We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“modern hotel in the old city”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #22 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
張家港市, 中國
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“modern hotel in the old city”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

i always find that most of the hotels in Europe are very "historical". personally, i would feel more comfortable to stay in the modern style hotel and i found that IQ Hotel Roma can definitely fulfill my need. the room size we pick is quite small, but it is very comfortable with all we need. there are sufficient plug in the room for different utilities to use. toilet is clean and price for breakfast is reasonable, just EU10 each. lastly, they also offer self laundry facility too which is very helpful for tourists like we that are traveling for awhile.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bishonensam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,865
    1,043
    103
    19
    9
See reviews for
979
2,105
116
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

So let me start this by saying that I've never written a review but I use trip advisor all the time. I felt so strongly about this hotel, I had to create a profile and write a review for them! This place exceeded our expectations! We spent 4 nights in Rome and this hotel was a perfect place to stay. The location was excellent- it's just steps from Roma Termini but on a nice little quiet street, so there's never the problem with traffic being loud outside your window. You can catch the metro or train from there and there's also bus stops at all the sightseeing tours! The restaurants around the hotel are great too, and even a delicious gelato place steps from the front door. We had two rooms and both were the same- very clean, comfortable, well laid out and not cramped! The bathroom was big and the shower wasn't too small either (and we're on the bigger side). They have their own self service laundry and business center, which came in handy on the rainy days. But the best part about the hotel was the staff! They were extremely knowledgable, friendly and helpful! Their recommendations of restaurants, travel and activities were spot on. There was never any problem with communication, as they all speak English! The breakfast buffet they offer always had fresh food, including fruit, hot eggs and bacon, danish, juice, and coffee! I would definitely recommend this hotel and when I go back, I will definitely being staying here again! I'm sad I didn't book the other IQ hotels for the rest of my trip :(

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank 894christinad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The iQ Hotel is where my family and I stayed during our trip to Rome. This four star hotel offers you unbelievable services and I enjoyed every minute of my stay. A haven for modern travellers, the rooms are fully equipped with all that you’d expect to find in a 4-star hotel, including satellite TV, free internet connection, a mini fridge and lots more. My favourite part of staying at the iQ was using their vending machines which popped out some really yummy sandwiches! Instead of room service, we just used the vending machines every time we felt like nibbling on something. I also accessed the sauna room during my stay and came out wonderfully relaxed and refreshed! Excellent service and the breakfast was delicious too. I personally loved the breathtaking view of the Opera House from the terrace. I really enjoyed my stay at the iQ. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PolitMoodiTraci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Spent 3 nights at the iQ Hotel Roma in the spring of 2013. Large rooms. Nicely decorated. Newer hotel. Staff very helpful and all speak good English. Easy walking distance to the main streets of Rome's shopping district. About 1 1/2 miles from the Fountain of Trevi. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Struitt106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights during my honeymoon and loved it all through! The hotel is close to the Termni but just far the right distance. Walking distance from the Colosseum and Republicca.Good restaurants in the vicinity. The room was good, the staff was courteous breakfast was excellent and wi-fi was great. The best part of the hotel was roof top garden and a very good vending machines on each floor to buy things!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anil3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed at the IQ Hotel Roma in November 2011. I loved every aspect of it! It is only a few blocks from the Train Station and across the street from the Opera House. There is a grocery store at the end of the street and many stores for shopping.

The lobby is clean and modern and the staff are willing to help you in getting around Rome and helping you not fall into any "tourist traps."

The rooms are very clean and a good size for an European hotel.

The vending machines are amazing! I purchased lattes, pop, bandaids and even wine and beer out of them. Really, they have everything in those machines.

Breakfast was quite good with options for European/North American travelers. It is a buffet, so it is all you can it. 10 Euro can be a great price if you eat the expensive stuff, but for a picky eater, it isn't really worth it.

The smoking areas were in a room off of the elevator on every floor. There is a balcony overlooking the courtyard so it was quite nice to relax and enjoy some wine.

For us short people, I found the bathtub to be quite deep and found it a little awkward to step in/out of it. :)

I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

It is close to the train station, but a bit of a walk from most of the tourist places. And getting a taxi in the rain at Saint Peter's is impossible. The staff was incredibly helpful, arranging taxis, transportation to the airport, suggesting restaurants and assisting us when our flight reservations got screwed up. The roof patio is a fun place to meet other travelers.
The only negative was breakfast was not included. We opted to buy our own at the little grocery store around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A1152014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,542 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing