We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop before home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #37 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stop before home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We have just got back from a month long trip to Europe, we spent 6 days with friends in Northern Italy. On their recommendation we spent 2 nights in Rome at this great little place. Our friends had made it their Roma home on visits and it lived up to their rave reviews.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful, Special thanks to Vincenzio and the Front desk team. The room was laid out very well, spacious for its size and very well maintained. I am very picky about these things as in my day job, as a facilities manager I am always looking for faults. AC worked without fault and the soundproofing was amazing and yet you could open the windows.
Walked around Roma for 2 days enjoying the sights and sounds ( lost 6kg on the trip walking everywhere during the month, note to self get out of the car at home) and came home to Babuino 181 each evening after a great dinner and slept like a log.
Also found the touch of the little notebook the owner has written a good intro to the area's hidden gems.
Bugger work I want to return...sigh

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    182
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
178
557
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We just got back from a 10-day trip to Italy starting with 4 nights in Venice, then 3 in Florence, and finally 3 nights in Rome at this little gem. This was the newest and most luxurious of the three places where we stayed. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. The room was laid out very well, with two comfortable chairs facing the large media center. All top quality materials were used throughout. The rooftop lounge area was a pleasure and the quality of the breakfast was by far the best we had on our entire trip.
The only problem we encountered was the street noise at night which we had tried to avoid by requesting a quiet room on the side street (following advice of others here in these comments). Our room was on the 3rd and highest piano (floor) but only one room in from the main street. For the first two nights there was a woman screaming in the streets between 2 and 3 am until someone shouted to her to keep quiet. The last night it sounded like someone was pressure-cleaning their building or sidewalk between 2 and 4 am. Upon checkout I mentioned the noise problem to the staff and another person mentioned he had not heard anything as he had a room in the back (which is where we would choose to stay if we ever return). Had double-pane windows been installed in these street-side rooms, the noise factor would probably have been considerable reduced.
Overall, this is a fantastic little oasis brimming with top-quality features.

Room Tip: Unless you sleep like a log and noise is not a factor in keeping you awake, choose a room at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were a family with 3 people in each of 2 suites, one in 181 and one across the road. Both suites were very well appointed and the king beds were supremely comfortable. Aircon was silent and efficient, noise from the street was cancelled by windows and shutters and the location excellent. Recommendations for dining in the Owner's booklet were really good. It was expensive compared to our other hotels but so very comfortable and we could walk to most major attractions. It was vastly superior to all but one of the other Hotels we stayed at in Italy. How wonderful it was to have space to both unpack and the three of us also leave our suitcases open.
The duty Manager when we arrived, Vince, could not have been more helpful or more welcoming.

Room Tip: The one in 181 itself had a lovely big bathroom, very big main room but the foldout bed was not very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mendicus65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I fell in love with this boutique hotel, this is one of our favorite hotels on the planet. The neighborhood is great, close to everything, and many artisan, artist and interesting shops. Real Rome. The rooftop patio is the best place for breakfast and predinner drinks. Antonio the owner has written a notebook to guide the guests to the local museums, shops, restaurants, parks and hidden gems he enjoyed growing up here. Dragosh is the awesome bartender on the roof and he takes care of everyone at night prior to heading out, some of the wines come from the owners wife's vineyard and are exceptional. The deskstaff are on point for all needs, electrical, laundry, reservations, logistics, travel, recommendations, directions. The rooms are modern and the bathrooms are large and luxurious. This hotel creates the moment of magic for its guests at every turn!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, you cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
306 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

If you accept staying in a 5 star apartment but not in the 5 star hotel^ the Babuino 181 is your choice. Located right on the Babuino street in two buildings across the street. The breakfast will be served on a roof terrasse with fresh Roma air and ambiance of the city noise. The double rooms are small but comfortable. Take the suites. One of them is Moncada after the owner's family name is on the last floor with perfect views over the Roma's roofs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max120368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

... and that's saying a lot. We travel a ton. This place is divine! Rooms are huge by European standards, and the decor was really cool with blends of wood and modern elements. Huge amounts of space for luggage. Blackout drapes let us sleep in so well, even on a relatively busy street. Location is perfect for sight-seeing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Two years ago we stayed at Marguta 54 (part of this group of hotels) which was fantastic and now at Babuino 181 but in the new building over the road. The attention to detail, the lovely fittings, the marble in the bathrooms, the lovely linen, fantastic genuinely friendly service all go to making our say in Rome fantastic.
The breakfast is up on the rooftop terrace. Up there are also relaxing outdoor lounge chairs where you can listen to music and just relax like you would do at home.
On the first level there is a room where you can have a coffee or a glass of water.
The internet is easy to log not, strong and consistent.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri1Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#16 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Property: Babuino 181
Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Babuino 181 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing