We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hubba hubba”
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #25 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hubba hubba”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I spent some nights with my husband when we were in our honeymoon trip. I loved the room and the service was top notch....we walked around the city and enjoyed the surroundings; It was beautiful. Will surely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    186
    35
    8
    2
See reviews for
188
586
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night. Right in the heart of the enchanted City lives this niece boutique hotel with 14 rooms where attention to detail and customer service are at their best. The staff welcomes you with a positive and can do attitude, ready to assist and book anything from restaurants to concerts. On the terrace you can enjoy cocktails made by the barman (Dragos). I tried a couple of his drinks and wow perfectly made (one with blue curaçao and one with cocktail onion - asked to be surprised and I was).
The rooms are quiet and have nespresso machines. Kingsize beds and the decor is modern and trendy. Theodora (concierge) helped me in choosing a restaurant for the evening and her suggestions and knowledge of the area were of great help. She also booked my return flight and checked me in for my flight back to London. If you go to Rome and are looking for a quite but centrally located hotel this one is worth checking. Had breakfast on the terrace the morning I left and there was a great choice of foods (continental pastries, jams, yoghurt, muffins as well as eggs and meats).

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank cdcworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

pick the best hotel ever! this was highly recommended by a friend of us and the expectations were fully satisfied. This little treasure is in the heart of the Eternal City, just a few minutes away from the Spanish Steps and Villa Borghese, but despite its central position the rooms and the guest areas are all very quiet.
we stayed for a week and the staff helped us every day in choosing places to visit, to eat, they were extremely helpful, kind and prepared.
we really appreciated that.
the room was luxurious and the bathroom spacious and comfortable, felt like being at home at the end of the day.
excellent space for breakfast (the top floor with the open terrace) and great views from the window.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joshua p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We only stayed two nights. The room was nice but at 440 Euro's - seemed to be quite pricey and expected more. The breakfast on offer was really poor. I would not recommend the hotel simply on the basis that I think that you could get more for less elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoordhoekTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert0Moncada, Direttore at Babuino 181, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us - we are glad you liked your room. I was very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast.
On our rooftop terrace, we serve a complete continental buffet of homemade pastries, local cheeses and meats (like prosciutto and salumi), fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, yogurt, and eggs.
Our breakfast staff has been complemented often on their fabulous cappuccinos. If you had notified us of a special request, we would have certainly tried to accommodate you. We are continuing to evolve the services we offer on our rooftop terrace and always appreciate feedback from our guests.


If you return to Rome, please let me know so we can serve you a complimentary breakfast and feel free to contact us with any specific recommendations.


Best regards,

Alberto Moncada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

It was a good week stay in Rome for pleasure. We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a suite in this hotel, otherwise the rooms are very small despite the pictures and reviews you may read about the hotel. When I first walked in to the standard room, i could not believe how small it was and basic, not worth the money you pay for it. There is a small window facing the wall of a building. After I complained we were upgraded, luckily.

I also spent one night in the deluxe room, slightly bigger than standard and it was small too... So if you want to have a good stay go for a suite in this hotel - the only desirable option.

Also, be advised that there is no kitchen in the hotel and the hotel has two separate buildings, 3 minutes walk one from each other (if you have luggage those 3 minutes may be painful after check in!). The breakfast served on the top (4th floor) is brought from somewhere and only heated in the hotel. It is not possible to meet all guests requests and diet requirements, so be aware.

Bathroom amenities are not of a good quality, i personally did not like it.

On a positive side, the staff is trying very hard to be helpful: attention to people's needs, politeness and readiness to help. Very well indeed.

Room Tip: go for suite - the only desirable option
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmitryvulkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I just spent 4 days in glorious Rome and stayed at the luxurious Babuino 181 hotel located in the center of all, the location was perfect and the staff was the most warm, helpful, efficient- AMAZING. The rooms are very spacious and quiet, and the rooftop breakfast area as well as evening bar was beautiful. A true Gem, I would return as well as highly recommend to all friends visiting Rome.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed at Babuino 181 for just one night at the end of a weeklong business trip in Rome. I loved it! The location is fantastic, my 3rd floor room (deluxe double) was perfect. The check in was very pleasant and I had everything I could possibly ask for. I want to make a special comment about the recently opened rooftop terrace. It is truly wonderful and a fantastic place to spend an evening. The bar manager was wonderful. This place is a real gem. I will be recommending Babuino 181 to others. - Suzanne

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smpboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,258 in Rome
500 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,258 in Rome
2,885 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,258 in Rome
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Property: Babuino 181
Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Babuino 181 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing