We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost perfect”
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #25 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“almost perfect”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I would love to say this was all perfect, especially since I decided to be generous with my hotel choice for our romantic 10-year anniversary in Rome.
The hotel indeed was comfortable, beautiful, great location, loved the coffee machine in room, bed, docking station for the i-phone, the staff was kind and welcoming, etc.
But still. I read a review from a guest who was disappointed (rightfully) for having to eat breakfast in the room, since the dining room was not ready. I emailed the hotel to make sure that within 2 months, by the time we visit, the dining room will be open, and was assured it will be. I don't mind as much that it wasn't, as much as I think we should have been notified about this earlier than check-in.
Having breakfast in your bedroom MAY be romantic once, but having to eat on a tiny table, on a tiny platter, with no room for the plates, coffee mugs and saucers etc., is NOT my idea of nice. I was told that all is ready and the hotel was "only" waiting for a permit, which could arrive at any moment. Well, it didn't arrive on our 5 nights there, and I would have even preferred to get a discount on the room rate and go have breakfast across the street, at Hotel de Russie, for instance.
If I give a list of the tiny details I have noticed that were not perfect you will think I am MAD (perhaps I am), but since I am an interior designer there are things that cannot escape my eye, and I had a feeling the hotel was designed to be mainly trendy and good-looking, not always thinking of comfort and efficiency. (Just one example is the sliding glass door which separated the toilet from the bathroom, which didn't close all the way because of some details not thought of entirely). When i decide to pay more than 300Euro per night i expect it to be perfect to the tiniest details, which this one, sadly, wasn't.

Room Tip: check again about the breakfast..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kfironit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babuino181, Proprietario at Babuino 181, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor which I found to be very constructive.

I was extremely glad to see that you enjoyed many aspects of our hotel during your tenth wedding anniversary trip to Rome.

I do want to take this opportunity to apologize for not letting you know about the delay with our terrace opening. It suffered a delay, but hopefully it will open soon.

If you find a moment I would be grateful if you could send me any other comment you may have which could help us better our hotel for our guests.

My email is; info@babuino181

We hope to see you back at Babuino in the near future.

Best wishes

Alberto Moncada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    186
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
186
582
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Stayed here based on recommendations from various guides and its high rating on Tripadvisor. The service is great, as described by other Tripadvisor members, and the rooms actually look much better than in the candids on this site. The B&B is in a very good location close to the Spanish Steps but a bit away from the crowds, which is nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HopingThisHelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We loved the room, location and staff at Babuino 181. The location near Piazza del Popolo is fantastic as there are many great restaurants (Babette, il Brillo Parlente, il Gabriella, and Ad Hoc) within walking distance. The hotel has great rooms that are nicely decorated and large. We stayed in Room 205 which is located on Via Babuino and has the only balcony overlooking the street and Piazza del Popolo. The room is wonderful and worth a request. It has a huge bathroom with separate tub and shower, dual sinks and a private toilet/bidet room. Complimentary continental breakfast is brought to your room and the Concierge's (Andrea in particular) were very helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions. There is a great deck area on the rooftop level which is currently being renovated into a bar/kitchen. It will make a nice addition to an already perfect property.

Room Tip: Stay in Room 205 which also has a connecting room for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SlickWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Our room at Babuino 181 was beautiful - well designed, highly functional, quiet. It was a fantastic respite from the heat and hustle bustle of Rome. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast (served in room) was a typical continental spread. My only suggestion to the hotel is that they serve each person's breakfast on an individual tray - we couldn't juggle everything on the single tray.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

great location for shopping, food and taxis
staff were generally friendly and helpful
full selection of cable channels (unlike many other hotels in Italy)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeiRong369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Our stay in Rome was enhanced by our accomodations at Babuino 181. The room was spacious and finely appointed, the staff very helpful and the location right in the heart of the areas that we toured. It was wonderful to find a small hotel with first class amenities in a big city.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank On_foot_29401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at Babuino 181 for 3 nights from 7th - 10th September. (Our friends also stayed at the hotel but they liked it so much they're writing their own review!) Our stay should have commenced one night earlier on the 6th but an Italian strike delayed our arrival. When the hotel heard of our plight they went out of their way to accommodate our needs, explaining what they were able to offer us to make sure we had the very best stay possible!

Andrea, the Guest Relations Manager, Vincenzo and Benedetto are just three examples of the hotel's courteous and extremely helpful members of staff.

Because of our delayed arrival we had to change our room for our final night's stay...... OMG the Babuino Suite is awesome!

The whole hotel oozes understated style and attention to detail, I would definitely stay there again given the opportunity!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,256 in Rome
493 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,256 in Rome
2,862 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,256 in Rome
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Property: Babuino 181
Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Babuino 181 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing