We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very adequate even for those who usually stay at five star hotels.”
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #25 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Very adequate even for those who usually stay at five star hotels.”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Babuino 181 has a great location. As a hotel with 14 rooms and no lobby it is none the less a very pleasant spot. The rooms are very modern and well appointed but the view and noise from our two windows was quite unpleasant. Room 102 is not a good choice as it looks out on a alley which is used an outdoor noisy café. It may not be so bad in the winter. The television had very few of the typical English language stations we have come to expect. The gentleman at the front desk were uniformly helpful and their car service for 60 euros from the airport an excellent idea. The breakfast could be improved by a plain croissant instead of only sweet ones. The bread was commercial and poor . The fresh orange juice was very full of pulp.The Philadelphia cream cheese felt a little out of place without a bagel. There are so many good Italian cheeses American ones are not needed. The restaurant Eddy was recommended . It was pleasant , close by and reasonably priced. The best restaurant we found was the Trattoria del Pantheon da Fortunato off the square near the Pantheon. The fish was excellent and the service perfect. The atmoshere was very pleasant and from the pictures on the walls it appears to attract politicians from many nations.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor. Some of the rooms are dark since the windows look out on alleys or n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank celebrationtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    186
    35
    8
    2
See reviews for
188
586
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Because this is a very small hotel, it gives you the feeling of staying in a small apartment of your own, rather than in a faceless hotel. Its great location allows you to walk to almost all the attractions (if you enjoy long walks along busy streets of Rome) - gardens of Pincio and Borghese gardens are just up the hill, Forum Romanum can also be reached if one follows Via del Corso to its end, and Vatican is just across the river. Having a room on one of the top floors takes care of the street noise, there are shutters both inside and outside of windows and we really did not have a noise problem. Rooms are spacious enough and include details that are both visually pleasing and functional. Having to eat breakfast in your room takes some getting used to for it takes time before you figure out what kind of breakfast to order to get things you enjoy eating (combination that worked for us was one American and one "diet" breakfast - most varied and healthiest choice).

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors are better in terms of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DDandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I surprised my girlfriend (now fiance after this trip!) with 2 nights here. We had a Deluxe Suite which was amazing - very spacious, really comfy bed, huge TV with Sky (although most of channels Italian), big bathroom with separate shower and bath and 2 sinks. Service was great - all staff really friendly and helpful. Never stayed in a hotel that offers a 'turn down' service! Photos on the hotel website don't really do it justice - it looks even better when you see it.

Location of hotel is perfect. It might look a bit far North on a map but we got round all the sights on foot. It's about a half hour walk to the colosseum or Vatican city with plenty of things to look at on the way. Comfy shoes are a good idea. Some people have mentioned the street noise but we didn't really notice it. The windows have shutters on the outside and inside, we only closed the inside ones and it was quiet enough.

Breakfast is served in your room and you have a choice of diet, continental or American. We had continental one day and American the other. Both were pretty similar and both really nice. Kept us going until lunch time.

The hotel recommended a nearby restaurant 'Edy'. Food was good, but service very laid back, and being a small restaurant on a Saturday night meant it was very busy and we had to wait a long time for the food. Don't let that put you off though.

We also think it's worthwile having the hotel arrange a taxi. It's more expensive (€60) than getting a local taxi (€40 I think) or the train then tube, but you get picked up by a smart driver in a posh Mercedes and the experience of being whizzed through the centre of Rome is fun.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam_Dave_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
assemh, Manager at Babuino 181, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Dear Guest:
On behalf of all of us at Babuino 181 I would like to extend our congratulations for your engagement. We are all happy that our boutique hotel helped create the right environment for you!

Alberto Moncada
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We have spent 3 days in this lovely boutique hotel. Superb location, excellent service, very modern and comfortable.Enjoyed also the fact, that you will get served the breakfast in your room. That perfect.Definitely one of the best places to stay when in Rome.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Although our visit to Rome was not the first, this time it had a very different taste. We decided to stay at the Babuino Hotel based on the reviews we had read about it, and it was a very good choice to make! Thanks to its perfect location, we had a very easy access to all the historic places in downtown Rome; Piazza di Spagna was only five minutes away from us! We could enjoy Rome that doesn’t sleep without being bothered by the noise!. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and remained so for the whole duration of our stay. The sheets and the towels were of exquisite quality! The staff were so helpful and professional but also very friendly. The manager Mr Assem was very attentive to all our requests and he was also very keen to suggest to us the best restaurants to eat and the best places to shop. For your next visit to Rome, Via del Babuino is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AleenBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

After trying out a few other hotels on a recent trip to Rome I finally found the hotel Babuino and I am very happy that I did. The location is excellent, the staff were all genuinely helpful and accommodating and the rooms were very nice. The room interior was well designed and comfortable, the wifi network was speedy and the walk-in closet was perfect for two. The bathroom was large and nicely appointed as well. There was a nice common area that resembled a small living room outside the entrance to the rooms for the guests to relax in. They had a nice selection of magazines, a copy of the Herald Tribune everyday and some nice local biscuits to snack on too. I will definitely stay here the next time I return to Rome.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomadicluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbados
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

If you wish to stay in the heart of rome, walking distance from everything - stay in excellent brand new accommodation (superb bathrooms!) and be looked after by attentive hotel staff - look no further. This hotel is a real find.
This was a 50th brithday weekend for us and we had travelled all the way from Barbados in the Caribbean for a weekend in Rome!! A priority on my husbands bucket list - so basically we left nothing to chance and wished to book everything before we arrived.
Andrea... concierage was fabulous and looked after us making sure all my needs were met before we set on italian soil. We are both ex hotel General Managers ourselves, so are very particular and she exceeded our expectation.
The hotel still did not have its restaurant, but the daily breakfast tray included in the rate, had everything you could possibly want and more... would feed 6 people not 3.
All our plans were going superbly until the morning of departure our 8 year old son very suddenly vommited in reception, all over there carpet, whilst waiting for a taxi for our last mornings activity. He did this not once, but three times!! The hotel staff were amazing and when we came down 30 minutes later for some air - everywhere was clean and smelled fresh.
Feeling better we ventured out and decided to go for a walk, unfortunately our son started to feel very unwell again, so we had to return to the hotel. We had already checked out of our suite and did not have a flight until 8pm. Asseem the general Manager was amazing he gave us use of a room all day for no charge, so that our son could rest before the flight. It was an incredible gesture as we had trully over stayed our welcome that morning already, but it is just an indicator of the level of service and customer care that all the staff show at this hotel.
We don't stay in a city centre hotel to use the Hotel restaurant, bar, gym or business center... or to sit in reception and people watch. We choose a hotel for bedroom space, decent bathroom (seems rare in europe) and for its service. The Babuino 181 scored top marks on all those Criteria.
Thanks to this hotel our 50th birthday celebration was truly memorable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,258 in Rome
500 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,258 in Rome
2,885 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,258 in Rome
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Property: Babuino 181
Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Babuino 181 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing