We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Via del Babuino is the place to stay!”
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #25 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Via del Babuino is the place to stay!”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Although our visit to Rome was not the first, this time it had a very different taste. We decided to stay at the Babuino Hotel based on the reviews we had read about it, and it was a very good choice to make! Thanks to its perfect location, we had a very easy access to all the historic places in downtown Rome; Piazza di Spagna was only five minutes away from us! We could enjoy Rome that doesn’t sleep without being bothered by the noise!. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and remained so for the whole duration of our stay. The sheets and the towels were of exquisite quality! The staff were so helpful and professional but also very friendly. The manager Mr Assem was very attentive to all our requests and he was also very keen to suggest to us the best restaurants to eat and the best places to shop. For your next visit to Rome, Via del Babuino is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AleenBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    186
    35
    8
    2
See reviews for
188
586
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

After trying out a few other hotels on a recent trip to Rome I finally found the hotel Babuino and I am very happy that I did. The location is excellent, the staff were all genuinely helpful and accommodating and the rooms were very nice. The room interior was well designed and comfortable, the wifi network was speedy and the walk-in closet was perfect for two. The bathroom was large and nicely appointed as well. There was a nice common area that resembled a small living room outside the entrance to the rooms for the guests to relax in. They had a nice selection of magazines, a copy of the Herald Tribune everyday and some nice local biscuits to snack on too. I will definitely stay here the next time I return to Rome.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomadicluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbados
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

If you wish to stay in the heart of rome, walking distance from everything - stay in excellent brand new accommodation (superb bathrooms!) and be looked after by attentive hotel staff - look no further. This hotel is a real find.
This was a 50th brithday weekend for us and we had travelled all the way from Barbados in the Caribbean for a weekend in Rome!! A priority on my husbands bucket list - so basically we left nothing to chance and wished to book everything before we arrived.
Andrea... concierage was fabulous and looked after us making sure all my needs were met before we set on italian soil. We are both ex hotel General Managers ourselves, so are very particular and she exceeded our expectation.
The hotel still did not have its restaurant, but the daily breakfast tray included in the rate, had everything you could possibly want and more... would feed 6 people not 3.
All our plans were going superbly until the morning of departure our 8 year old son very suddenly vommited in reception, all over there carpet, whilst waiting for a taxi for our last mornings activity. He did this not once, but three times!! The hotel staff were amazing and when we came down 30 minutes later for some air - everywhere was clean and smelled fresh.
Feeling better we ventured out and decided to go for a walk, unfortunately our son started to feel very unwell again, so we had to return to the hotel. We had already checked out of our suite and did not have a flight until 8pm. Asseem the general Manager was amazing he gave us use of a room all day for no charge, so that our son could rest before the flight. It was an incredible gesture as we had trully over stayed our welcome that morning already, but it is just an indicator of the level of service and customer care that all the staff show at this hotel.
We don't stay in a city centre hotel to use the Hotel restaurant, bar, gym or business center... or to sit in reception and people watch. We choose a hotel for bedroom space, decent bathroom (seems rare in europe) and for its service. The Babuino 181 scored top marks on all those Criteria.
Thanks to this hotel our 50th birthday celebration was truly memorable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Having read the other reviews on trip advisor, booked this hotel for the weekend. The other reviews accurately reflect the place.

We had room 101 on the first floor, the room is very well appointed, it is on par with a good 4 star hotel. I note that other reviewers stated that it can be noisy with noise filtering up from the street and you can hear other guests walking above you. This is True, but this is rome,it is a big city, the original bulidings are old, it did not bother us that much.

The detail in the room is of the highest standard the beds are very comfortable, bathroom, spacious with good shower and large tub. The ipod docking station and nesprsso machine are a nice touch.

The location of the hotel is excellent, just a 5 minute stroll from the spanish steps, the high end stores are all located on the same road as the hotel. The staff were very helpful with booking restaurants and taxi's etc.

Checkout a local restaurant called "eddy's?" just around the corner from the hotel would reccomend for lunch.

We would saty here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PNeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This is a small (14 room) beautifully appointed hotel with really helpful and friendly staff. The location couldn't be better, though here lies the only potential problem - some street noise at night. Though we had been drinking and that might have been part of the problem! This small group has two other hotels in the same area which look equally attractive. Continental breakfast brought to your room (there is no restaurant though they are constructing a small rooftop space for this now) was also very good.

Room Tip: Go for the highest floor possible - though there are only four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londoner_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We booked this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and we couldn't have been happier with our choice! The location of the hotel is perfect, within walking distance from many of Rome's most important sites. The check-in process was as smooth as possible and the room was spacious, elegant and extremely clean (and remained so for the rest of our stay). Breakfast was delivered within minutes from ordering it and always had exactly what we asked for. This hotel's strongest asset is its employees who were simply amazing in every way. They catered to our every need and exceeded our expectations every time. Special thanks to Assem who made our stay extra special!
If you're looking for a no-fuss no-nonsense hotel in the center of Rome, with some of the biggest rooms you'll find in Europe and a team of professional staff who will be more than happy to help you in any possible way, then try Babuino 181.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mayyouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The hotel is just around the corner of Piazza del Poppolo (and just across the street from hotel Russie) - I have been to Rome several time and can not think of a better place to stay. We stayed in room 302 a very spacius suite with a lovely terrace. The interiur is elegant and tastefull. Bathroom also spacius with seperate shower and bathtub. The suite also has an extra toilet for guests.

The hotel offers a professionel and personal service - with a charming smile. Breakfast was served in our room just a few minuttes after calling the reception.

It was indeed a pleasure to stay in Babuino 181.

Room Tip: room 302 is a spacius and elegant suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eriksen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,258 in Rome
502 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,258 in Rome
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Property: Babuino 181
Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Babuino 181 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing