We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #21 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Just stayed in hotel IQ
I choose this hotel because of Trip Advisor.
The best Part of the Hotel is Stuff
Everybody was absolutely delightful and helpful.
Second of all, it is clean, and I mean really clean, I love it!
Breakfast is good
The bad part:
Room is small, very, very small, even for European standards
You can’t even move.
Second of all during my stay smell in my bathroom was horrible
They try to fix but did not work.
Plus I had few more small issues (I need to admit they was resolved
In proper matter)
What is really surprise me, after all this inconveniences and
Horrible smells in my bathroom
Hotel did not offer me anything (Right thing to do will be at least some discount). Not even a drink on the house.
WOW this is cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stasnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iQHotelRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2011

We are very sorry for the less than satisfactory stay of the guest author of this review. We always strive to offer our guests a comfortable stay. Moreover, we always listen to our guests’ feedback to solve any problems that may arise during their stay immediately. The hotel staff was trained to deal with guests’ feedback in a quick, efficient and courteous way.

As regards to the room size, the room booked, assigned and paid for by the guest was a standard twin room type which size is 15 sq m plus 4 sq m for the bathroom. The room size is precisely as big as imposed by Lazio Region rules. This regulation may be different in another region of Italy and in other countries of Europe. iQ standard double or twin rooms are absolutely not smaller than any other 4-star hotels in Rome. As we know that room size for the same room type may differ from place to place, we clearly show in our website booking engine the precise size of any room type and of the bed too. We do so in order to avoid any unwanted confusion or misleading for our guests. Transparency of information on our hotel services and facilities is our uncompromising policy. We invite our future guests to read all the information about the hotel services and facilities available on our website before confirming their booking.

Concerning the smell from the bathroom, we did apologize to the guest as a problem did actually occur with a drainage pipe. As soon as the guest reported the problem, our maintenance staff immediately solved the problem. On the other hand, as a compensation for the inconvenience, which lasted only a few hours, the guests were offered a move into another room but they refused as they told us that they were not bothered at all by the problem. They even complimented the hotel for its concept, the manger and the staff for the exceptional attention they were given. During their entire stay, the staff was continuously asking the guests if everything was ok, the manager also offered is personal assistance 24hrs a day for anything they could have needed during their stay. Only now we realize that all that was meaning not much to them!
Ms Loredana Spaltro, iQ Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,909 - 2,915 of 4,276 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2011

The IQ Hotel Roma is perfect for those looking for a quiet, modern oasis in the beautiful but sometimes overwrought city of Roma. This is a very new hotel. The rooms are a nice size and very well but simply furnished, which we prefer. The bathroom was lovely. Unlike the older hotels, this hotel had ample electrical outlets which was very useful as my husband, son and I all had electric devices to plug in. And the wireless is free! The hotel is in a quiet location, but it is within walking distance of many key sights. The staff is extremely helpful. And the price was very reasonable.
We will definitely stay here again next time we are in Rome.

Stayed: March 2011
Thank Diogenes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Please can all hoteliers, everywhere, please visit this hotel? And especially other hoteliers in Rome and other Italian cities?

Modern, stylish, functional building, beautiful design and fitting-out.

Friendly, helpful, English-speaking reception and other staff who actually know how to smile!

Facilities you actually want (like a microwave) rather than expensive facilities you will never use (eg pool or gym).

Comfortable quite hard bed (as I like it); air conditioning that works and isn't noisy. Everything just thought through and executed with skill.

What could be better? The black coffee from the vending machine was disgusting undrinkable muck, and given that there are no kettles in the bedrooms it's quite important that they get this right. Must do better. And very little choice of English language tv on the nice flat screen tv - I'd have liked the BBC or something like that. But they are small minuses in a sea of pluses.

Well done all involved. Thank you. Keep it up. Build one of these hotels in every city, you will conquer the world. And, as I say, other hoteliers, visit and learn how it's done. Value, service and style can be combined - this hotel proves it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L878765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at IQ after finding it in Trip Advisor and were generally very pleased with this hotel. The staff were friendly, gave good help with how to get around and maps. The hotel was immaculately clean including the bathroom which is something that always pleases me! There was free internet connection in the room. The air conditioning did not work because it was too early in the year and we ended up opening the doors but as the hotel was away from the main streets (next to the Opera) there was only a little traffic noise. Breakfast was not included and we only had it once on our first morning. There was vending machines for water and coffee at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorktoTravel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This hotel is slightly to the North of central Rome, but it is possible to walk everywhere. We did not need to use the bus or metro at all during our stay, chossing to walk everywhere. The furthese you will walk is to the vatican (35-40 mins). There are lots of shops and restaurants around the hotel and it is very close to one of the metro stations.

The hotel staff are fantastic and will always do their best to help. When we arrived we had a double room, and needed a twin room, so they upgraded the room and gave us what we needed. They are also very knowledgable about the city and can give any information required.

The rooms are very clean, a decent size, and the beds are very comfortable. We were on the ground floor and didn't hear much noise from outside. The curtains also keep the room very dark.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, especially at the current price. I am sure that they will put it up soon as it is quite cheap for what you get.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbryson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This was our 2nd stay in Rome, but our first at the iQ Hotel Roma! We could not fault the hotel at all, after arriving at the Termini station from the airport, the hotel was only a 10 minute walk away, located conveniently next to the Opera House so really easy to find! The hotel is obviously new, but it was also lovely and clean. The staff were very accomodating and happy to assist. We had a double room with a single bed, but the bathroom also had a separate shower and bathtub. The amenities were also good, vending machines with alcohol, drinks and snacks, but also machines for anything forgotten such as toothpaste etc... There is also a small gym and sauna, along with rooftop terrace to chill out on after a day of walking around the beautiful city of Rome! Like I said we really couldnt fault this hotel, it was great and we would definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This very new-like hotel is a good place to base yourself when visiting Rome for sightseeing. Across the street from Opera House, the IQ hotel is very close to Termini Station and Repubblica station/piazza. We didn't spend much time there during the day and if you are looking for a hotel to entertain you (pool, etc.) there is not one here. But, if you are looking for a nicer, newer, very modern place to sleep and relax, this is a great place. Our room had a mini-fridge which was nice for breakfast foods and drinks. They have a wide variety of drinks and snacks in the vending areas and a nice porch on the top deck of the hotel. The area around the hotel has a few restaurants (I would recommend the Cotto a block over) and there is a small store to buy some food items (Carrefour Express) around the corner. People say the beds are firm; they are, but certainly not uncomfortable. They are the typical European firm beds with excellent quality of bedding, sheets, etc. Our room had a king-size bed which is not always easy to find in Europe. The bathroom is very nice. The rooms are small, but if you are only using it as "homebase" it is a very nice place to stay for lower budgets. Each room also has a safe. I didn't see any alarm clocks, though, so bring your own.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoulSabbatical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,862 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,269 in Rome
1,377 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,269 in Rome
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#41 of 1,269 in Rome
941 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,269 in Rome
2,995 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £104 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing