We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“next time I'll leave cash at the front desk, not in the room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #23 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“next time I'll leave cash at the front desk, not in the room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Although the rate averaged €150 per night, I would stay here again if I ever return to Rome.
The front desk staff kindly printed my RyanAir ticket to Spain.
Dec. 26-29th, 2012 was my first stay in a hotel in Europe.
IMO the rooms aren't as secure as those I've stayed at in Asia.
BTW: whichever charming staff member took my cash, left my smart phone & tablet.
My room number was 504 & I have learned my lesson well.

Room Tip: Tempting as it is to leave the balcony door open at night, note that the divisions between rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LotsToLearn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Sir,

We have to admit our surprise at your review. As far as we are concerned we did not receive this kind of complain from you when at the hotel. If you feel that you have been robbed while staying with us we have to admit we are startled that you have not even attempted to either speak with the Management or present a formal police notification regarding this issue. The accusations you are now making towards a member of our staff are extremely serious especially if brought forward without proof. Our Hotel has implemented all the security systems that are mandatory by law. Furthermore, all rooms are equipped with a coded safe which only the Guest can open, therefore in case your cash was placed there, there is no way that a member of staff would have been able to access it without your code. Also, in case a Guest feels the need for an even more secure location for their goods, there are other safes located near the reception desk which are under surveillance 24h a day.

As for the balconies we have to admit that this is the first time that a Guest expresses his concern about them. All our balconies and windows have been realized in such a manner that would allow as much light as possible to enter the rooms. Furthermore, when refurbishing the building we had to keep the original structure as it already was. The fact that a Guest from another room would think about climbing over the 5th floor balconies to reach another occupied room seemed an extremely remote possibility. Our security policies normally focus on blocking external trespassers; we greatly care about our Guests safety and considering our Guests to be thieves themselves it is not our common attitude. Said this, we are always interested in our Guests’ opinions and we will look into the matter to add further security measures.

Finally, we strongly underline the fact that nobody from our staff would commit a theft and the fact that you have decided to write a public complain without providing any proof instead of contacting us directly during your stay leaves us bewildered about the whole issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,814
    1,034
    102
    19
    9
See reviews for
963
2,072
115
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Great hotel - very clean, very quiet, central city location near subway & Termini Sta. Reception was excellent, breakfast top notch, and hotel amenities were terrific. Good restaurants nearby and having the Opera House right across a small street was music to our ears!!! Two small nits: very few drawers for unpacking and no comfy chair to sit in (only a small desk chair). Wifi was spotty in the room but the lobby was comfy and had good wifi access along with a small bar. Beautiful patio on the roof for cocktails and apps during the summer (we were there late November). Loved it and will return on our next visit to Rome!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel around New Years, the hotel was great and our room (small double) was massive !.
Location is perfect, Colosseum, Trevi fountain all around 15 mins walk. Great restaurants located near hotel. There was an ATM right next door to the hotel too.

Staff were very friendly too ! I would recommend this hotel for location and service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed Hotel IQ. Modern, clean, good location & outstanding staff. The rooms were spacious & modern. Very close to Termini which is convenient. I travel internationally very frequently and have high standards - and this hotel met them & more.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ucaimaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Great location, very near to railway station and one can easily walk to all major attractions. A modern hotel and very clean! The front desk staff were very friendly. We had any issue with hot water in the shower, the staff took immedaite action! I recommend this hotel and would like to return again!

Room Tip: Look for Corner Suite, large room and has 2 beds, a King and a Full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avid_trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
196 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

They served an excellent breakfast, with very reasonable rates(10 euros).
Rooms were very clean,sheets changed daily. A modern Zen like quality with no wasted frills but excellent quality.The hotel is well located, within walking distance of the main rail station.The coloseum and imperial rome are easy walking distance as well.its a very reasonable hotel for families who want good clean rooms with no wasted expense and great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcobatuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

The hotel was small, good location close to subway and train station. Staff was nice, rooms very clean and spacious. Several good restaurants around, just don't ask the front desk to recommend one because they'll send you to a very bad one (can't remember the name but it was a "trattoria").

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,458 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing