We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, more for money, creepy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Roma Aeterna
Ranked #269 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel, more for money, creepy location”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Breakfast was abundance for Italy standards. Hotel and rooms were clean with spa bath in our rooms. Wifi was fast, but always required login. Metro 15 mins walk away or busses right in front taking to Termini station. Plenty of TV channels but all Italian.

Area was creepy. Although we were assured it is a safe area, it did sometimes feel unsafe. Going out at night is not recommended. But we did stay 3 nights only making sure we get back before sunset. There is a restaurant within the hotel but not much varieties for dinner and price was way too high for the quality.

Room Tip: St Giovanni is the nearest station or get off at Termini station and take 105 bus or 801 which stops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazmohad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    536
    172
    77
    45
See reviews for
184
632
36
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel last week for leisure. The hotel is easy to find from the tram and very close to Rome Termini, only 3 stops on the tram. The building is a modern building and looks very good from outside. The room was clean and spacious, well equipped and there is air conditioning, which is essential in 30 degrees. The staff around the Hotel generally seems to be polite and efficient, although there is scope for improvement.
The WiFi in the Hotel is not very good. Weak signal and even when you're connected it keeps dropping in and out.. when it's on it is extremely slow.
The best of the stay was breakfast, good selection of continental and cooked option, fruit juices, fresh fruit and cakes. It's self service, and you can have breakfast on the patio, although that's not laid up with cutlery and very limited seating.
HOWEVER... and I must emphasise that it is out of the control of the Hotel and the management... The area where the Hotel is not the best area.. on the first night we were going out to have dinner and outside the Hotel we ran into a protest againgts police - we've asked the locals what was it about and they said that criminality is very high in the area and the police don't do anything about it.. people drink and use drugs on the street and sometimes attack and burgle people.. that was confirmed on our 3rd day. We took the Bus line 105 as the tram was not working and in the Bus station we got stopped by a drunk black man who asked where we came from. When we told that we were from England he started shouting at us.. we got on the Bus and he followed us, at which point he started being abusive - he told us that he hates Obama and the UK and if he sees us again, he would kill us.. eventually ngot off after 2 stops, but not the best experience when you try to relax and enjoy your vacation. So BE AWARE of the area and be cautious when leave the Hotel at night and try to avoid Bus 105 as the 'gang' drinks in the park behind the Bus stop.
I would still recommend the Hotel as it was fit for the purpose and its in a good location in terms of visiting attractions.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank gyulauhrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaga
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The bedrooms and public rooms of this hotel are extremely good, the restaurant and food leave much to be desired and are very expensive for the quality on offer. The area,Piazza del Pigneto , described as one of Romes best kept secrets with trattorias and pedestrianised areas, is a dump full of rotting market rubish and shabby derelict buildings covered in graffitti. There are no longer any decent eating places nearby and it is a 45 minute bus ride to the city centre. There is no Metro servicing this area. The best advice can give is stay somewhere else, and would recommend looking in the area of Travestere, which is very beautiful and full of great Trattorias, near a Metro and not too far from the main attractions. There are no stairs using the lift is compulsory, the stair doors are for fire escape only and are alarmed.

Room Tip: If you must stay here chose an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterdog2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We got a clean room with most of the basic amenities. I liked the decor of the hotel and the room. There is a nice restaurant with good food and drinks in this hotel, and the prices were not too expensive compared to many restaurants we ate at in Roma Centrale. The hotel is in a central location in Rome and you can normally get to most tourist attractions via bus or tram. However, there was a strike for buses and trams on the major day that we fixed our tours in early June so we had to use more cabs, and that was more expensive than we planned. Also, after a certain time, the busses stop running so we had to use cabs since there is no major train station near the hotel. The closest train station we used was at San Giovanni Basilica. Like many other hotels we stayed in Europe, we did not get enough supplies for two ladies. Only one shower cap was provided for two ladies for example. It would have been nice if there was that extra attention to detail. The customer service was very good and assisted us in many ways during our stay. I had some cocktails at the bar and they were good.
The room had a view of the train tracks and you could hear the noise as the trains passed by. I did not like my room but I was informed that there were no other rooms available. My stay at this hotel was okay but I may stay closer to the major attractions when I visit Rome again.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms closer to train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabGlobetrotter03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

As our bus pulled into this hotel, we were very worried by our choice.
The streets didnt look very tourist friendly, full of graffti and dirty. So it was clear to us that the tour which we were on had picked a fairly daggy suburb.

We were happy to see the interiors of the hotel were renovated and new, despite its location.

All staff spoke English and the breakfast buffet was okay (relative to some bad and better ones we had in Europe).

There are buses every 15 min into inner city and also a train line, but we could never figure out the trains so we stuck to buses.

But a big warning if you have kids: catching a bus in Rome is almost as bad as catching a bus in India. The buses (regardless of time) were always extremely packed, to the point were we had to wait an hour for a bus that could accommodate us. And that was after we walked to a new bus stop. We even saw people jump in front of a bus that had not quite stopped, and get their feet run over, it was shocking how desperate people were to get on a bus.
Overall getting from this hotel to the city was easy, but getting back was awful.

Also on a number of occasions the bus the hotel advised us to take back to the hotel, did not show up at its bus stop. And most locals did not speak well enough english to explain to us.

I would personally next time stay in a more central hotel, and just pay more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farnaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel itself, and the actual rooms are very nice. My wife and I were impressed by the cleanliness and the modernity of the rooms. The front desk staff was extremely helpful with transportation questions as well. The main downside to the hotel is the surrounding neighborhood. While the bus stop directly in front of the hotel is very convenient, head one block west and you are in a very rough area. The neighborhood is the only, albeit large, drawback to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Near the bus stop,quiet only until 6am,then you can hear the train noise,nice jacuzzi,fair breakfast ,friendly staff,!i stained the bed with blood due to monthly period ,but they did not bother to change the bed sheet !good size of room and comfortable bed!no kettle !need some light in the corridor coz it's quite dark!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariano r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Eurostars International Palace
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#368 of 1,261 in Rome
417 reviews
Esquilino
Eurostars Saint John Hotel
Eurostars Saint John Hotel
#360 of 1,261 in Rome
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Re di Roma
#155 of 1,261 in Rome
1,298 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Genova
Hotel Genova
#459 of 1,261 in Rome
784 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#165 of 1,261 in Rome
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Roma Aeterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Roma Aeterna

Property: Eurostars Roma Aeterna
Address: Via Casilina 125 | Piazza Del Pigneto 9a, 00176 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#315 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Roma Aeterna 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Roma Aeterna is located in the economic and industrial heart of the Eternal City, a modern hotel with classic touches in the historic and emblematic building of the Serono Pharmaceutical Company, which has been completely renovated. The architecture of this hotel, modern and elegant combines the industrial architecture of the early Novecento with innovative design trends. The Eurostars Roma Aeterna has 141 rooms and great services such as a gym, individual saunas, a cyber corner and 8 accessible rooms. This hotel is also perfect for holding large and small corporate events thanks to the Convention Center and its multiple meeting rooms, all with different capacities (ranging from 25 to 200 people). The Hotel Eurostars Roma Aeterna also has a restaurant, which occupies a spacious marble hall with a large terrace surrounded by gardens and offers a varied menu with the finest exponents of Italian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Roma Aeterna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Roma Aeterna Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing