We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only average service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #36 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Only average service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I booked the Babuino 181 because I read lots of good reviews about it on this site, but after staying there for a week, I can only say that it was average. The location was certainly a plus and the rooms were of good size. And we got sort of connecting rooms which was good because my children are only small. But the breakfast was quite awful and certainly not wroth the €20 per person. And most disappointing of all was the service. Whenever we asked for something, like changing the time of our car booking or getting tickets to the Villa Borghese, we were always given the impression that the effort was quite half-hearted with responses like "ok, we'll try." Well I have certainly seen better service than that, especially after our experience with Andaz in Amsterdam. We stayed there for 5 nights before we went to Rome. There at Andaz, whenever we asked for something, the response was always "Certainly, that's no problem at all." and accompanied by a big smile. We never saw that at Babuino 181.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamcks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babuino181, Direttore at Babuino 181, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. The large, connecting rooms seemed to work well for your family and I'm glad you enjoyed our central location. I'm distressed to hear that the service you received was not up to our normal standards and I will personally talk with our front desk staff. And I'm sorry our breakfast did not meet your expectations. We offer guests a buffet of fresh fruit, meats, cheese, yoghurt, cereal and eggs so if there was something specific we are missing, I would love to hear directly from you.

If you return to Rome, I'd love the chance to personally oversee your stay.

Kind regards,

Alberto Moncada
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    179
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
178
544
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Babuino 181 was outstanding and posh. Amazing location and luxurious. The service was incredibly friendly and all the staff went above and beyond. Breakfast was delightful, with fresh fruit, breads, eggs, cereals, yogurt, meats and cheeses. Upon check in we were given a book with the owner's reviews of local restaurants and things to see and do. Every recommendation was bang on and certainly helped us avoid tourist traps. Being of Italian heritage this was most helpful as we ate and toured as the locals do and made new friends everywhere we went. We loved staying there and plan on making it our home away from home when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babuino181, Direttore at Babuino 181, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It is our goal for our guests to feel like they are experiencing Rome as a true Roman – how wonderful that you felt Babuino was your home away from home. Thank you so much for letting us know we had achieved our objective. We look forward to your return!
Kind regards,

Alberto Moncada,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay while in Rome. Clean and modern rooms at a great location. Assem and the other staff were very helpful, friendly, accomodating and professional. I look forward to staying there again on my next visit to Rome.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel staff are amazing and very professional. They went out of their way to show us the room, to make us feel welcome, to introduce us to their favourite restaurants and the 'Roman notebook' that is left in the room for each guest is just a gem to unlock local area 'know how's.' The rooms were excellent - clean, welcoming and typically Italian Chic.

Expensive but worth the extra pounds especially if its a romantic weekend away and you want to be close to the Spanish steps. I love this hotel and I would definitely stay again - this time for more days.

Room Tip: There are only two floors, we stayed in 301 which didn't have the best view but ask for 305 as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kypros s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babuino181, Direttore at Babuino 181, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very nice comments about our staff and "Italian chic" rooms. I'm very happy you took advantage of the tips in my Roman Notebook and that you will be back for a longer visit next time.

Kind regards,

Alberto Moncada,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalaheo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent 5 nights at Babuino 181 in the Patrizi Suite (room 401) and enjoyed everything- the room, the staff, the location, and even the weather. The suite is in the building almost directly across the street from the main hotel. We walked over each morning to indulge in the extensive and all inclusive breakfast buffet which is served on the top floor terrace. We also took advantage of our complimentary Italian drinks in the terrace bar one evening.

As we arrived early in the morning after flying for over 24 hours, Hassem (sp?) was kind enough to let us use one of the smaller rooms whilst our suite was being prepared. This was much appreciated!

Patrizi Suite is modern, large and comfortable, with excellent air-conditioning, but the private roof top terrace was the highlight. The terrace is a flight of stairs up from the suite and is much larger than it appears on the website. It features views of the Vatican and the Borghese Gardens. We called for a bucket of ice each evening and drank prosecco on the terrace before going out to dinner. One night we played Maria Callas (and even Dean Martin!) to set the mood!

Upon arrival we were presented with owner Alberto Moncada's "A Roman Notebook" which turned out to be our bible for the visit. In it he describes his favorite haunts in the area and we found it indispensible for locating the best restaurants, gelatorias and local attractions. By chance we had the pleasure of meeting Alberto outside his sister property Margutta 54 and were able to thank him for his hospitality. The entire staff at Babuino could not have been nicer or more helpful with restaurant bookings and in providing whatever information we needed on this our first (but certainly not last) trip to Rome.

Babuino 181 is ideally situated, a 5 minute walk from the extensive Borghese Gardens (our favorite place in Rome so far) and within easy walking to the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain (which incidentally was under repair). We took a short taxi ride to ancient Rome (Coliseum, Forum, etc) and walked back via the Pantheon, stopping of course for gelato . The nearby restaurants that Alberto and the staff recommended (Babette in particular, which is just around the corner) were uniformly excellent. And to splurge one night, dinner at Jardin de Russie (one block from Babuino 181) was a wonderful experience.

As we relaxed on our terrace, we felt that the "Patrizi Experience" had to be the best value in Rome.

Room Tip: If you are there in good weather, you can't beat the Patrizi Suite roof top terrace. As this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KauaiRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babuino181, Direttore at Babuino 181, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Robin,

When the weather is nice in Rome, having a private rooftop terrace is truly luxurious, so I'm very happy you were able to enjoy this benefit of the Patrizi Suite. It was very nice bumping into you outside our other property at Margutta 54 – your comments about our staff were much appreciated. We hope you come back to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Alberto Moncada,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This was the perfect and ideal location for our stay in Rome . The room was spacious and well appointed. The staff especially Giorgio and Theodora were extremely helpful without being over the top . Room was clean with new linen everyday .. And the location was ideal . There are so many good trattoria around we only had one meal at the hotel in a 6 day stay ( breakfast). All the sites are nearby and within walking distance . The only let down was the rooftop bar where there really isn't a view.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babuino181, Direttore at Babuino 181, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Wow, getting a "perfect" rating for our staff is so gratifying. Giorgio and Theodora will be very happy to hear that they made your stay so enjoyable. My thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review.

Kind regards,

Alberto Moncada,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My family and I enjoyed a two night stay at Babuino 181. The staff were very accommodating and more than happy to assit us with recommendations and any questions we had. The room was spacious and suited our family of six. Would highly recommend Babuino 181 and would not hesitate in staying there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#25 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#28 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Property: Babuino 181
Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Babuino 181 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing