We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family of 4”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #21 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great for family of 4”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed at the iq Roma in March and found it to be perfect location for our 3 day stay in Rome. Traveling with our two teenage sons, we thought the rooms were very spacious and we didn't feel crowded at all like we did in some other hotels on our trip to Italy. Rooms were clean, it had plenty of outlets ( again, not the case in all hotels in Italy) and the location can't be beat. It is located just a few blocks from the main train station although we only used the train a couple times. We mostly walked to the places we wanted to see...colosseum, Trevi fountain, pantheon. The only drawback is that it seemed a bit overpriced...again, this is comparing to other places we stayed in Florence and Venice, even though I expected Rome to be pricier. Lastly, the Internet connection was good and reliable. Great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,993
    1,059
    105
    19
    9
See reviews for
1,035
2,171
117
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I would highly recommend staying at the iQ Hotel. It is in close proximity to attractions and to transporation. The front desk staffing are extremely accomodating and friendly. Every restaurant suggestion they made was a winner. The rooms are a reasonable size and very comfortable. The roof top terrace is wonderful for relaxing and enjoying a bottle of wine after a long day of sightseeing. There are many shops and restaurants in the vicinity.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

iQ Hotel is a modern hotel near the train station in Rome. If you plan to take day trips; this is an ideal location. We were only in Rome, so I wish we had stayed a little closer to things. The rooms are small but nice. We were put in a handicapped room the first night, but the hotel was able to switch us to a new room for the remainder of our stay. The roof top terrace is a great place to chill and have a drink. Breakfast is not included, but I would go for it. The selection is awesome and you won't find a better breakfast deal elsewhere. Overall we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Loved the rooftop terrace, on several balmy Rome nights, sat with a bottle of wine (purchased from their vending machine, 6 Euros) and some snacks and contemplated our day of sightseeing and planning dinner. They also have fantastic hot drink vending machines, great coffees (including decaf) for 50 Euro cents! Their buffet breakfast was also a winner, with the advantage of being able to sit outside.

Rooms are compact, but great beds with white linen, bathrooms are very good with plenty of shelf space. There is an empty fridge waiting for your own supplies.

There is a small supermarket nearby which is great for fresh fruit, bottled water and snacks for that bottle of wine on the terrace.

Staff on front desk were very helpful and friendly. There are lots of bars, cafes and restaurants within a very short walk which we found to be quite inexpensive and good quality.

Room Tip: Suggest you request a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAddictnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

From the minute we stepped into the hotel we felt welcome. The friendly staff were excellent in helping with any questions and they took their time.
The room was a bit small, but not too bad. Most importantly the room was very clean, the bed was great to sleep in, the a.c. didn't make any noise and we had a small balcony looking on the roof of the opera for some fresh air. Breakfast was only €10 and worth every penny.
Location wise it is very close to a lot of sights and/or subway station that will bring you to the sites. The restaurants in the neighborhood tend to be a bit too touristy but a bit further away there are wonderful local restaurants abound.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay and we'll definitely come back to this hotel when in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussed_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Having decided on Rome as the location to celebrate our 5th Anniversary, we spent many months looking for a "good" hotel in Rome - one with clean modern rooms - I came across the iQ Hotel.

The hotel is located just 5mins walk from the Termini and has great links with all the attractions that Rome has to offer.

The concept of the hotel is very innovative and unsual for Europe and so it was a breath of fresh air.

The rooms like all rooms in European cities were not the largest by any means but were clean, modern and well maintained. To be offered free wireless was also a great touch as it made communicating with family back in London so much easier.

All the facilties were of a very high standard, the front desk staff polite and efficient, special mention must go to Huchim who always recommended great resaturants, and the vending machines well stocked and not overpriced.

To avoid sounding like the hotel's personal marketing manager I would just say that maybe the availability of a few more English language tv channels maybe a good idea, especially when relaxing after a long day out in city.

We would definately stay here again should we return to Rome.

Thank you iQ hotel for making our stay in Rome a memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrP78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We were very happy once we turned up and saw our hotel. The reception staff were lovely and very helpful providing maps and local information including best places to eat.
Our room was a King Bed room and was clean, tidy and spacious. We are normally used to shuffling about the bed to get to the otherside of the room, however the room at IQ hotel was spacious. The decor of the room was nice also. Although it might not matter to some, I was very happy that the shower had two heads; one which was situated to have a a shower and another you can hold if you girls need to bend over and wash your hair only! You also are provided shampoo, soap, body wash and a shower cap. A fridge is also provided in your room, very handy!!

Situated on level 4 a vending machine is provided where you can buy any little things you have forgotten i.e. toothpaste, deodrant, plasters, etc. At a very reasonable price! On Level 5, where there is a lovely roof terrace you can purchase alcohol (beers and wine, and champagne if your feeling it) from the vending machine. There is also little nibbles to purchase also. The vending machine is open at all times. There are also bottle openers on this floor.

The roof terrace was lovely!! Big comfy sofas and very chilled out.

An opera house is situated opposite the hotel, which lights up so nice at night.

Generally a really lovely hotel, close to all major site seeing you might want to do. Highly recommended place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenne_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,748 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,261 in Rome
1,326 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#45 of 1,261 in Rome
2,248 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing