We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #20 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Had a great 3 night stay at this hotel at the end of Nov 2012. It's very new and everything is clean and modern. Genius idea to use vending machines for drinks/snacks/toiletries etc. and these items are very reasonably priced - we used to buy our bottled water here before we went out as it was cheaper than the shops! The hotel has a lovely heated roof terrace which seemed to be open all the time we were there.
It is about a 25 minute walk intor the historic centre of rome, but there is a metro stn five minutes walk away.
Only issue we had were the single beds - tiny beds and hard mattresses - which i managed to get round by using a thick blanket between the sheet and mattress and made it a lot more comfortable to sleep on,
Despite that I would definetly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,117 - 2,123 of 4,311 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed at iQ for 3 nights in Nov 2012. The location of the hotel is its strength. Close to Termini (the train station) and 2 subway lines right in the centre of many of Rome's top attractions. Its location is the primary attraction of staying here. The staff at the hotel were polite and helpful when we requested information or required reservations at restaurants. The rooms were clean and reasonably sized for a city hotel. It reminded me of a chain hotel (Day's Inn, Holiday Inn - well, the good ones) in the US with smaller rooms, vending machines for drinks and snacks on each floor, ok free wifi service and limited laundry facilities (one coin operated washer and one dryer). Everything works, facilities functional and reasonably good value for a chain hotel like establishment. If you are looking for a hotel with character, top notch concierge services, a place to lounge around after a day of walkabout, this is NOT the hotel for you. For our purposes, this hotel works for its location, its cleanliness and its reasonable (for Rome) pricing.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank RVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in Nov. Clean, modern hotel, with mini fridge in the room. Bed a bit firm. Friendly staff. It's well located: next to the Opera House, easy access to Termini station to/from airport on Leonardo Express, and the Republica metro station. Many of the tourist sites are also walkable. We didn't sign up for the breakfast; instead we got pastries from Rigoli (Via dello Statuto 60), got coffee from the vending machine and enjoyed the meal at the 5th floor roof deck. Watch out for pickpockets on crowded bus - they work really fast!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigapoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed at the iQ in Rome in Oct. 2012 for 2 nights, then at Hotel Sonya in Rome for 2 nights:
Room size and amenities was about par, but Sonya offered complimentary breakfast and was half the price. The one plus for iQ was that it had laundry room - 1 small washer, 1 small dryer: each was 3 euro and not easy to operate, but the hotel did send the maintenance man each time to make it work, get extra coins when lost, etc. Both were clean and within a block of one another, close to transportation, good dining and interesting places to stroll around. There are many hotels in this area, so I would stay at Sonya next time or another like it, but not iQ Hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to have a bit more room, like to be able to open suitcases, etc. find another location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John-Kingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Guest Relations Manager at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to writing a review on our property.

We read your comparative review with interest and we would like to comment on your views.
We will stick to the facts, as we cannot comment on Sonya Hotel’s features and services, but we believe that the fact that they are classified at the 114th place for hotels in Rome, in this very website, and that we hold the 15th place for guests’ preferences, sets us apart in a significant way.

For the past two years we have consolidated ourselves as an innovative alternative in the Roman hospitality scene, offering our guests the best value for money and providing them with modern and state-of-the-art facilities in a central location within Rome’s downtown.
The iQ Hotel offers its guests a free gym and sauna, free wireless internet, a lovely roof terrace overlooking the Opera House, coin-operated washing and drying machines, a well-equipped business centre, as well as vending machines where one can purchase the essentials from toiletries to wine, at affordable prices. There is also a rich and varied breakfast buffet that can be purchased separately, either on the moment of booking or while at the hotel, and this is an option that guests normally consider worth taking.
We will not try and build our case against Sonya Hotel, but being a 3-star structure as it is and not offering the services we offer we think that the price difference you mention is somehow justified. However, we respect entirely your opinions and sincerely welcome your feedback.

We would just like to take the opportunity to clarify the issue with the washing/ drying machines. As we mentioned before, these are coin-operated devices with clearly visible instructions that need to be followed to make sure they function without problems. Now, we are not sure what was the specific problem you encountered, but sometimes guests open the drying/ washing machines while these are still working to, say, add a garment, and then maintenance need to be called as the machine does not restart on its own. Our maintenance team is always happy to intervene and assist guests who find it hard to operate these machines, or for any other issues they might encounter.

Lastly, this is the first time that a guest mentions that there was no space to open a suitcase in the room. All our rooms are designed having in mind the comfort of our guests and were projected to make the best use of the available space. We guess it all depends on the size and number of suitcases our guests might have, but we can assure you we never had a guest complaining about not being able to open their luggage in the room.

Again, thank you for your feedback from all of us at iQ Hotel – Roma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in mid November. This hotel has everything you could possibly need. It has vending machines with not just beverages and sandwiches but also one with convenience items like moisturizer, nail cutter, ear buds etc. Water is a mere 70 cents ! Even cheaper than outside. They have a coffee machine, ice machine, microwave and even a laundry room where you can wash for 3 euros and dry for another 3. Very convenient ! The hotel is about a 7 minute walk from termini and close to bus stations. You could even walk to most of the attractions. The opera is right opposite the hotel ! The rooms are very well done and extremely spacious. Modern with all amenities. We got a room with a balcony - and was facing the opera. If we opened the balcony door in the evenings we could hear music from the opera which was very nice ! But no noise creeped in with the door shut. We walked around the area even at 10-11pm in the night and it was very safe. Its 2 mins from Via Natzionale street that is very good for shopping. My only complaint was that the staff doesn't really make any effort to converse. We arrived at 8am in the morning which was obviously too early for check in so we left our luggage with them and were told to come back by 1pm. We did and were asked to take a seat while they checked on the status. We weren't given any feedback for the next 30 mins or so while the staff engaged in conversation with other customers. Only upon asking again were we told that our room was ready. This wouldn't have bothered me otherwise but we were really exhausted from the 8 hour long flight and the 5 hour wait to get to a room - it would've been nice if the staff had realized that and made sure we were sent to the room as soon as it was ready instead of making us wait unnecessarily. Other than this small issue, everything else went smooth. Didnt really interact with the staff after that. All in all..great stay ! Dont hesitate to book !

Room Tip: We had room 414 and it was pretty great ! Spacious and with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelight504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The IQ hotel was conviently located a short 5 minute walk from the train/bus station (that is if you read maps better than my sister and I) and you can get a bus from the airport for 5 euros, (turn right as you exit the airport).

The hotel is then only a 5-10 minute stroll to the main attractions such as the Forum and Coloseum.

The rooms were surprisingly large and comfortable and very clean. Bigger towels are always on my wish list. You can chill out on your return on the terrace bar with an inexspensive bottle of wine from the vending machines. The thought of vending machines was a little unnerving at first, but I actually found it an easy, convenient and inexspensive alternative to the minibar. There was still a fridge in the room for you place your purchases in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snobbybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Very nice budget hotel, with touch of comfort. The room is very nice the bath room modern. The vending machine with snacks and water useful and cheap price. Infact cheaper then in the street vendor. The Staffs seem friendly.

Not far from Train station, and walk down to All sight seeing in Rome.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayvind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,927 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,271 in Rome
1,392 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,271 in Rome
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#40 of 1,271 in Rome
955 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,271 in Rome
3,026 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £93 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing