We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Boutique Hotel!”
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #27 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in one of there deluxe rooms and couldn't have been happier. The hotels location is perfect just a couple blocks from the Spanish Steps and in the center of all the fabulous high end boutique stores and restaurants. The rooms are great...ultra modern, stylish, clean with a beautiful bathroom and with all the little extras that make you feel like you're truly on vacation. The hotel staff was the best! We were having some trouble accessing our credit card pin# and they went out of there way to help us so it didn't ruin our trip. We decided we wanted to stay in rome a few extra days and there place was completely booked so they moved us down the street their sister hotel around the corner and gave us this private suite that was amazing...and best of all they moved us while we were out for the day! I will return time to this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed for three nights. Good location, friendly staff, very clean and a comfy bed.
Coffee machine in the room and free bottled water in the fridge were a nice touch.
Stayed on the 1st floor facing to the side street which had a couple of restaurants, so it was quite noisy till very late - thank god I brought good quality earplugs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yuki707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Great choice for a hotel in Rome. Excellent location, great service, beautiful rooms, luxury decor, comfortable beds and great service. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelSpy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed there for a week end. We didn't stop crossing Roma on a Vespa.
The hotel is nice, very friendly staff. The room we had (1st floor) was beautiful and we loved the bathroom. We didn't have breakfast there and I don't think they offer this...
The location is the best although it's in a shopping street so it's very crowded.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K-Miro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I spent a very long time researching hotels in Rome. Nothing stood out (other than Portrait Suites, but that was much too expensive). I finally settled on 8 nights at the Babuino. I was a little nervous about trying another boutique hotel, but I've been lucky with choices I've made through TripAdvisor, so I went for it.

The location is great. You can walk everywhere in Rome, and you're close to the Metro and shopping on the Corso.

We had one of the lower category rooms. Size-wise, it was fine. I take issue with their bed choice, though - you'd gain a good 2 ft of extra living space if they got rid of the ridiculous corduroy frame. Bed was a bit on the hard side, but ok. Linens seemed a bit damp at times - not sure if it was because of the heat and humidity outside. I'd also nix the canopy - since the windows are higher, it makes the room a little claustrophobic. Bathroom is generously sized and has separate shower. I would recommend that the hotel upgrade their amenities though - everything was made in PRC and very gelatinous. Had plenty of towels, which was nice!

Still and sparkling water from the minibar was complementary. Awesome!

I had a heck of a time getting the TV to work properly. Not sure if it was the remote or what, but I never did figure out the right way to turn it on and change the channels.

Breakfast is served in a lovely roof-top room. Standard continental choices, and was included in our room rate.

We had a small language barrier with one of the front desk staff. We'd asked if he could book us a driver to meet us at a church and then drive us to the catacombs. Something got lost in translation, and we ended up with a private guided tour (on foot) of the church. I tried to explain to the tour guide the mistake, but that too got lost in translation. He was able, though, to take us to St. Clemente, which was great. I did end up enjoying the tour (after I had a mini-meltdown at the thought of missing the catacombs) but it was expensive (230 Euros with tax for about 2 hours). Since they don't have a formal concierge desk, I am a little more forgiving about this, since he was very nice to help us out.

Overall, we had an enjoyable stay at Babuino, and it was a great base for our first foray into Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My boyfriend and stayed in Babuino a few months ago and loved everything about this boutique hotel. We were greeted by a girl named Jess, who speaks 5 languages, helped us with so much, and always greeted us with our name when we left/entered the hotel. The room was contemporary and chic. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had an amazing shower and jacuzzi tub. The staff makes you feel so at home, paired with the fabulous location (2 minute walk from Piazza del Popolo), and clean, contemporary decor, Babuino is the best hotel I have ever stayed at in Rome!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Well,unfortunately due to our hectic holiday schedule we couldn't stay longer! But what we did encounter was; A great boutigue hotel in a magic vibrant location.The staff were up to a very good standard,the room was excellent,with a balcony even.Allowing thoughts of might and power as Mussolini stood on his balcony and addressed his people 70 years ago.Mind you i don't think that the masses of people flocking to the Spanish steps along "via Babuino" would have been impressed if i had!
To put it in a nutshell: Great location,very comfortable up market rooms( large),excellent staff.

Tip: Do not attempt to drive to the hotel,zero parking( no valet either) and hard to locate,even with Nav.

Room Tip: Grab the "Deluxe Suite"..527 sq ft of classy space.The windows have extra internal padded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,273 in Rome
535 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,273 in Rome
260 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,273 in Rome
854 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Degli Artisti
Hotel Degli Artisti
#30 of 1,273 in Rome
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £127 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babuino 181 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing