We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A European La Quinta - for $300/night. yes - that's right.”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #21 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Hill, TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A European La Quinta - for $300/night. yes - that's right.”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My husband and I are staying at our last of 3 nights in Rome ath the iQ Hotel. I read a *lot* of reviews/looked at a lot of sites before booking this one. This is not our first trip to Rome, but it has been a decade since we were here last. That said - I'm a spoiled American, and it always takes me aback when in Europe how much less they get for so much more money. That said - this hotel is *very* clean and new - a big positive. The staff is friendly and helpful - another great positive. The rooms are tiny (like most Roman hotel rooms). But - for the price (I think around 300/night with all the myriad taxes) - it's not any better than a La Quinta back home. I'm not being sarcastic. I'm a fan of La Quinta for the same reasons - clean, comfortable, solid service. The location was decent - not great. Short walking distance to the metro - longer walking distance to any good sites (Trevi Fountain). Would I recommend it? sure. Again - *very* clean/great service. Would I stay here again? probably not - it lacked charm and no views. The rooftop terrace was okay - lacked charm. The same way I wouldn't recommend a tourist new too the states staying at a La Quinta - this is more for the serious traveler just looking for clean and comfortable - not necessarily any charm.

Room Tip: None of the rooms would be likely any different from one another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k-tonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,958
    1,052
    103
    19
    9
See reviews for
1,014
2,154
117
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My wife, 4 year old son and I stayed here in June 2011 for 3 nights. We were very pleased with the room, the friendly staff, and the pick and choose additional services. AND the roof top patio was a nice bonus.

Looked like the place was recently renovated and outfitted with modern furniture and design. So don't expect 'character' or 'charm' but have your expectations exceeded by convenience, services. Also, good location with the < 5 min to Termini Station and underground for getting around.

The roof top patio was great to relax in the evening with a cold beer and snacks. There is small playground which my son enjoyed in the morning and afternoon.

My only gripe (small) was that WiFi was hit and miss and especially poor on the rooftop.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samirshah09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We booked this hotel on our last night in Rome because it is near Termini train station. We payed a very high price but there were not a lot of good hotel available.
The neighborhood is not pretty and does not feel safe. We walked more toward the west to find nicer surrondings.
This hotel is extremely clean and the rooms are big. The bathroom is a good size. There is a great terrace on the roof with self-serving machine for drinks and snacks.
To me, it is not really good value for money because you don't find in this hotel the little ''plus'' that habitually goes with this kind of hotel. The breakfast is not included.
If you want to see Rome and not just travel from or to the airport or the train, I would not choose this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maude_leroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Based on reviews we are glad we chose this hotel.
Loved the roof top terrace, the clean rooms, and
the buffet breakfast.

Staff very helpful.

Great location, especially if you will be leaving Rome by train!

Room Tip: Request a room facing via Firenze as the Opera House is across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, CT
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This was an excellent choice for price and convenience. It was near to the train station where we were picking up a car for the rest of our trip. The rooms and decorations were contemporary, clean and convenient. My only regret was that the beds were a bit hard to our taste, but quite comfortable. Lovely bathrooms. Breakfast was extra and nice, but we used a local shoppe for getting coffee and bread in the morning (right around the corner). Terrific gelato around the corner each evening was very nice, too. Walked to the Pantheon and took cabs to some other spots - Colliseum but could have walked (It was very hot for September). Very helpful staff and I'd recommend highly.

Room Tip: Inner rooms faced a courtyard and were quite dark. Prefer the outside rooms. Hotel on a side stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We just returned from our trip to Italy, and when in Rome we stayed here for 2 nights. From the train station we got lost finding the hotel, but that was lack of proper research, on the way back to the airport at the end of our stay its a total breeze, very easy walk of just a few mins.

It was my husband and I (late 20's) and my parents (mid-60's), and it was great for all four of us. We received early check in for one of the rooms so we were able to store our luggage, refresh and hit the pavement.

PROS: Clean, modern, new, free wifi, beautiful roofdeck, convenient to walk to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, other historic landmarks. Most of the hotel staff was very accommodating (they were great about calling us a taxi when we went to Via Veneto, Vatican City) and when I needed to print our train tickets they let me use the business center free of charge because the reception printer was down. We also found the vending machines to be super cheap/affordable and on almost all the floors ( this came in handy when we needed fresh water/sodas/etc.) AC was great too. We also did laundry one night in the self-service laundry - this was very helpful.

CONS: There's not much happening with a 4 block radius. It's a convenient location to get to/from sites, but not if you want to walk outside your door and have plenty of restaurant options/shopping/cafes. The breakfast is not included - its 10E per person. It is worth it if you like pastries, continental style, especially considering that there aren't a ton of places to eat close by. (There are a few restaurants, don't get me wrong, it's just a limited selection)
The rooms are super small. The bed is super firm. None of these things bothered us, but it's good to just be aware - it's not a bed that you are going to mind getting out of, lol.

Overall, this was a great place for us to stay. We enjoyed our stay, and would stay here again if in Rome. I would recommend this hotel to others, especially if you want a clean, sleek, modern feel. The highlight of this hotel is the roofdeck. Every night we'd go up and share a bottle of wine (also cheap in the vending machines - and good too - who would have thought!?) before dinner. It was beautiful weather, comfortable couches and made for a great start to our evening.

I have some pictures - I will try to post them soon.

Enjoy your time if you chose to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I stayed in IQ hotel for 5 days in August.
Very nice rooms, great breakfast.
Next time in Rome, i'll stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitsos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,675 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,257 in Rome
1,295 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
2,885 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,257 in Rome
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing