We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!”
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #30 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed at Babuino 181 for just one night at the end of a weeklong business trip in Rome. I loved it! The location is fantastic, my 3rd floor room (deluxe double) was perfect. The check in was very pleasant and I had everything I could possibly ask for. I want to make a special comment about the recently opened rooftop terrace. It is truly wonderful and a fantastic place to spend an evening. The bar manager was wonderful. This place is a real gem. I will be recommending Babuino 181 to others. - Suzanne

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smpboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

We spent few days before Christmas in Rome, and after much reserch, I choose this hotel, I was concerned as most website only give it 1 or 2 stars.
A perfect place to stay in Rome, central, close to the Spanish Steps, and Villa Borghese, Piazza Del Popolo.
We had a suite as there were 3 of us, the room was comfortable with a spacious bathroom.
The staff, friendly and helpful.

My only issue, there was some noise at night, our room was on the first floor, facing the side street, where there are resturants, and people liked to linger outside talking as loud as possible at 2/3 am.

Otherwise, a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marina88-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is amazing! It is in the major shopping district of Rome. Teodora provided the best service I have ever experienced in a hotel. Dragos, the bar manager makes the best Bloody Mary in the world!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pjeawind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel is a little gem. We stayed here during the Summer for a 2 night stay en route to Umbria.
Even before we arrived, Yohanys and Valentina were incredibly helpful ensuring that we had everything we needed ahead of our trip to Rome. This was not an exception and the service in the hotel was personal and attentive throughout. On hearing of our recent engagement, they arranged for a bottle of prosecco in the room, which was a very sweet and thoughtful touch.
We had a deluxe suite- it wasn't massive - but it had all that you needed for a couple of nights, and was very comfortable. With the shutters shut, you are in danger of never waking up!
Breakfast and drinks on the terrace are lovely. And did I mention the location is AMAZING. Right off the Spanish Steps, off the Piazza del Popolo.
Concierge organized a great tour guide, and recommended Antica Pesa - the best meal we ate in Italy.

Room Tip: We had a room over the Via Babuino and it wasn't too noisy. I would suggest as high as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amysak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife and I spent a week in Rome the week before Christmas. Babuino 181 was recommended to us by a friend. Our experience exceeded our expectations, which were high given our love for the Eternal City. Our room was quite spacious by Rome standards and expertly decorated, a quiet respite from our daily walking around the city. Very nice bathroom including a large tub and shower! The staff were exceptional, from the desk clerks to the bartender. The in-room coffee Nespresso and fast wireless were very nice finishing touches. The location is perfect, 3 minutes from the Borghese gardens, 5 minutes from the Spanish steps. Note that the "stars" of a hotel refer to the services available, not the quality -- this is two star because there is no gym, massage, concierge desk etc -- if you want these find a big chain. If you're looking for an upscale hotel where the room and staff are first class, and you are looking for that personal touch, look no further.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We simply loved our stay at Babuino 181. The hotel boasts a brilliant location near the Spanish Steps, Roman Holiday’s Via Margutta, and the Piazza del Popolo. Our room (a junior suite) was beautifully designed and equipped with every luxury including a small walk-in wardrobe which really impressed us, a Nespresso coffee machine which was replenished with coffee stocks daily, free mineral water and space for arm chairs and a little table. The bathroom included a large bath, shower and separate toilet which was all very comfortable at the end of a tiring day’s sightseeing. The hotel made every effort to make us feel at home over the Christmas period, leaving us a small gift in the room, as well as inviting us to a small drinks party in their rooftop restaurant on Christmas Eve which was totally unexpected.

Only negatives: The entrance foyer is very small and did not include anywhere for us to leave our luggage locked up after check out. This concerned us, as theoretically someone could walk in off the busy Via Babuino and take the luggage which was left just besides the lift. This could be improved upon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoDLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at Christmas in one of the large suites. Simply wow. Style and luxury are the keys. Huge space, large terrace, two bathrooms, super king-sized bed and walkthrough closet. This is total luxury. The top floor is the open terrace (enclosed for weather) where breakfast and evening drinks are served. There is a lift. The entrance is private and you are buzzed-in from the street. Piazza del Popolo is 2 minutes walk, Spanish Steps 3 minutes and the shopping mecca that is this part of Rome is all around you. Staff are outstanding for service, help with dinner reservations, arranging transport to/from the airport and about anything else you can need. I doubt you can find a better boutique hotel in Rome. The prices are supported by the level of service, size, location and sheer luxury. And fabulous lighting.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,271 in Rome
530 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,271 in Rome
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
247 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £150 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babuino 181 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing