We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean and forward thinking”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #19 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Thanks for pointing us to the iQ Hotel Rome.

It's a very efficient, modern, quiet and friendly hotel, about 4 blocks from the bus and rail terminus. Not far to pull bags as a new arrival without your wits about you.

Over our two day stay we had three problems with our room. Firstly no heating, then only bathroom towel rail heating, then a constant whine in our room. Each was quickly dealt with when we reported the problems and gradually all settled. The hotel was full, and we had a disabled visitor room as that was the only room left. Maybe it had been closed a while.

We slept very comfortably in our clean and modern room. Safe provided.

Others have mentioned the sensible facilities, be it vending machines down to small bottles of wine... the small gym/sauna.... washing facilities etc.

But as people have mentioned, breakfast is the key. It's served on the top floor - roof terrace available in summer. Huge range of cereals, meats, cheeses, hot buffet, juices, fruit, coffee, lovely cakes. At €10 a person it's not a big hit to make your mind up on the day if you choose - but well well worth it.

The subway is only a couple of blocks away so getting to the Vatican, Colosseum, Spanish Steps is easy. A main shopping street is just at the end of the block as well.

All in all, very central, very clean, very polite, very quiet and very convenient.

If you're tired on arrival like we were, try Bertizello for a cosy pizza or pasta. We went both nights and had excellent meals at a great price. See separate review, but thank to the iQ for our stay, and that dining recommendation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NKGofHOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,630 - 2,636 of 4,364 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed there for my 50th Birthday city break and the IQ hotel was great. One of few modern hotels with clean room and spacious bathroom. Vending machines a great idea and great prices - worked well for post sightseeing relaxing spell on roof terrace. Good value & good choice buffet breakfast to set you up for the day. Not a bad thing to say about the IQ,

Room Tip: Suspect end of corridor rooms are more spacious than some others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We picked this hotel on the basis of: 1) Rick Steves, 2) Trip Adv ratings/comments and 3) Ability to accommodate family of four. Highlights of the hotel:

1. New and clean.
2. Sharp contemporary design.
3. Excellent location near Metro
4. Quiet for being in the middle of everything.
5. Staff quite helpful.
6. Breakfast on 5th floor great way to start day.

Room Tip: Some rooms face inside as opposed to the street. We had street facing but noise very manageable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBPinotFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed for 5 nights (2 couples in 2 rooms) and thought the hotel was good -- I would rebook it without hesitation. The main plus points are clean, modern rooms (I like a firm bed and ours was perfect), excellent breakfast and friendly staff. My only negatives are very minor: the internet arrangement is convoluted -- you need to log in every time you come back to the hotel which I thought was a minor irritation. Also, the concept is unusual -- there's no hotel bar and you don't really interact with other guests like you might in a more conventional hotel. Whether this annoys you or not depends on your own personality I suppose! Any interaction with the staff found them to be polite and knowledgable so I have no difficulty recommending it to prospective Rome visitors.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and had a better room that the ground floor room our friends got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Got an idea to visit Italy 3 years ago. Then 6 moth ago started planning my vacation, because actually persuaded my boss to give me a week off. Then I found one website - Economybookings.com. It's a car broker, but that wasn't the fact, that helped me - there were routs around some great places... and for happy me (and my family) found there a nice trip around Rome! So, I bought my tickets and went to my dream-city or city of my dreams... and it was LEGENDARY! Visited a lot of great places like Campo dei Fiori, The magical Trevi fountain (oh... my wife and me just loved it! Also threw a coin to be back))) and, of course, The Colosseum! We've spent there a week (5 days actually)... and all of these days we've stayed here, in iQ Hotel Roma! Not so expensive and with very good service. Actually if we're coming back - we'll stay here too. Don't know what to say more about this hotel - we just liked it - just like at home)) And, of course, we want to get back as soon, as it will be possible. I know, that there are a lot of reviews like mine, but this trip was just WONDERFUL!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexM458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We chose this hotel based upon the strength of the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We stayed in this hotel for four nights in March 2011. Upon arrival, we were informed that there was a problem with our room, and we would be "upgraded" to their sister hotel which was around the corner, for the first night of our stay. We were slightly concerned at this, but the staff assured us that we would like the "premium" hotel that they were providing. As it turns out, the hotel was fantastic, and we had no further problems after this first night.

The rooms weren't massive, but they were of an adequate size for what we needed them for. They were of a modern decor, and very clean and tidy each day. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was very modern also, and extremely clean. The location of the hotel is perfect, very to close to Via Nationale, which is a prime location for most sight seeing opportunities - 5-10 minute walk to Colosseum, Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon. Due to being relocated for the first night (which was no inconvenience to us), we were upgraded to free breakfast each day for the remainder of our stay, which was a very nice touch. The breakfast is typical Continental breakfast buffet style, which was very nice.

Perhaps one of the best features of this hotel, was the rooftop terrace. It has plenty of comfy chairs/sofas, and also has a vending machine stocked with very reasonably priced alcoholic/soft drinks and food, such as sandwiches and snacks. We found this to be a great feature, and somewhere very nice to relax after dinner, as it was always open and quiet.

Overall, a great hotel and we will definitely return when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marklgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

The IQ hotel is a brand new nice little hotel located in a quiet side street of the important Via Nazionale at about a 2km walk from most sites except the further distance to the Vatican where the 64 bus on the main street has it's stop to take you there. The rooms are decent in size, modern in furnishing and excellent bathroom quality and everything is well kept in upkeep. We did not include breakfast as we only have a coffee in the morning for which habit Italy is of course THE country pre-eminently. A slight negative point was the centrally regulated temperature which was a bit too low for our need especially in the morning at wake up time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwl-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,018 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,272 in Rome
1,413 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,272 in Rome
3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,272 in Rome
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £80 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing