We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #36 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Greenport, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Babuino 181 from October 13-17th of this year. We really like boutique hotels and found this hotel online, read reviews on trip advisor and took a chance. Well, did we find gold! Babuino is incredible! Our room was very spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was huge and so was the shower stall. The customer service is excellent! Andrea and her staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay enjoyable. We thought that breakfast would be a self serve buffet but there is an attendant to make your coffee, toast and whatever else you want from the selection. He even squeezes fesh orange juice in front of you! We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TallTapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    179
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
178
544
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

We travel to Italy every year and have been looking for a new hotel in Rome. We like to stay in the Piazza del Popolo area and were thrilled to read about Babuino 181 in a review in the NY Times. In fact we had a reservation at another hotel but cancelled it after reading about Babuino 181. From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. The service was excellent - particularly Andrea, the Front Office Manager. The room was spacious by Rome standards and was so beautifully designed. The location is fantastic - within walking distance of everything but removed enough from the crowds that gather near the Spanish Steps. The only thing we did not like was leaving. Fortunately we have already made our reservation for next year's trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellissimo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

Beautiful hotel, very comfortable rooms, very accommodating staff - modern, boutique feeling, gorgeous bathroom, spacious, great location, will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Rome!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heidiehlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

As a frequent traveler, I was extremely impressed with our entire stay at Babuino 181. We were greeted by an extremely friendly front desk who even offered us a laptop to check our em-mails in the room!! We then were escorted to our spacious room with all the modern annemities. The beds and pillows were terrific! The shower was nice sized (not your typical European tiny stall). We enjoyed a great continental breakfast with again a terrific attentive staff member. When we asked for directions, they brought out maps, showed us the route and gave us the map. The location is also terrific! When we come back to Rome, we will most definetly stay here again! Try this diamond, you will not be disappointed! Great Stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tondo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

my wife and I went to Europe from Australia and stayed at this lovely boutique hotel for a week and the choice made our Roman holiday a perfect experience. The front office staff was especially kind and professional and spoke English perfectly (a welcome change in Italy!) and helped us out in planning and enjoying Rome at its best. The suites are top level for beauty and comfort and the location is the best.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrybarry042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

This hotel was in a great location, but did not live up to its description as being "luxurious". My room # 203 was small and it seemed shabby - the floor was scuffed, the carpet curled at the edges. The breakfast was not as described - the "diet" breakfast of fruit salad and yoghurt arrived as a whole orange, green banana and an avocado - no yoghurt! Luke warm coffee.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank annetsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katiev49, Owner at Babuino 181, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
Dear Ms. Sullivan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Babuino 181, I’m glad you enjoyed our great location in the historic center of Rome. I would like to offer my sincere apologies if we failed to deliver the high level of service we strive to offer our guests. I have specifically reviewed your comments with our breakfast staff and they have corrected this menu offering. I hope you offer us the chance to demonstrate our true level of service on your next visit to Rome.

Best regards,
Andrea Puizina
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

We got Roma as our final destination in Italy , after been travelling to the south (Napoli, amalfi, Taormina etc) And We pick up The Babuino from internet with out more information... and was wa a incredible choice , the hotel is simple perfect , the location, the services, the room...
If you have the chance to take the suite deluxe YOU MUST DO THAT!!!
Many thanks to everyone there , You gave us a wonderfull vacation in Roma.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiegoZapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#25 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Property: Babuino 181
Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Babuino 181 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing