We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and modern hotel for a self serve clientele”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #19 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at iQ the last 4 nights of our 2 week honeymoon. My husband found this hotel from trip advisor and booked it because of the wonderful reviews. We liked the modern look in the lobby, self serve laundry option, breakfast-although it is an additional cost of 10 euro per person, the rooftop lounge area, and vending machines with snacks and beverages. The location is fine if you want to use public transportation, right next to the metro station and a 5/10 minute walk to an On and Off Sightseeing bus. There is also a grocery store around the corner that you can buy sodas/water, and snacks to keep in the mini fridge. There was one man at the front desk who was particularly helpful with maps and two great restaurants. This is not a particularly romantic, warm, friendly, or comfortable hotel. The bed was very uncomfortable, the shower/tub is very tall and can be difficult to get out of because the ledge is so high. The tv is extremely small and for a hotel that caters to people that speak English, we were shocked by having only 2 English stations--CNN and BBC. When my husband asked for a code for the business center computers, they explained you had to pay to use them-which is very strange if you offer a business center. Also, there are no ice buckets? With vending machines that serve ice, you'd think the hotel would offer a bucket. Instead you can use a cup from your bathroom or cups to buy from the vending machine. People were using trashcans instead. If you are looking for a self serve hotel then this is the place for you. If you are looking for a warm and friendly hotel with romantic qualities then this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2teach02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,774 - 2,780 of 4,330 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the train station. Rooms are very nice and very clean, great shower. The metro is right down the street and all the attractions are within 20 to 30 minutes walking distance. Staff is friendly and helpful. Would stay here again in a heart beat. It's the best deal for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertp546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in July. The concept of the Hotel is fantastic, 4/5 surrounds but self service options available if you need. Laundry room a great idea, but as other reviewers have mentioned only 1 washing machine and dryer, can make for a long night trudging back and forward to check! My only complaint was the room I was allocated. Room 501, (I think), it was on the ground floor and was a disabled room. There was a grate on the footpath outside the window and everytime someone stepped on it it made a clunking sound. This woke me up a few times every night. Also when people dragged wheely luggage over it it sounded like thunder. Also the disabled bathroom ment that every time I had a shower water went everywhere. To the Hotels credit they listened to my concerns and I was given a discount on my room and was told they would be looking in to securing the grate a bit better. All in all it was handled very professionally with the manger coming to speak to me. Despite my experience I would reccommend this hotel as the location is fantastic and the price was good value.

Room Tip: Avoid disabled rooms on the lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinotFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I agree with the other reviewers, so I won't repeat everything.

Basically, this is a great option - I think you can't go wrong if you stay here. Every hotel has some pros and cons - of course nothing will be perfect, especially when you try to balance price and quality. You can find better hotels in Rome, I'm certain, but you could also be paying double or triple! I felt this hotel was quite reasonable for Rome, and I had very few complaints (and all are minor).

If you want quaint, charming "old world" feel, this isn't it - but I prefer this kind of hotel: very clean and modern.

There was a clicking sound often in our ceiling - not sure if it was from air vents - we only told them at the end, as it didn't bother us - my wife can sleep through a hurricane, and I sleep with earplugs :)

The breakfast was worth the 10 euros each - fantastic spread, and being able to eat on the beautiful rooftop patio outdoors is wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GadgetNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Excellent hotel in a great location, staff really helpful and friendly and spoke excellent English . Super room with great aircon ,clean and nice bathroom . Breakfast was good and only 10 euros. Overall a good choice

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael226fell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed for 10 days here and loved it. The Hotel was very clean and modern. The staff was helpful and the location was very convienient to walk everywhere. There was a restaurant around the corner called Bar Viminale that was very good and reasonable, it is family owned and they are lovely. We even met a movie star there! If we ever go back we would stay at the IQ again

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUZYQFortWorth_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

my wife and I couldn't have asked for a better location for our 4 night stay in Rome. only a few minutes walk from Termini train station and metro stops. And a short walk to the colosseum, trevi fountain and all the other sights in Rome. the room was large and very comfortable. The rooftop terrace was very nice to relax from the busy city. The staff was wonderful and everyone spoke english. Our only minor complaint would be the advertised laundry room. there is only one washer and one dryer for all the hotel guests. But it was a very minor inconvenience. We will stay here again on our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mobrien2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,959 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
1,396 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,271 in Rome
3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,271 in Rome
2,289 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#40 of 1,271 in Rome
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £87 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing