were a little disheartened by the more recent ones - however it also gave us a better insight to what we were going to! As commented before, the location is definately a little bit daunting when you arrive, luckily we arrived in the daytime though. The owner was fantastic - giving us a map and pointing out lots of locations to eat and marking them for us on it - in particular suggestions for eating out at night (one of which we went to and loved it!) He also gave us his mobile for any probelms (which there weren't) The rooms were lovely and very clean and serviced every day! And yes it is a very noisy street which it is located but we can honestly say we found it no problem to sleep and managed more than one lie in! (although I do wear ear plugs which to me are an absolute godsend) but my partner doesn't and is normally a very light sleeper and he slept great he tells me!! Maybe the good food, lovely wine and lots and lots of walking in the daytime helped there then!! Location wise it isn't brilliant - quite far from most places except maybe the colosseum which is within maybe a 15-20min walk at most! (Good for us getting the train in from Florence to termini station as walk to hotel with bags only 10mins or so!) But we discovered the metro which was brilliant for us and only a 5-10 min walk at most to it from hotel and it stopped at pretty much all the main areas we wanted to go to in no time at all!! At night we tended to get a cab back to the hotel as we didn't find it all that expensive (we were on a budget also) as we weren't too keen on the metro at night or walking the neighbourhood at night but to be honest after 3 or 4 days there we realised it probably wasn't as bad an area as we thought (although still played it safe with taxi at night). We did have to walk at least 10-15min for breakfast though and did feel little uneasy in the cafe as they didn't seem too overjoyed with our little ticket and sat us away through the back of the place (coffee and croissant were lovely though!!) We only used this our 1st morning and did our own thing the rest of the stay - our choice though and because our budget we had set more than allowed us to do so! All in all we enjoyed our stay here and probably would recommend this to friends just maybe making sure they are aware of location/distance to places!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lain-baloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We booked the Cromata Rooms based on reading rather positive reviews from other travelers from this website. After a tiresome flight, we were eager to get to our hotel to freshen up and rest a bit before exploring Rome. After meandering through the streets of Rome, our driver took us to a neighbourhood that reminded me of something from a movie - an area that one wouldn't want to be in alone. I remember saying to myself as we were approaching the hotel, "Oh, please. Not here, not here." Sure enough, our driver stopped in front of no. 84 via Cairoli and our hearts sunk. There was no flashy hotel sign, indicating that we were at Cromata Rooms. Our driver's advice didn't help to calm our nerves, since he recommended that we don't walk the streets after 10 pm and to find a new hotel the next day. We were welcoming by a young lady who showed us to our room and to the common room which had a kitchen a table and a t.v. There is free wifi, but no phone that is available for guests to use.

The traveler who did a write up just before this one has outlined the accommodations and anything that is necessary for someone who may show an interest in this 'hotel'. In other reviews, people have commented that Gianluca was an amazing host and very helpful, however, we never saw anyone who represented the establishment after we checked in. Again, we felt very abandoned due to a lack of telephones and no concierge to help us. The cost of the room, in my opinion, was too much considering that it was just a place to, literally, lay one's head.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoscoLarousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giagio_79, Direttore at Cromata Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2010

Dear Mrs,
thanks for your review,
I'm anyway really surprise to know by you that our district is a dangerous district.
We live here since 1995 (is a bit more than 3 days) and never happend something bad to me or my family or my costumers!never!!
I want to ask you if you had any problem about that, if someone annoied you or if something warried you.
This is the Roma multietnical district , but if there are black, asian, or indian people doesn't mean that this is a dangerous district!
Thanks for your attention.
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We booked Cromata for our stay in Rome based on the Trip Advisor reviews. If you're planning on staying there, it's very important to know exactly what to expect and weigh against other alternatives.

First of all and as its name states, Cromata is not a hotel; it is a converted 3-bedroom apartment on the third floor of a residential building. In addition to the rooms, there is a small office/kitchenette that could be used to lounge around. There is no reception or permanent staff on premises; if you need something and the owner is not there, you will have to call him (or his sister, they're both helpful). In general, this is more like staying in a friend's apartment than in a hotel.

The rooms themselves are modern, including the renovated bathrooms. They have all the basic comforts but are very "compact". We really had to organize our stuff extremely well to avoid a total mess in the room. The bed was OK, plus there was a chair and a small desk with a mini fridge underneath it. There is a TV and free WiFi but no phone. The main problem, besides the size of the room, was the noise. The building faces a small street that has a lot of rush hour traffic and the acoustics of the street make it seem like the cars are right outside your window. The owner told me they were about to install soundproof windows, I would suggest you check with them if it's been done or not.

Breakfast consists of 2 beverages and 1 pastry served in a cafe 3 blocks away. It's extremely basic and I got the impression that the cafe owners much prefer dealing with the local folk than with voucher-wielding hotel guests. They do however offer freshly squeezed blood orange juice, it's a treat.

The neighborhood is a bit on the seedy side, not much to see except a local market two blocks away. You're better off walking 15 minutes to the Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II, which has some good eating places nearby. You can also walk to the Coliseum (about 25 minutes), and you're 10 minutes from the Termini metro and rail station.

Before booking, you should decide whether you need the comforts of a full-service hotel in a nicer part of town, or if you're OK in a basic room in a not-so-nice part of the city (but conveniently located to move around). The hotel will certainly cost more, but it may be a worthwhile investment for some. We certainly missed some creature comforts; my wife had the flu when we arrived and we would have killed for room service. For us, and maybe for some of you, the additional expense of a hotel would have been worth it. If not, Cromata will probably do - just know what to expect.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Business_Traveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Having spent a week in Rome staying at Cromata Rooms I would highly recommend this place, especially for couples. The room was spotless and very nicely decorated with a large, comfortable bed and large windows. The manager, Gianluca, was incredibly accomodating, helpful and friendly. He left us to enjoy our stay but was always on the other end of the phone with advice for our trip or to come over if there was a problem (which there wasn't!). We had free highspeed WiFi internet access and our room was serviced every day. The kitchen was basic but had all the appliances we needed to make our own meals, cutting down significantly on eating out which can be relatively expensive. Staying here really felt like we were staying in our own Rome apartment!

Thank you for a very memorable break.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonRoamer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We were 'stuck' in Rome because of closure of airspace due to the volcanic ash. Gianluca (the owner) was extremely helpful and went out of his way to assist us. We would recommend the accomodation as it is spotless and although in a noisy street it is close to the railway station with access to many of the sights of Rome within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobbitfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Very nice room with a good price but in a sad and noisy area . Breakfast in an unfriendly place. I do not agree with most of the reviews

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALEXRASSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#365 of 1,267 in Rome
421 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,225 of 3,711 in Rome
91 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#443 of 1,267 in Rome
294 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,267 in Rome
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromata Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromata Rooms

Address: Via Cairoli 84, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #876 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cromata Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cromata Rooms is an high quality boutique inn located in the heart of Rome close to the Colosseum and to S. Maria Maggiore's basilica. Our rooms are each characterised by a sugestive play of colours and are all equipped with bathroom en-suite, cable-tv, air-conditioning and mini-bar. Every detail has been carefully taken care of; the furbishings are made to measure to fully satisfy our guest's expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cromata Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing