We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean and good location”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #22 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Modern, clean and good location”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

The IQ hotel is a brand new nice little hotel located in a quiet side street of the important Via Nazionale at about a 2km walk from most sites except the further distance to the Vatican where the 64 bus on the main street has it's stop to take you there. The rooms are decent in size, modern in furnishing and excellent bathroom quality and everything is well kept in upkeep. We did not include breakfast as we only have a coffee in the morning for which habit Italy is of course THE country pre-eminently. A slight negative point was the centrally regulated temperature which was a bit too low for our need especially in the morning at wake up time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwl-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,911
    1,050
    103
    19
    9
See reviews for
990
2,134
117
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

So we just spent 12 days in Rome (work/fun). We stayed in 4 different hotels, this was by far the best value. That said the rooms were a bit prisonish but stylish, sort of what a white collar prison might look like in the future.

Now the front desk staff; Cezar and Cristian were great!!! They gave us good recommendations and were very friendly. The location was great as well.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRMPBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Great place, great service, nice and clean room, extraordinary locations. It's the best place you can find to stay at Rome. We loved!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardRodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and the hotel was surprisingly very nice. This botique hotel has very nice modern interior, clean and comfortable beds. Location was accessible to any ancient sites, colleseum, roman forum, etc. neighborhood was also safe its very near Via Nationale, lots of shops and restaurants nearby. What I really like with this hotel is its remarkable service. I need to print some documents I left, and the person in charge at the front desk (Christian) gladly ask me to email it to them and they'll print it or me, free of charge! :) Definitely will stay here again!   

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Stayed in a double room for 3 nights during our first stop in Italy. It's not too far from Termini, which makes transit a breeze. The front desk was efficient and our room on the 4th floor was ready for us at 11am. Our room has a balcony that overlooks Teatro dell'Opera and a vending machine that sells basic necessity aroud the corner.

On the first floor, there is a washer and dryer that cost 3 eur per cycle. If you have a big load, you might need two cycles for the dryer, which I did. I read the instructions closely, but somehow the second dry cycle didn't work as expected and I had to call the front desk, who sent up a grumpy porter who asked me "Did you read the instructions?" in a not so friendly tone. Umm, yeah I did, which is why the first dry cycle worked without a glitch. Anyway, he came back up again and loaded the machine and we are back in business.

The 5th floor has an awesome alcohol vending machine - champagne, wine, beer, plastic cups/glasses are widely available. A separate coffee machine and snacks machine are in the same area. You can get your drinks and walk out to the rooftop seating area if weather permits. It's a very cozy area to unwind and relax before dinner. We utilized the gym on the second floor once during our stay. It's very compact - 3 treadmills, several bike stations, weights and a stairmaster.

During the stay, we hopped on the 64 bus multiple times on Via Nationale (2 mins walk) to a lot of the attractions (it goes all the way to St Peter's Basilica). Also, the Republica station is only 3 mins walk away but there were constructions going on which shuts down the metro system at 9pm most days. Overall, great stay and couldn't ask for a better hotel to kick start our trip!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I stayed for five nights recently at this hotel, it was easy to find from the Termini on foot in the dark. Republica metro station is two minutes walk away and there is a bus stop at the junction of Via Firenze and Via Nationale. I booked a small Double Room which was a good size and overlooked the courtyard, it was quiet, cosy and very clean and well maintained during the course of my stay. I had the buffet breakfast every morning and found it to be just the right start for a day's sightseeing.
The Roof Terrace is a nice place to relax with a glass of wine and some nibbles when you return to the hotel.
All the staff were obliging and polite and spoke excellent English.
I ate at Piccolo Buco on a number of occasions, this is a restaurant near the Trevi Fountain, it is only a five minute walk from Barberini Metro station,the food was excellent and not expensive and the house wine was very good, the host Lucca is charming and helpful, I would recommend this place.
If you are near the Pantheon, pay a visit to the Tazza D'Oro Coffee Shop, this is a Rome institution serving excellent coffee, don't forget to go to the Cashier first and pay for your drink, he will give you a ticket to take to the counter and the Barista will make your coffee. Great atmosphere!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank di947red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

excellent hotel. room cosy and quiet. service top class, staff really nice and helpful.breakfast very good. location perfect. would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dri44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,614 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,256 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,256 in Rome
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,256 in Rome
2,861 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#72 of 1,256 in Rome
2,597 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing