We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic relaxed hotel - good with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #23 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic relaxed hotel - good with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Would recommend this hotel - its clean, spacious, great location - we walked to Trevi Fountain and Colosseum and Piazza Venezia - all around from here with kids. Very helpful, friendly staff. Lovely roof terrace with play area. Breakfast is good too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleezoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,815
    1,034
    102
    19
    9
See reviews for
964
2,072
115
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed a week in this hotel. Great location (right next to the Opera House and only a 7 - 10 minute walk from Termini Station), friendly and knowledgeable concierge, free internet, coin-operated washing and drying machines - everything that we needed, and nothing that we didn't! We didn't try the breakfast (it wasn't included in our room rate) but the little cafe up the road (just across from the Opera House) was perfect for our morning's espresso and breakfast.

Thanks for a wonderful stay - we'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the washing machines / dryers (I can't remember what level the laundry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels_with_Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed at IQ in late November 2011. This is a new, modern, clean, and centrally located hotel that has all you need to be your home base to explore Roma. The staff was very friendly, and always willing to help with a smile. Bathrooms were pretty big when compared to other european hotels, our room was a triple, and it included a jacuzzi tub which you don't see much in hotels in central Roma. Breakfast was plentiful, with a nice continental/American style menu.
The hotel is very close to the metro station which is crowded, but takes you anywhere in Rome in minutes. We walked to Trevi fountain both nights we were there...about a 10 min walk. Vending machines stocked with wine and beer was nice. This is a self-service hotel, so if you prefer to be serviced hand and foot this is not the hotel for you. It was great for us, since we did not come to relax in Rome, but to explore this great city. We were so tired at the end of the day that all we wanted was to shower and sleep. Book this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed at the iQ in early October. This is a very chic modern hotel as shown on their website. We didn't mind the fact that it wasn't decorated in a Roman motif. We wanted a reasonably nice sized room, which we got. The rooms a simple but comfy. We didn't have the breakfast included and didn't end up eating breakfast there but we checked it out and it looked like a typical buffet with hot/cold selections. We opted for pastries and coffee at a coffee bar/liquor store just on the other side of the opera house. Great coffee.

Some points:
1. Clean, spacious rooms
2. Good wifi
3. Quiet location about 10 minutes from Termini train station
4. About 25 minute walk to Coloseum, same for Trevi fountain. We're walkers so we walked everywhere. Even back from the Vatican.
5. Friendly staff

Plenty of restaurants nearby. We loved La Taverna dei Monti about a 8-10 minute walk away. Great food at reasonable prices with complimentary biscotti and limoncello after dinner. See reviews for this place on Tripadvisor.

We wouldn't hesistate to stay here again or recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ic2ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel before and after our cruise in October 2011. It's modern, new and clean. It was convenient to have a washer and dryer in the hotel, the washer also already comes with detergent built in. The wi-fi worked well most of the time except when it rained the service would intermittently not work. The location was close to shops but a little bit longer of a walk to sites. Our room overlooked the street and it had a small balcony you could walk out on. My only complaint is that the beds were a little on the hard side.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLcmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Thanks for pointing us to the iQ Hotel Rome.

It's a very efficient, modern, quiet and friendly hotel, about 4 blocks from the bus and rail terminus. Not far to pull bags as a new arrival without your wits about you.

Over our two day stay we had three problems with our room. Firstly no heating, then only bathroom towel rail heating, then a constant whine in our room. Each was quickly dealt with when we reported the problems and gradually all settled. The hotel was full, and we had a disabled visitor room as that was the only room left. Maybe it had been closed a while.

We slept very comfortably in our clean and modern room. Safe provided.

Others have mentioned the sensible facilities, be it vending machines down to small bottles of wine... the small gym/sauna.... washing facilities etc.

But as people have mentioned, breakfast is the key. It's served on the top floor - roof terrace available in summer. Huge range of cereals, meats, cheeses, hot buffet, juices, fruit, coffee, lovely cakes. At €10 a person it's not a big hit to make your mind up on the day if you choose - but well well worth it.

The subway is only a couple of blocks away so getting to the Vatican, Colosseum, Spanish Steps is easy. A main shopping street is just at the end of the block as well.

All in all, very central, very clean, very polite, very quiet and very convenient.

If you're tired on arrival like we were, try Bertizello for a cosy pizza or pasta. We went both nights and had excellent meals at a great price. See separate review, but thank to the iQ for our stay, and that dining recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NKGofHOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed there for my 50th Birthday city break and the IQ hotel was great. One of few modern hotels with clean room and spacious bathroom. Vending machines a great idea and great prices - worked well for post sightseeing relaxing spell on roof terrace. Good value & good choice buffet breakfast to set you up for the day. Not a bad thing to say about the IQ,

Room Tip: Suspect end of corridor rooms are more spacious than some others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#18 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing