We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worse hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Roma Aeterna
Ranked #276 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worse hotel ever”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We had a reservation for 5 nights; the next day que decide to leave the hotel for many reasons : 1. We where tree and they gave us a room with one king bed and other mini bed that probably was made for middles.
2. At 3 am began to ring an alarm inside our room for 20 minutes or more and no one answered at the reception
3. Is far away of everything and if you want to go out may be for dinner or something, the neighborhood doesn't look safety

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hmesa29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    531
    172
    76
    45
See reviews for
183
627
35
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We took a "City Break" in Rome from June 16 - June 21. Based on other travellers' reviews, we chose the Roma Aeterna. We were not disapponted. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff willing to give personal recommendations regarding activities. Nice room for three (we were travelling with our ten year old son). Clean and very efficient air conditioning! Super breakfast buffet. The hotel is offside, but has easy access to buses and trams to the city center and points beyond.(Across the street) The hotel restaurant offers a very nice evening menu, tasty and well presented in the event you choose to eat in, The area that the hotel is located in is a bit unrefined, but at the same time it allows a tourist to get a feel of a "real" neighborhood. We certainly enjoyed it. During the morning there is a small market around the corner from the hotel.. In the afternoon it seems desolate and shuttered, in the evening it comes to life with small cafes, pizzerias and, in the middle of it all, an upscale start-up restaurant, Primo. We warmly recommend this as a great value for money place to stay for a vacation. It wouldn't be as good for a business traveller. The hotel internet is fast, but a slight annoyance is that the solution requires continual logins if your device goes to sleep. But.. it is free and the coverage in our room was good..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sepcm91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel in June 2013. The service was fantastic, the breakfast was amazing and included every morning. Very clean and comfortable. A little out of the way of the subway system and the main attractions in Rome. Bus across the street got you to a main station in about 15 minutes. Usually crowded with standing room only on the bus but got us where we were going inexpensively. There's a great strip of outdoor wine bars and bistro cafes stirring with casual nightlife practically outside the main door of the hotel. We ate at a new little bistro every night for very little money. Also small grocers in the region to pick up water and other fresh snacks for the room. Phenomenal hotel for the price despite the little extra effort it took with the bus in the morning to the subways.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nursepam74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel might be a little out of the main blocks of Rome, but it is very well serviced by buses which go around a lot of tourist spots, as well as through the city. The no. 81 stops right across the road and goes to the colloseum where you can pick up a 'hop on, hop off' tour, and coming back, stops at Ponte Casalina about 40 metres from the hotel. The number 810 will also get you to the Colloseum. Amenities at the hotel are first rate, service is exemplary, the rooms are a good size and staff are efficient, knowledgeable and speak good English. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Where do I begin. This Hotel is a fantastic hotel, the service is amazing, the staff are friendly and are always willing to help and answer any questions that you have. The rooms are average size but are very well laid out giving you the necessary space that you need. The bathroom is simply amazing, jacuzzi in the bathtub is fabulous especially if you've been walking around Rome in the hot hot sun and need to unwind afterwards. The hotel is amazingly clean and the cleaning staff go that extra mile as when we arrived back to our room our shoes were neatly arranged, clean sheets on the bed and even our drinks on the table was neatly arrange and no items were missing.

The breakfast was fantastic and there was a wide selection of food and drinks and available, this is a four star hotel, but our experience inside the hotel was a five star experience.

Now for the location. There are plenty of shops and bars nearby there is a bank right across the road from the hotel, however the hotel is far from the central part of Rome and you will have to rely on Rome's bustling public transportation which does take some time to get use to. I would advise to learn some basic Italian so that if you need to ask a local for directions you can, as they are more than willing to help you. Also take note that you will need to buy your tickets before you bored the bus from the local tobacconist (tabacchi in Italian) you will find that many of them will speak English. The area the hotel is located in by day is busy and vibrant and it is the same by night, just that at night the lighting in the area is very dim and so can leave you feeling a little uneasy, but we found that we didn't have any problems at all.

Overall my experience with Eurostars Roma Aeterna was an excellent one and I would go back there again and again as the cost is affordable and they strive to give you more than a four star experience. On our return back to the UK from the hotel I asked if they could book us a taxi which they did with ease and informed us that the taxi would be with us in four to five minutes and true to their word it was.

We had a fantastic time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deejay Mystikle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Eurostars Roma Aeterna is a good hotel in a vibrant neighbourhood. The staff are friendly and helpful and transport links are good. Now the bad news. The hotel is not in the most affluent part of Rome. You would want something closer to spanish steps or trevi fountain if you are looking to recapture Audrey Hepburn's Roman Holiday and you would pay a lot more money for the privilege. Eurostars Roma Aeterna was adequate for our holiday and a little more realistic.

The bus stop is directly opposite the hotel but it is not obviously a bus stop so we walked past it a few times before we realised what it was. The nearest metro is at least a mile away from the hotel and on the first day, we walked for 20 mins in the heat to reach it. That sort of exertion is better suited to the young and fit than to a family with small children and older relatives. You could possibly get the hotel to call a taxi into town which would cost around €10 to €15. There is a tram station close to the hotel called Ponte Casilino but we didn't use it.

I did use the gym but the rest of my party didn't. Obviously, we slept in the rooms and we had breakfast in the restaurant. The gym is fairly basic but well kept. The rooms are nice, well presented and well kept and breakfast was very good.

Even at the end of this review, I am not sure how I feel about the hotel, the hotel itself is very nice but It appears you have to be fairly savvy and and very confident to survive in that neighbourhood, otherwise the experience might be overwhelming.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yinka Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel is located about 40 min walk from the central station, and to reach it you have to go through a quite unsettling neighborhood as well as pass by road works for the new metro line which makes it worrying especially at night as it is very remote. It is possible to reach the station and the center by bus but it takes a little to get used to finding the stops so ideally for a short stay you would want a hotel closer to the center (or a station) as to not waste time.

The room itself was right next to the train lines and a busy road which you could still hear even with the wiindows closed. The room was clean although I did have to ask to replace the towels once as they had simply put them back in the bathroom (from the bathroom floor!- they were clearly dirty). Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Eurostars International Palace
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#375 of 1,258 in Rome
415 reviews
Esquilino
Eurostars Saint John Hotel
Eurostars Saint John Hotel
#368 of 1,258 in Rome
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Hotel Re di Roma
#159 of 1,258 in Rome
1,295 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#260 of 1,258 in Rome
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Roma Aeterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Roma Aeterna

Property: Eurostars Roma Aeterna
Address: Via Casilina 125 | Piazza Del Pigneto 9a, 00176 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#150 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#315 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Roma Aeterna 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Roma Aeterna is located in the economic and industrial heart of the Eternal City, a modern hotel with classic touches in the historic and emblematic building of the Serono Pharmaceutical Company, which has been completely renovated. The architecture of this hotel, modern and elegant combines the industrial architecture of the early Novecento with innovative design trends. The Eurostars Roma Aeterna has 141 rooms and great services such as a gym, individual saunas, a cyber corner and 8 accessible rooms. This hotel is also perfect for holding large and small corporate events thanks to the Convention Center and its multiple meeting rooms, all with different capacities (ranging from 25 to 200 people). The Hotel Eurostars Roma Aeterna also has a restaurant, which occupies a spacious marble hall with a large terrace surrounded by gardens and offers a varied menu with the finest exponents of Italian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eurostars Roma Aeterna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Roma Aeterna Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing