We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #21 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This is a very nice hotel with a modern feel. Staff was very friendly and spoke English very well. Rooms are sufficient in size with complementary WiFi. Breakfast buffet proved to be a good value. Hotell location was very convenient. We would hightly recomend staying here.

Room Tip: Beds are little firm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NRGRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,559 - 2,565 of 4,281 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2011

Stayed at this hotel in November for our honeymoon. I knew when I booked it that it was modern and not grand or traditional like a lot of hotels in Rome but we both loved it! the reception staff were very helpful when we checked in and out and the entire hotel is spotless. We stayed in room 101 which had a small balcony, very good for observing a little bit of life. The room was spacious enough for two but the bathroom was really generous with seperate bath and shower.

We paid extra for the breakfast which we both enjoyed although I stuck the the pastries. If you're from the UK and expecting a 'full English' then you will find the breakfast to be very European but it was plentiful and available until half ten which is a bonus.

The hotel is centrally located as you can walk to all the main sites including the Coloseum and the Trevi Fountain. There are plenty of restaurants nearby also and the termini station is very close. We even walked to the Vatican which takes about 40 mins but as it was 20 degrees C and sunny when we were there the walk was lovely.

However, the main selling point for us was the rooftop terrace. We took other travellers advice and took our blanket up there one night to enjoy some Frascati al fresco. The vending machine is brilliant and so cheap too, perfect for before or after dinner. The only way this hotel could be improved is if there were onsite facilities for dinner but walking around the nearby streets looking for a good place to stop was part of the charm of our visit.

The staff were very efficient during check-out and outlined all the options for us to get back to the airport. There is also a luggage room which is attended so a bellboy stows the bags for you. Not a hugely important detail but made the trip slightly more pleasant.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Rome.

Room Tip: Room 101 is convenient and has a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathrynjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Nice and modern hotel perfectly located in the city center. Reasonable quality/money approach. Professional and ready-to-help staff. Well-balanced and appropriate solution for smokers and non-smokers.Two small problems worthwhile considering: small leakage under the washbasin and slow WiFi that is quite frustrating. In all other respects - one of the best hotels I've used to stay which really deserves to be recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spiderman1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Rome was our last city stop in our most recent Italian trip. We decided to book at IQ Hotel Roma because friends said it was modern, clean and had free wifi. They failed to mention that it was also near the Metro- this made sight seeing even more convenient. Fontana di Trevi was just a stop away. While the Vatican museum was just 5 stops away.
Check in was easy and hassle free. You get access to the internet for all your devices (my husband and I had an iphone and a laptop each). We opted not to take breakfast here (quite pricey at 10 euros each) but it was not a problem since there are so many nice, quaint coffee shops nearby.
We actually walked from the Termini to the hotel- another plus. I would recommend this hotel to travelers who don't mind taking the Metro instead of being right in the center of everything.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingmama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

After reading various reviews we chose Hotel IQ and couldn't of been happier.

Upon arrival we were greeted at reception by a very friendly and helpful member of staff. We were showed to our room and when we walked in were pleasantly surprised how spacious and nice the room was. Extremely modern Hotel overall.

We had a king size bed which was huge and the bathroom had a massive shower which was really good. Our sheets and towels were changed daily. Every time we came back to the room from a day out it was spotless.

On every floor there are vending machines that sell snacks/drinks which are really useful. On the top floor the vending machine sells alcohol which is really cheap compared to the bars around Rome. You can relax on the same floor on the seated rooftop terrace they have. There are heaters out there too.

Every tourist site is within walking distance. You can get cabs from site to site but if you walk around your come across some real gems the city has to offer oppose to everything around the touristy areas.

Food and drink as you would expect costs more around the main attractions. Away from the tourists areas are your best bet as your find hundreds of little authentic Italian streets with local bars and restaurants which make you get a feel for the real city of Rome.

If you are flying into Fiumicino airport get a train known as the Leonardo Express to Termini. Half the price of a cab. Takes around 30mins.

I highly recommend staying at Hotel IQ

Room Tip: Courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

For those who seek for a modern standard hotel, this is the one! Free internet on a very high speed level. Breakfast good (very good bacon!). Location very good.
For those, who seek an on site hotel restoran or at least a bar, there is none. It is a different type of hotel, with vending machines for everything: from coffee to toothpaste (btw. with reasonable prices).
Modern garage for parking just beneath the hotel.
We took this hotel because of a high rating at tripadvisor, and indeed, IQ is worth its top position!
It offers a lot of privacy, which is often not available even at 5-star hotels.
Would definately go back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I booked this hotel for a 4 night stay in Rome based on trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed. We stayed in a triple room where the double was made from two beds pushed together but u couldn't tell. The beds are firm which they seem to prefer in Europe. After mentioning this to reception they put on a foam topper. Bliss. The buffet was good although quiet so staff stood around and watched us eat. Awkward. Other big pluses are the free wi fi, laundry and big bathrooms. If IQ were a chain we would stay with them all through Italy

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webbsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#37 of 1,269 in Rome
1,377 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,865 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#50 of 1,269 in Rome
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#40 of 1,269 in Rome
942 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,269 in Rome
2,996 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £103 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing