We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and good food!”
Review of Estrobar

Estrobar
Ranked #640 of 13,139 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: US$35 - US$52
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Aventino
Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile


Great food presentation and selection, not the usual pizzeria or ristorante for once!
We had a 4 courses tasting menù that was a full meal with starter pasta, meats and dessert! Amazing bargain! I recommend this to anyone visiting Rome who doesn't want to be stuck with cheap tourist food. Not very central but food is always worth the extra mile!

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Iamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

We found Estrobar via tripadvisor and decided to plan a visit.
The restaurant has a trendy look and feel. A hip interior with fun paintings and other art.

An extensive menu and a bit pricy, but to our surprise they offer an amazing deal of a 4 course dinner at 25 euro's. Big plus to this deal is that there are no restrictions; you are allowed to choose any dish from the entire menu.

I started with the wagyu beef with terriyaki sauce, a must have! Pasta was delicious as well as the tiramisu desert. The main course of texas steak and scallop ravioli was dissappointing, but could be overlooked due to the menu price and quality of the other dishes.

Service was polite. One thing to keep in mind, the place is pretty much empty until 8.30 pm.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank Chantal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

Estrobar came as a very pleasant surprise when I stayed at the adjacent Abitart Hotel. The menu is 'modern Italian' with regular changes and generally consistently and good. The dishes are generally simple and effective. There is a good choice of wines. The tasting menu is an excellent value at €25. The decor is modern, and the setting is appropriate for business and private groups and couples. The restaurant is full of photography (including half-nudes that some may find a bit too in-your-face).

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank FernIze
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 November 2015

I love the concept of this "Estrobar". It's definitely good Italian food, together with touches from other cuisines and countries. It's what I would call a "fusion-gastro experience".
They have a fantastic degustation menu for like 25 euros, where you can try loads of plates. Definitely worth a try.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank jcabreraperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

This restaurant is worth a visit even if you're not staying in Testaccio, as we were. The decor is very invested, with interesting paintings and a lovely outside sitting area.
The food is incredible! They offer a four course menu at 25 euro each. You have a large choice of dishes for each course, and the food is a delight! For an appetiser my husband had quail nuggets with crispy potato curls and homemade sauces, and I had salmon tartare marinated with beetroot with spinach and pine nut pesto. For first course my husband had vermicelli pasta with sea urchin roe and raw sea bass, I had gragnano spaghetti, with scallop tomato confit, bacon and pecorino cheese. These were really large servings and could have been a main. For second course my husband had the grilled octopus on creamy peppers and potato curls which he said was the best octopus he'd ever tasted, and I had the churrasco wagiu beef with potato and endive dumpling. Oh my god! That beef was incredible!! For dessert we shared the cheesecake on hazelnut sauce and chocolate dumpling. The cheesecake was nothing special, but the chocolate dumpling was delicious!
Considering the quantity and the quality of the food, this meal was very good value!

Date of visit: September 2015
1  Thank NTMaghen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Estrobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.