We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb Rome Hotel”
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #25 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simply Superb Rome Hotel”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We simply loved our stay at Babuino 181. The hotel boasts a brilliant location near the Spanish Steps, Roman Holiday’s Via Margutta, and the Piazza del Popolo. Our room (a junior suite) was beautifully designed and equipped with every luxury including a small walk-in wardrobe which really impressed us, a Nespresso coffee machine which was replenished with coffee stocks daily, free mineral water and space for arm chairs and a little table. The bathroom included a large bath, shower and separate toilet which was all very comfortable at the end of a tiring day’s sightseeing. The hotel made every effort to make us feel at home over the Christmas period, leaving us a small gift in the room, as well as inviting us to a small drinks party in their rooftop restaurant on Christmas Eve which was totally unexpected.

Only negatives: The entrance foyer is very small and did not include anywhere for us to leave our luggage locked up after check out. This concerned us, as theoretically someone could walk in off the busy Via Babuino and take the luggage which was left just besides the lift. This could be improved upon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoDLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    186
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
187
582
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
178 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at Christmas in one of the large suites. Simply wow. Style and luxury are the keys. Huge space, large terrace, two bathrooms, super king-sized bed and walkthrough closet. This is total luxury. The top floor is the open terrace (enclosed for weather) where breakfast and evening drinks are served. There is a lift. The entrance is private and you are buzzed-in from the street. Piazza del Popolo is 2 minutes walk, Spanish Steps 3 minutes and the shopping mecca that is this part of Rome is all around you. Staff are outstanding for service, help with dinner reservations, arranging transport to/from the airport and about anything else you can need. I doubt you can find a better boutique hotel in Rome. The prices are supported by the level of service, size, location and sheer luxury. And fabulous lighting.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We had a fantastic 4 nights at the Babulino. Our room was very spacious and the bathroom is very big. The deco is contemporary and the bed is very comfortable.
The best thing about the hotel was the Staff, they were extremely warm and helpful. They can help you organize guided tours, i recommend a guided tour of the Vatican our guide was very was very informative and gave us our time to take in the beautiful history and art. Teodora at the reception went out of her way to recommend and book excellent restaurants. They made us feel at home. It was my birthday, they sent us a complimentary bottle of champagne :)
The location is around the corner from Piazza del Popolo and a short walk to the Spanish steps, Its very central.
Enjoy your stay there you won't regret it :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is a lovely little boutique hotel right in the centre of Rome. All the main historic sites are within walking distance (and walking is by the far the best way to spot all the lovely little hidden gems that the historic centre has). The hotel is also excellently located for finding good quality restaurants (which the staff were happy to provide recommendations for). While not a personal interest, you're also very close to a lot of the designer fashion stores.

Service was excellent, staff were very helpful and genuinely friendly. Rooms are well appointed and the decor is modern and stylish, although I'd consider this a minimum requirement for this type of hotel.

Only minor gripe was that we couldn't quite seem to get the temperature quite right in our room...the heating was a little overpowering! Also bear in mind this is a boutique hotel, so other than a basic breakfast room / small bar on the top floor there aren't really any communal facilities or an on-site restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylop9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

During our recent stay in Rome we stayed at the Babuino 181 and had an enjoyable experience. The rooms were very nice and clean, but the two things that made the experience exceptional were the staff and the location. All the staff were very helpful but Vincenzo and Teodora went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. They helped with very detailed information on the sights and directions on how to get there. There recommendations for dinner and restaurants was very good. This hotel is within walking distance to the Spanish Steps, shopping areas and good restaurants. We would definitely stay again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindizzle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Great boutique hotel with good modern decor. Had a regular room on the 2nd floor, but didn't hear any noise. Location wise was spot on near the Spanish Steps, only around a 10 minute walk.

The only downside of the stay is that our bags were stored in front of the check in counter and another guest accidently took our bag since it looked similar when they were checking out. Fortunately we were able to track down the bags before the other guest flew off.

Generally, would recommend this hotel given the price point, location and comfort.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at this exquisite little hotel for a week. It is ideally located in what many feel is the most desirable area of Rome – a short distance to the Villa Borghese, to the best shopping, to fabulous restaurants, and to several marvelous piazzas. This luxurious hotel is managed by a cordial and efficient staff, and is very close to a taxi stand and the metro.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colletteandwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,256 in Rome
493 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,256 in Rome
2,864 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,256 in Rome
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Property: Babuino 181
Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Babuino 181 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing