We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #21 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed at IQ in July and can thoroughly recommend. Very modern, clean with friendly staff and super location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,775
    1,028
    101
    19
    9
See reviews for
952
2,042
115
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our family of three stayed at the IQ for six nights in early July 2012. We had been swayed by the excellent reviews on TA and were ecstatic to find them true. Some observations:
Location: close to Termini and Via Nazionale. Far enough away from the seediness, but close enough to be convenient both for the train station and for the subway. The Colesseo and Forum were a brisk 15 minute walk, the Trevi Fountain and Spanish steps about 21 minutes.
Style: clean rooms, with very spacious bathrooms. Simple art on the walls. Clean sheets.
Extras: so many to count. A rooftop garden with comfortable padded wicker chairs and benches. A 120 to 240 V converter in the bathroom. The vending machines that serve wine, beer, coolers, Prosecco, Champagne, and even plastic flutes to drink from. The washing machine and dryer. The friendly front office staff. A extensive ( but expensive) buffet breakfast.
What a great hotel, and as we tossed our three coins in the fountain, IQ is the hotel where we'll stay on our return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrispbridgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, GA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I just returned from 4 nights at the IQ and had a great stay. The hotel is in a convenient location near ATM's, restaurants, a small but very useful grocery, souvenir shops and is easy walking to Termini and Republica rail/subway stations. Of course it's easy to find on maps as well as it's across the street from the Opera.

The rooms are a good decent size, clean, and I had a nice balcony overlooking the street to get a feeling of the neighborhood. In the heat of the Roman summer, I really enjoyed having a fridge in the room to keep drinks and fruit for my return from sightseeing.

The bathroom was very nice. Shower was small, but usable, even for a big girl like me.

The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Make sure to ask for the trick to getting the non-Italian language TV stations.

Definitely use the rooftop deck in the evenings and enjoy some refreshing breezes and shade. You can grab some snacks from the vending machines at the entrance to the deck.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whovian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

This is a 4 star hotel with a twist. The lobby area is small and compact and the "bar" is a self service vending machine. So if you are looking for a traditional hotel please be aware. There are also self service laundry facilities, a gym and sauna.

The hotel is situated right next to the Opera House on a quiet street. It's close to the termini station for the train to the airport, but far enough away from the station which is not the nicest part of rome at night.

Each floor has it's own vending machines which are fairly priced. A bottle of water was 70 cents and a bottle of premium beer 2.50. There is a room fridge for you to keep those items cool or you can go and sit out on the roof terrace.

We had a small room that was compact but very well designed. It was spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable and the shower was excellent.

Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was good value for money at 10 euros, this included "American" hot breakfast and itallian pastries, cold meats etc.

Wifi is free throughout the hotel, however it can be slow at times.

The only compliant I had was that the rooms were not particularly well sound proofed so you did hear other people moving about.

Overall I thought that IQ hotel offered excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baggie_Bird82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

My son (14) and I stayed for three nights just after Easter on a visit to see the sights of Rome. The hotel has an unusual approach to services which worked well for us. Our room was modern and cleanly decorated, comfortable & functional. Close to the train station - a ten minute walk. There is free WIFI which works well. The hotel breakfast is ok - but having tried once we didn't try again; and the service mode (very reasonably priced vending machines and a roof terrace where you can have a drink al fresco and play table football) worked for us. I'd recommend for family/friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Dickie_LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Excellent location, friendly quick service. Will go back definitely. Outstanding breakfast buffet with a lot of choices, though the coffee out of the machine is not that great

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Srini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed at IQ Roma for three nights and enjoyed our stay. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The hotel is not too far away from the train station or walking distance from any significant tourist spots like trevi fountain and the colosseum. The entertainment area on the rooftop was gorgeous and like most people have mentioned the vending machines provide everything you need at cheap prices. Staff were always friendly and helpful booking us on various tours (take a night tour its gorgeous but not the one with dinner in travestere. The food was terrible or just do the tour only). Staff also booked our taxi to the airport for only 45 euro so we were delighted with the assistance we received. The only downfall was that our room was on the side by the opera house and they had a concert on one night so it was very loud with a huge crowd cheering. Perhaps ask for a room on the other side of the hotel if you want peace and quiet. Overall for the value I would definitely recommend and we will definitely come back and stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,370 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia and Priceline so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing