We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel! Will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #23 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Haverhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel! Will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed here as a holiday for my birthday this year & loved it! The hotel is lovely, very modern & the room was very clean. The hotel is quite basic but it is a 'self-service' hotel which is the main reason we chose to stay here. There is a vending machine/bar on the top floor right by the entrance to the roof top terrace which was lovely! There is also little vending machines on each floor with tea/coffee & travel essentials which was very handy! The staff were lovely & very welcoming. There are plenty of lovely restaraunts near by, our favourite was Alessio which was just up the road on the right. Most attractions are actually within walking distance depending on how much you like to walk. We will be coming back to stay again with friends next year, I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,814
    1,034
    102
    19
    9
See reviews for
963
2,072
115
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We arrived in Rome via train from the airport. It is about 10 - 15 minutes walk with luggage from the Termini station but we had to wait a couple of hours as the previous occupants did not vacate until 2pm. The room was fairly large for Europe and while the room faced the morning sun, the curtains were heavy enough to keep out the summer sun allowing you to sleep in. The air conditioner was working very hard to cool the room down during the summer months when we were there.
Reception were efficient and provided good local knowledge as to the best eating places and how to get anywhere. The underground stations were close to the hotel so there were no problems in travelling around Rome.
Breakfast consisted on a wide choice of food upstairs on the roof, no complaints there. There was a vending machine on the floor, very handy for water and at a far better price than the street sellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LsBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midleton cork
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

All the good reviews are correct. Clean hotel, spotless in fact. Friendly helpfull staff, good location, vending machines on every floor, lovely outside terrace-all good. The main drawback was the tiny room we had which was filled by a double bed and a bed side locker either side both touching the wall! Also the TV had no English chanels.
As I said its a lovely hotel but I am glad we were only there for a few nights as if a could had two cases each you would have to store them outside the room door its so small.
It would have been helpfull if the hotel website showed pictures of all rooms not just the large ones as this would have helped us choose another room or possiby hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joolaaaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read your comment on our Hotel, and we are glad that you have appreciated so many aspects of it; from the cleanliness to our staff and location.

Regarding your comment on the rooms’ size, we are sorry that although these are all well described on our selling websites, you have found that when physically in it gave you the impression of being smaller than expected. We would only like to reconfirm to our future customers, that although the layout of the rooms in the same category may vary, giving the se3nsation of having one smaller than the other, this is actually not true. As well described the standard room, that you had booked and was assigned to you, is in fact 15 m² and offers a full king size bed (180x195).

You have also mentioned that we have not posted all the photos of the rooms we have. This would be very difficult to do, and would clog our website and probably confuse our Guests since no precise room may be booked in a specific category. Therefore, as most hotels do, we have posted pictures of bathrooms and rooms which represent at best that specific room category. Although iQ is located in a modern building, when refurbishing it to create the hotel, we had to take into consideration certain space limitations due to the centerpieces, which of course could not be moved only because it would have been convenient for us to have all the rooms in the same category look exactly alike. However, we can reassure our Guests that although some layouts may vary the rooms will still roughly measure the same, with a difference in furniture settings. In your case, the room you had booked had to have the two night stands to be close to the walls, however this probable helped since it means that you had quite a bit of space to walk next to the bed and in the rest of the room.

As for the luggage in-room storage, we are sorry that you have found this kind of room to be too small for the number you carried. We understand that many people travel with more than one piece of luggage per person, this is why, we place the room’s square meters and the pictures on the website, so that Guests may “see” themselves in the rooms and understand the living space they would have once checked-in and with the suitcases. In order to avoid this kind of problem, we strongly suggest our customers to contact our Front Desk so that our receptionists may suggest the best accommodation for their travel needs. Alternatively, we also offer a free storage space where it is possible to leave the luggage which will not be of any need during the stay.

As for the English TV channels, we are sorry that you did not manage to find them on our satellite TV. We have in fact more than ten English speaking channels installed and watchable for free in each Guest room. We are sorry that you did not manage to view them; having known about your difficulty it would have been very easy for us to explain to you what to do. This is also true in regards to the room. As said, although the rooms have the same square meters, having a different layout might give guests the impression of having a different size, although this is not true, we understand that impression is what counts so, in case the room assigned is not to the Guest’s liking, and if available at the time of check-in, it will be our care to show a different room in the same category and change the room assigned accordingly.

We hope to have you back as our Guests and that next time you will be able to try one of our larger rooms which might be more comfortable for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel has everything you'd need for a short break in Rome. The car picked us up from the airport and whisked us to the hotel via the scenic route to show us the sights if Rome. The staff were attentive and helpful when needed but not iver the top. The room was clean and modern with a great balcony with views of the opera house. The vending machines are a great idea and provide everything you need at a great price for a hotel. The location of the hotel is perfect for visiting the major sites and the metro is just around the corner. An excellent overal choice

Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the IQ Roma hotel. A excellent stay in Rome at a very clean, modern and well located hotel. It's a 15 min walk from the Termini train station or just round the corner from the Repubblica metro station. Very friendly staff who all speak English very well and have good local knowledge. Rooms are very modern, the wi-fi is free and works throughout the hotel. We had the buffet breakfast (€10) twice, not a bad choice of food. Can't really fault the hotel at all. Your pretty much close to everything. A few nice bars and cafe's not to far, they are cheaper then the places on the Main Street. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Go the the service self bar on the 5th floor!! Very cheap bottled beer and wine! €3 for a bud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We arrived by fast train to Termini Station. With our luggage strapped to our backs, we walked the short 3 or 4 blocks to the hotel. Very convenient. We checked in quickly with the friendly, helpful staff. The room was clean, modern, of ample size, and reasonably priced. There was a microwave in an area across the hall and an inexpensive guest laundry one floor away. A more than adequate breakfast buffet, with hot and cold selections, was served on the top floor each morning. Lots of seating plus you could even eat outside on the rooftop if you wished. From the hotel you can easily walk to several restaurants, the National Museum and two subway stations. Due to our Roma Pass not being available for pickup at Termini as advertised, we ended up walking to the Spanish Steps to take the free walking tour of Rome,. It wasn't all that far and, in fact, was kind of fun briskly walking the streets of Rome like we knew what we were doing. The free walking tour, which included several churches, the Pantheon and Trevi Fountain, was a great way to start our four days in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyboyIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel iq is a very smart up to date hotel rooms are excellent. Facilities are very good.
Breakfast has a fair range of choice depending on what you desire.
Staff are first class.
Good central location not far to walk to trevi fountain and colostrum short cheap taxi to Vatican city.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DurhamShipwreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,457 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing