We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great service, location and quality”
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #28 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed over Christmas week, family of 4 (kids 10 & 20yrs old) and had excellent time. Two connecting suites really made life easier. Staff assisted very well with all our needs, requests. Location is premier. Rooms on the courtyard are absolutely quite, those on street facing can be louder, but are more interesting since windows open and you can partake of the lively streetlife.
Brian and family, Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bmfeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

What a nice place! Conveniently located between the Piazza del Popolo and the Spanish steps. The staff was entirely friendly and did every effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible. They helped us find some special places for shopping and dining. The breakfast in the room was good, fresh products and a good variety of choices. The room itself was very nice. Spacious, luxurous and clean. We really enjoyed our visit!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mertine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were extremely happy with the room, service and location and would recommend the hotel to all our friends. The only recommendation we would give to the hotel is to encourage their concierges to be more forthcoming with tourist and sightseeing related information and arrangements. This includes information on which tourist guides to use for the vatican city, where to book tickets for the collosseum to avoid queues and which restaurants to go to.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SvenGerlach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We had a great 4 day vacation, the hotel staff was very helpful and welcoming and helped us in everything we asked for, the location was great and the rooms are very very good!
Ruvi and Adina, Israel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ruvis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed at classic suite for three nights in Christmas season.

The bathroom was roomy, comfortable and clean. Tha bathtub has enough length and depth so we could stretch the legs and bodies and release tireness after all the walking of a day. One thing that needs improvement though was the door of the shower room. I don't know if it was because the door was too loose or the floor was not flatten, the water leaked to the outside and we had to get a few towels to wipe it off.

Nice, healthy breakfast, friendly service, and clean housekeeping. Overall, our stay was very comfortable. We would definitely come back again next time in Rome. Lastly, they do have good recommendation for restaurants, so please ask if they are not on your itinerary!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Santa_Maria_Japone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at this hotel last week to celebrate my birthday.

- ROOM:
We were welcomed with a free upgrade to the Babuino Suite upon arrival, which was amazing! It's located on the 3rd floor, and doesn't face the main street. It has a private balcony, overlooking a quiet sidestreet, but shame really, as it was a bit cold to use! There was also a spacious living/dining area, an elegant bedroom, a well stocked bathroom, and a separate toilet. For European standards, the suite was huge, and being fairly high in the building, there was plenty of natural light.


- EATING:
Tea and coffee facilities are complimentary in the suite, and for coffee fans, there's a Nespresso machine. Snacks are available for a price. Breakfast is served in the room, and all you need to do is call reception and they'll bring it up in 10-15mins. There were a choice of 4 menus: diet, American, continental, and children's. Regardless of the menu you choose, it was a nice and varied selection of food; could have been a tad better with less prepackaged items, but it was substantial enough to last us a good number of hours.

Complimentary tea, coffee, and cookies are also available in the lobby on the first floor.

For restaurant suggestions/bookings, ask the concierge and they will happily help. Babette and Edy are literally on the sidestreets across the road - one left, one right, respectively. Both were great, but personally, my favourite was Babette (great service, great food).


- LOCATION:
Perfectly located in every way! The street it's on is called Via del Babuino, which is Rome's answer to London's Bond Street, and likewise, the Oxford and Regent Street equivalents are adjacent.

My boyfriend and I walked to all our sights:
+ Piazza del Popolo is literally to the left of the hotel - a nice square to while your time away.
+ Turn right and the Spanish Steps are a mere 5mins' walk.
+ Vatican City took approx 20mins to get to because we wanted to walk along the river and cross the Bridge of Angels, but there were quicker routes via the more ordinary bridges.
+ Colosseum took no more than 30mins.


- CONCLUSION:
I loved my stay.. and I love Rome. Service was faultless and the location was fantastic. Every evening, I felt as though I was going back to my own apartment, and that can be quite hard to come by. IF I had to nitpick, then..

+ Breakfasts could be more exciting.
+ The bath salts didn't get replenished on our last evening..
+ Would have been easier viewing if the living area's TV was adjustable (i.e. rotatable).
+ Though it didn't really bother us as a couple, the spare toilet's door lock is faulty (forgot to mention to staff, sorry!).

Other than that, it was a nigh on perfect stay. Would I recommend? Wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: If budget is not a problem, go for the Babuino Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank p3ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Very simple, but high quality, boutique hotel. Perfect location right by the Spanish Steps, and amidst an array of old cobbled streets with bars/boutiques/restaurants all on your doorstep, and other attractions all within walking distance. Whilst the hotel is simple in the sense that it doesn't have loads of facilities, that was fine for us given we were only there for 3 nights and wanted to spend most of the day out an about, and the rooms themselves were certainly luxurious enough for when we finally returned at the end of the day. The room, and the bathroom in particular, was a decent size (we went for one up from the standard room), had pretty much everything you would expect in a 5 star hotel, and I particularly liked the contemporary style. Whenever we needed something, the staff were super helpful e.g. when I needed to use fax machine/photocopier, and they were very willing to recommend restaurants/sight seeing itineries. Perfect place to stay for a sight seeing city break.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cmac_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,271 in Rome
527 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,271 in Rome
3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#31 of 1,271 in Rome
825 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £158 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babuino 181 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing