We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #21 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Monaca, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed at the Hotel iQ at the end of September. There were three adults. It was modern, clean, and roomy. The front desk was very helpful if we needed anything. The room was large by European Standards. In our room, there was a king and single bed. They were a bit hard though. The designer maximized storage areas to include shelves under the bed and a bench like piece of furniture that held two large suitcases. It was nice to have a refrigerator to store bottles of water etc. The bathroom had a double sink, separate bath tub with a shower and another separate shower stall. Over the bath tub, there was a pull out laundry line to hang clothes on if needed. As others have stated, there is a laundry area with one washer and one dryer. It also has an iron and ironing board. I never thought I would wash clothes while in Rome, but it came in handy since the temperatures were quite hot during our stay. We ended up washing two loads of clothes. There was a bank right next door to the hotel which we used the ATM. Much cheaper than using an exchange. If you turn left out of the hotel and walk a block or two, you come upon one of Rome’s fruit stands. It was convenient to grab a piece of fruit for breakfast. There are also restaurants, shops and even a McDonalds near the fruit stand. If you turn right out of the hotel and a left at the corner, you walk a few blocks and are at the Termini Station. Very convenient if you are taking the train to other cities. Beware, there are “twenty something” age people in the train station who offer to “help” you but want money. You can see there are well dressed and place themselves strategically in the station. All in all, the hotel was in a nice location, clean, modern, and helpful staff. I would stay again and recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joni010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,959
    1,052
    103
    19
    9
See reviews for
1,015
2,154
117
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We found this hotel to be clean, reasonably priced, and in a great location for exploring the city. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was not large, but designed well and comfortable. We liked the heated towel racks in the bathroom. I would stay here again and recommend it to visitors to Rome..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I took my girlfriend (now fiance!) to Rome, staying at the IQ Roma for 4 nights at the end of October 2012. The hotel was very clean and friendly with superb location: we walked everywhere from Trevi Fountain (10 mins) to Vatican City, which took no more than 40 mins brisk walk. The bedroom was spacious with a nice large bathroom and bath tub (for 2!), the only downside was the fact you couldn't make a cup of tea/ coffee in the bedroom, that there was no where to get a decent coffee in the hotel unless at breakfast time and considering you're staying in Rome you'd expect to find hotel staff happy to provide you with a decent espresso when required.
One or two other reviews on here state that the bed was a bit hard and we'd also agree with that, but overall had a very enjoyable stay and engagement!

Room Tip: Ask for a bath tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxlucybath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

Found the hotel very clean and breakfast was nice. Staff was very friendly. Close to train and subway line. However we could not get the air condition to turn on in our room, so it was very warm at night. Tried to open the window, but too much street noise. Also the Internet was not working half the time and when it was, it was really slow.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Sirs,

We are glad to learn that you have found our Staff to be very friendly and the cleanness of the rooms to be of high quality. It is always very important to us to learn what our Guests think about our Property so to continue improving daily.

As for the air-conditioning in the room, we are sorry that we were not informed about your distress during your stay. Unfortunately our cooling and heating systems have to work separately. During summer only the air-conditioning cooling system is switched on while in winter only the heating is. Both systems are centralized for the entire Hotel, however the Guests may vary the temperature of some degrees directly from the rooms. During the year we normally choose when switching on and off one of the systems basing our decision not only on the weather change but also on what our Guests say. During November, which is still a mid season in Rome, you may find some very warm days and some very cold ones. Since some Guests had complained about being cold we have decided to switch on the heating system in the hotel. However we do understand that not all Guests feel the same temperature, therefore we always have small coolers and heaters available for those which require them.
Regarding the noise from the street, we are sorry to hear that you have found it to be distressful. Not many of our Guests complain about it, being iQ tacked away from the main via Nazionale, however, as for the heating of the room, we understand that each Guest has a different need and habit. This is why we always suggest annotating on the reservation what kind of accommodation a Guest prefers so we will try assigning an internal room, depending on availability, to those who request a quiet accommodation.

Coming to the internet connection, we would like to apologize for this matter. We are currently undertaking some change in our network connection so that our internet will be faster and we are sorry if this kind of adjustments are causing some temporary problems with the Wi-Fi. However, for any particular and urgent need, we also have a cabled business centre were Guest may use the internet 24h a day.

We always remain at our Guests complete disposal for any further explanation and assistance they might require.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

IQ Hotel Roma is a clean, modern hotel centrally located to all the historical sites and about a block away from termini station. The hotel staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful. Anytime we needed a taxi they would call for us and in 3 minutes or less the taxi arrived, amazing! Taxi's were a reasonable expense in Rome; the average we spent is about 10 Euros.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

clean and modern hotel, friendly and helpful staff, good location (< 1km from Termini station), has sauna and fitness room free of charge, breakfast is not included in the price, our room faced the Opera house where it may get a bit noisy at night if you leave your window open, the hotel lacks some personality and character but I would certainly come back

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlainGrillaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. We were lucky enough to get a very spacious 3-bed room although there were only 2 of us. We liked things like the open smoking spaces on each floor, the great roof terrace (although it rained when we visited there is an awning to make it usable), the self-service laundry, the vending machines for water, wine, beer, etc and the spa and gym. It's a really user-friendly hotel without the need for dozens of staff to keep it going. The breakfast was good and the reception staff were excellent and printed out our boarding passes for the return journey, sorted out a car for the early start and provided a take-away breakfast. The location is good - only 7 minutes from the train station and 12 to the Forum. The only down-side was that the beds are a little firm.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoingMyBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,676 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,258 in Rome
1,296 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,258 in Rome
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing