We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #22 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Can't go wrong for the price. The rooms are small, but the hotel is centrally located, the rooms are spotless, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madi_D9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,865
    1,043
    103
    19
    9
See reviews for
979
2,105
116
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The IQ is an odd name for a Hotel, so I thought first. Saw some reviews in TA and decided for it. It´s an Chinese or Asian group hotel and clean as a whistle with very nice rooms, the very best breakfast I had in my stay in Italy (you pay apart). Complete exercise area (as if you needed one in Rome) and prices are very suitable. I payed in advance so got a good deal. Near the train station (if you are connecting by train to other cities it could be handy). Hotel staff very professional and dedicated. I had been to the Intercontinental (near the spanish steps) and at the Hotel d´Inghliterra before (near Condotti and the Spanish steps) but I would reccomend this place as a very good alternative in Rome.

Room Tip: Pay in advance for a better rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My girlfriend and I were first-time travelers to Rome (and to Europe in general), and this hotel made our stay both comfortable and easy. The rooftop garden and vending machines provided us with plenty of entertainment after hours.

The staff was friendly and spoke multiple languages fluently. They were able to assist us in printing tour passes and arranging cabs when we needed them. However, since we are walkers, we spent most of our time walking through the city of Rome.

That's where the true beauty of this hotel came into play. We were able to walk to every single attraction we wanted to visit within the walls, from Trevi to the Spanish Steps to Vatican City. The map provided by the hotel was excellent and allowed us the freedom to meander around the streets safe in the knowledge that we had an accurate map.

While I share the sentiment of many reviewers that the beds were less than comfortable, it was a small sacrifice to make for the location, quality, and fun factor of such an amazing hotel.

If we are ever in Rome again this will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiteraryMaestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Having never written a review before, but always checking trip advisor before we travel anywhere, I thought it about time we started contributing!
I booked tickets for the Wales v Italy rugby for my husband at Christmas, what an amazing city Rome is, we have enjoyed every thing about it, the culture, the food has been nothing short of wonderful.
We're staying at the IQ Hotel Roma, the journey from the airport was a bit sad to be honest, seemingly very poor however, when you get to the hotel it's nothing short of fantastic. We have a room with a balcony overlooking the front of the hotel, a fridge in the room, okay space and although the shower is a bit small (and I am 5ft!) the facilities are really good, excellent value for money.
Everyone on t/a raves about the roof terrace on the 5th floor, it's lovely, warm and comfortable. The self serve bar is brill but even if you didn't want to spend in the bar (even though its not nearly as expensive as I thought it would be) you could pop around the corner to the Spar shop for a few drinks to take to the terrace.
The local restaurant is wonderful and very welcoming, great value for Money ( about 2 doors down from the entrance) but go to the little side streets just off Nationale avenue for some lovely food.
Return journey to the airport (booked direct with the hotel) was 90 euros, recommend anyone do this.
The mani tube line is literally 2 mins walk as well as the colluseum and Trevi fountain.
Great location, definitely returning!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The staff is nice, the rooms are clean and quiet, and they have a rooftop smoking area :)
Taxi always arrived in a couple of minutes after booking.
The neigbourhood was safe and there are some good irish pubs near the hotel.
The restaurants near by was not that good, lots of tourist restaurants with picture menu and coupons. But with in 5-600 meters I found a few exelent dining options.

No stamps for sale in the reception of the hotel is the only minus I can think of.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liller0sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We enjoyed our four nights at the iQ Hotel...the price was right via Expedia and it was a great location. Ten minute walk to Termini Station and 10-15 minutes to the main attractions (Colliseum, Forum, etc). The rooms are quite small by American standards but the entire hotel was completely spotless. We had rooms on the fourth floor facing the back of the hotel and these came with a small balcony which was a nice bonus. The only concern would be noise from the street below....I think the street sweeper went by each morning around 4:30 which was a bit annoying. The staff was courteous and answered all questions we had. Breakfast was plentiful for 10 euro per person and served buffet style on the 5th floor. I would thoroughly recommend staying here and would stay again on future trips to Rome.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Nicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qormi
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The hotel is very easy to reach from the termini station, only ten min walk. Upon arrival to the hotel we were warmly greeted and promptly checked in. Our request to have a room on upper floors overlooking the piazza of the opera theatre was granted and we were very happy about this. The room was quite spacious and equipped with a large bathroom. All the decor is modern and everything looks new. The walk in wardrobe had ample space to store our luggage and even hang our coats and clothes. The room is also equipped with good lighting, the tv had a lot of channels and I was very delighted to find a music channel as well. Something very useful about the facilities of this hotel is that on some floors you can find a drink and snack machine from where you can buy. The roof garden is very cute you can sit comfortably on a sofa and relax in the sun. The hotel also has a gym but we did not have time to go there. The breakfast is very rich with various savoury hot and cold food items, it was good value for money to pay for the breakfast as it really fills you up. The cleanliness of the hotel is also very good, the hotel is very well kept. the location of the hotel is very good, some attractions are within walking distance. This is our third time in Rome and we are glad to say that this was the best hotel experience so far in Rome, as usually hotels in Rome are very small and situated on floors of apartment blocks. I Q hotel certainly fits the definition of a good hotel and we will certainly be choosing it again if we are to return to Rome. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floors and with the view on the opera theatre piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IL-PINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,542 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing