We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot go wrong with this property in Rome.”
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #28 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in Rome before embarking on a 2 week tour of the rest of Italy and I have to say that this was the best hotel that we stayed in during those 2 weeks. The husband kept saying that he wished that every other hotel was similar to this. It was very clean. That was something we were grateful and if anyone thought this were small, wait till you see the rest of Italy hotels! The size was just right for a couple. The beds were super comfy and they provide plush bedroom slippers! (Not every hotel does that, by the way, in Europe!) Breakfast was adequate and they provide fresh orange juice! The service was always polite and chirpy. I love the additional benefits of evening cocktails from 6pm to 8pm at the rooftop restaurant, etc and it is just so so pleasant to sit there, have a glass of wine away from the 'chaos' in Rome. Wifi is also free and works fairly well.
Information was given readily and we didn't want for anything and best of all, the location of this hotel is perfect. You can walk to ALL main attractions and shopping from this little posh boutique hotel. Make sure you book early to avoid disappointment as it fills up quickly.
Just one little point to note, we opted for the transportation, i.e. to be picked up from the airport and our driver was somewhat late. He did come eventually and was a really pleasant gentleman but we were a in a bit of a flurry actually, having come from a more than 12 hour flight, and naturally expecting to be picked up on the dot. But that was resolved after a phone call to the hotel. Thumbs up Babuino 181!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cher_nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

One cannot go wrong staying at this super chic, posh, perfectly located hotel. My 18 year old daughter and I simply loved it. It has a feel of a swank apartment. We stayed in a two story loft suite which was divine. The staff was excellent in arranging first class private tours, drivers as well as dining and other travel arrangements. When I'm in Rome, I will never stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Consider spacious two story loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We just spent five marvelous days in Rome, staying at Babuino 181. We loved it !
The location, the comfort, the amenities and the quality of the service greatly contributed to our
happiness during our stay.
We were impressed by the extreme kindness and efficiency of the whole staff and, in particular, that of Theodora, the acting concierge, who was most helpful in assisting us at numerous occasions.
Wa also want to mention that, at the end of each afternoon, a free glass of wine taken on the terrace os the 4th floor is a wonderful opportunity to relax and meet other people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights at the Babuino 181 during our trip to Rome in March. We arrived from NY on very wet Monday morning and right away we appreciated the warm welcome and the wonderful hospitality of the staff as we took our late breakfast at the covered roof top lounge/bar area where breakfast was served every morning. We were upgraded to the best suite of the hotel in their brand new building across the street and we loved the modern elegance of the decor, the large and comfortable spaces, the beautiful and huge bathroom, the views of the old rooftops, our nespresso machine and everything that the hotel had to offer. The location is unbeatable, close to everything, beautiful streets, boutiques and restaurants nearby. Even though it rained almost every day, the staff at Hotel Babuino made sure that our stay was comfortable, and did everything in a friendly and unpretentious way. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The hotel is based out of the 'old building' that seems to be in great shape but the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGP-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Babuino 181 could hardly have a better location. Close to major shopping areas and also close to major attractions, one could walk everywhere. Rooms are large, comfortable and modern and bathrooms the same. Coffee and tea is available in the room. In the evening drinks are available free on the rooftop terrace...a very pleasant touch. Staff are helpful and the hotel is spotless.
As this is an all suites hotel there are no restaurants, swimming pools, gyms etc, so you are not paying for things you dont need. Wifi is fast and free. Great restaurants are only minutes away and there is a wide selection in all price ranges. Rooms facing the street are quiet if the shutters and curtains are closed. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MirandaAjijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed five nights at this first rate hotel and yearned for more! Staying at Babuino 181 felt more like staying with friends at our own guest house than being in a hotel. We stayed in the Patrizi suite in the new annex across the street. Still perfect, no inconvenience. . I loved the ample sunlight coming from windows I could throw open for day and shutter to blackout for night. I loved having natural sunlight in the bathroom! The bathroom counter had plenty of space for toiletries, a great hair dryer with nozzle , luxurious bath and shower. We had our own private rooftop terrace with distant view to the Basilica of St. Peter . The views were charming to gaze at terra cotta tiled roofs nearby. Very quiet, very private.
The room was perfect, the hotel service warm, friendly and so accommodating in every way. We had a lovely fresh breakfast in the hotel roof terrace and complimentary cocktails there at 6 pm.
All the staff , Teodora and crew went out of their way to help with lost luggage and answer all questions! GO!walk nearby on lovely Margutta street.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My husband and I stayed in a standard room at Babuino 181 in May 2012 and it was fabulous! We have been to Rome several times and have had a really hard time finding a hotel that was new and modern and in a good walking location- but this was both. The hotel is small- 14 rooms and I think just 2 or 3 on each floor, but each room feels very private. Very cool layout and design and bathroom. There is a bar/coffee bar/shared space on the rooftop (no bartender, maybe honor system?) We didn't get anything but just looked around and sat on the comfy furniture. The hotel is just a few feet away from the Piazza del Poppolo and the metro station there, and about a ten-15 minute walk to the Spanish Steps. Service was great and friendly, I highly recommend this hotel. And there was a Nespresso machine in the room!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikitaalabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,271 in Rome
527 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#31 of 1,271 in Rome
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,271 in Rome
3,024 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £157 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babuino 181 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing