We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff”
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #26 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice staff”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

In spite we have booked two deluxe rooms city view, one of them had only a narrow window to the elevator case, a dark and small place, definetly no nice room. Thanks to the man of the front desk, we changed that room the day after our arrival, and everything seemed to be better. The location is very good, the breakfast terrace is nice, and the rooms are so comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaElen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    184
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
184
575
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Recently stayed here for 4 nights based on the reviews. The hotel was great. Very modern and new without trying too hard. The hotel took over another building 3 months ago right across the street. It was recently remodeled and we didn't mind staying there but just something to keep in mind if you would have a problem with that. For us it was like apartment living and we just walked across the street for breakfast each morning.

We really didn't have a view (Room 207) but it worked out because we traveled with our 1 year old son so there was no street noise.

The staff is fantastic. I wish I remembered her name but there was a girl who worked the front desk and we needed some warm milk for our baby and she ran it over across the street herself 5 minutes after we called.

Vince worked the front desk and it seemed like he never left, which was a great thing for guests. He took care of everything from our early check-in, coordinating cars to and from the airport as well as restaurant recommendations that were the furthest thing from touristy.

The last thing I would say is the best gelato I had in Rome is right around the corner from the hotel...Fatamorgana.

http://www.gelateriafatamorgana.it/en/

It’s leaps and bounds better than anything you will find across the street from the Spanish Steps, all natural with classic flavors as well as adventurous combinations (that work) like basil-honey & walnuts. Not to take anything away from the hotel but I should retitle my review, “Great location. Amazing Staff...and Rome’s best gelato around the corner.”

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bzot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at this chic hotel located near the Spanish Steps during our visit to Rome. We checked in early Sunday, a tough day and time to check in to a hotel. We had to wait for our room to be ready, but decided to walk around the city while the hotel kept an eye on our bags. This worked out well. The location was perfect and we could walk to all attractions, including the Vatican. We were close to good restaurants and fantastic shopping. The room was great with a young, hip vibe. It reminded me of a boutique hotel in SoHo. Rome was particularly hot during our visit, but you would never know it from the cool, comfortable air conditioning in the hotel. The bed was quite comfy. A Nespresso machine was provided in the room, but a continental breakfast with coffee was available upstairs in the rooftop deck. The staff was great, especially JoJo, the concierge who made dinner reservations for us each night. He was so helpful and friendly. I plan on staying at this hotel when I return to Rome!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jscw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We loved this boutique hotel, very good location (about 6 min walk to the Spanish steps) the room (deluxe suite) was Spacey and the decor beautiful. an espresso machine and bath Salts are some of the little things that makes you want to stay in the room ( :

The staff was very helpful and nice.

Breakfast on the top floor was nice, the food and the service was OK, we believe that the breakfast could have head more verity..

Over all great room and great location, we will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superwoman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We booked a nights stay in Rome for a Friday night with Mr & Mrs Smith. Our advisor Heather was excellent especially as we have an akward number with 3 children.

We arrived at Babuino after a 35 minute taxi journey from the airport costing around €60, a few pounds more expensive than a bus but quicker & less hassle. Driving right past the Spanish steps down a small side street you find a small almost concealed entrance to a tiny but welcoming reception.

All the staff at Babuino were very helpful, the check in was easy and we were taken to our rooms. We were lucky and had a Deluxe Suite and it was huge by any standards and by Rome or any large city massive. The bathroom was bigger than some rooms I had seen. Room 105 is a corner and has windows overlooking two side streets. Clean and well presented with a large bed, great bathroom with shower & full size bath.

Free water and coffee in the room as well as good free wifi.

The other area to mention is the roof top terrace which serves drinks between 6pm and 11pm and breakfast in the morning.

This is a lovely quiet cool area to have a pre or post dinner drink and the bar man was very kind & helpful, especially with our children.

Babuino is within easy walking distance of the Spanish Steps, the Trevai Fountain & other sites or just to wonder around the streets of Rome.

The hotel recommended a really nice family friendly resturant for the evening, made the booking and gave directions. The resturant was a locals place and not a tourist trap with pictures of the dishes on the signs!

A taxi to the Colosseum cost €10 and to the main train terminal €12 so it is fairly cheap to get around. Buses or the metro would be slightly cheape but with 3 children and limited time we used taxis.

All in all we had a great short stay in Rome & would recommend the very child friendly, spacious & helpful Babuino 181.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uktraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at Babuino181 for two nights and loved it. It is really well located, the rooms are beautiful and roomy (especially for Rome) and the staff were fantastic. The rooms have really good shuttering and are therefore quiet and great for sleeping. They also have a really nice espresso machine for when it is time to wake up. The staff were extremely helpful and their advice on where to eat was faultless, which is very useful in a city with as many restaurants as Rome. We can't say enough good things about Babuino and will definitely be staying there the next time we are in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Highly recommend Babuino 181! After identifying several potential hotels from the Tripadvisor website we selected Babuino 181, largely because of Teodora Moncea, who we found to be professional and personable in making the reservations and accommodating our requests. The hotel is in a central location, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the service is very good. I would recommend to couples or families.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Property: Babuino 181
Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Babuino 181 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing