We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel but quite noisy outside”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #21 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We definitely enjoyed our stay at the IQ but because we had a ground floor room the streets outside were quite noisy during the night. There is also an underground car park and the door to it slams very loudly. On the positive side the staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean and tidy. It has a good location and you can walk or catch the metro to all of the local attractions. Would recommend but advise to choose a room located above the ground floor or take some ear plugs :)

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time in writing a review on our property.
We are however sorry to understand that you had some issues with noise coming from the street.

By checking our system we can confirm that you had booked one of our Ground floor Double Rooms, as for the noises coming from the streets, we are sorry that these have made your sleep difficult; the only thing we can think of is that clients of the restaurants and pubs around the area might have walked in front of your room, maybe talking loudly, and this might have been the cause of the noise. As for the garage door slamming, we can confirm that we indeed have a garage below our hotel, but it is also true that the main door is on the other side of the building compared to where your room was. As a matter of fact this is the first time that a Guest staying in one of the Ground floor rooms has complained about hearing this kind of noise, however we are sorry that this caused you some distress during the night.

At this point we can only thank you for letting us know and take this chance to inform our future customers that our management has taken note of this episode and will try to talk with the garage owners about it so to avoid noises of this kind to occur in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,224)
There are newer reviews for iQ Hotel Roma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,578 - 1,584 of 4,224 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Clean, well appointed 4 star hotel. Whats different is you get to choose those aspects of the stay you want - breakfast, mini bar, snakes etc. Everythign that you need is supplied but those little extras - you choose. Vending machines give you all the drinks, snacks etc that you want. Even a guest laundry - great stuff.

For a busy sight seeing tourists who is using the hotel to sleep and a wee bit of down time.. perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside a quieter
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Italy's biggest city is the city to best fall in love with. I spent a weekend during my honeymoon last month in the city and got a booking at the iQ Hotel Roma. The booking was easy since we went through a travel agent and the room was small yet lovely. We spent the entire day roaming around the city and falling in love all over again. There is so much to see in Rome and staying in iQ Hotel Roma will calm your nerves and relax you. Nice beds, very comfortable. One thing that I would like to comment about the hotel is their logo. I'm an advertising guru and I must say that their logo is not the typical hotel logo but it works. It can really catch your attention and may ask you to wonder about the logo and what it represents. All in all the idea of the hotel is local modernity in the city of love.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSClSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A well-maintained hotel with excellent staff and facilities, iQ Hotel Roma gives a capital Q to Quality. We had a wonderful stay and complimented well with our exhilarating trip around Rome. We could feel the warmness from the staff that was very helpful in asking for directions. Definitely a top choice when in Rome.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJakeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Most critical: Far from metro (15 mins from central or 8 mins from republican), it will be a big problem when u carry large luggage. No breakfast included unless u paid additional, so that total fee will be 20% higher than same grade hotel in Rome that I don't think its worth. My room with street view, I opened window while sleep, sorry that I can hear someone talking and laughing loudly even at 1am.
Merits: Room and hotel area is very clean; U will find great if u are opera lover, coz it just opposite to Rome opera theater.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Sir,

We are sorry to understand that your stay with us was not up to your standards. It seems to us that although you have appreciated our cleanliness and room size, you have not managed to find other qualities in our hotel. Not even our location which is normally highly praised by our Guests.

By reviewing our system we have noticed that you have been with us only for one night, so we might assume that your choice of our property was mainly for the fact that we are close to the train station; it seems that not even this has satisfied your needs. However, although we understand that your perception of the time you took to get to the underground stop Repubblica and to the main train station Termini was very long, we would like to reassure our Guests that these are not that far away. Repubblica is really only 200 metres up the road on via Nazionale and it will not take you more than 5 minutes to get there, nor will it take you more then 10 to get to Termini on foot. Sure enough with huge suitcases the walk might seem longer, however in normal circumstances we can assure you that it is quiet a comfortable stroll to reach both locations. As a matter of fact, most Guests choose us especially for this reason since the area offers many public transportation which can take you all over Rome; furthermore most sightseeing spots may be reached with a short downhill stroll.

As for the breakfast, we are sorry that you felt that paying extra was not worth it; most Guests seem to appreciate the variety and quality of items which we offer and consider paying ten extra Euros per person per day quite reasonable. Having to add the breakfast on top of the final rate is in fact part of iQ’s very concept. The idea is to give Guests the possibility to add only the required services to their stay so clients are not obliged to buy breakfast if they are not used to having it. Furthermore, we can reassure you that the rate you have paid was absolutely in line with those of the other 4 star hotels in the nearby area including the breakfast cost. Of course, if you compare us to other 4 star hotels which are not in the city centre, the rates might seem higher, but it is also true that if you look at hotels near the Spanish Steps or Piazza Navona, we are cheaper compared to them.

Regarding the noise you have heard at 1 AM in the morning, we are sorry that this has disturbed you. We are located in a very quiet street but it also true that there are pubs and restaurants near us and people may be still around at that time of night, as in most large cities people often do. However, from what we gather you have heard people talking only after you had opened the window in your room, so we may assume that when it was closed you were not disturbed by them. Also, we are sorry that you did not mention this fact at check-out. At this point, if we might suggest, next time you book you might want to request a quiet room and it would be our care to place a note on the reservation and assign a room facing the courtyard, depending on availability on the day of arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

i always find that most of the hotels in Europe are very "historical". personally, i would feel more comfortable to stay in the modern style hotel and i found that IQ Hotel Roma can definitely fulfill my need. the room size we pick is quite small, but it is very comfortable with all we need. there are sufficient plug in the room for different utilities to use. toilet is clean and price for breakfast is reasonable, just EU10 each. lastly, they also offer self laundry facility too which is very helpful for tourists like we that are traveling for awhile.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bishonensam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

So let me start this by saying that I've never written a review but I use trip advisor all the time. I felt so strongly about this hotel, I had to create a profile and write a review for them! This place exceeded our expectations! We spent 4 nights in Rome and this hotel was a perfect place to stay. The location was excellent- it's just steps from Roma Termini but on a nice little quiet street, so there's never the problem with traffic being loud outside your window. You can catch the metro or train from there and there's also bus stops at all the sightseeing tours! The restaurants around the hotel are great too, and even a delicious gelato place steps from the front door. We had two rooms and both were the same- very clean, comfortable, well laid out and not cramped! The bathroom was big and the shower wasn't too small either (and we're on the bigger side). They have their own self service laundry and business center, which came in handy on the rainy days. But the best part about the hotel was the staff! They were extremely knowledgable, friendly and helpful! Their recommendations of restaurants, travel and activities were spot on. There was never any problem with communication, as they all speak English! The breakfast buffet they offer always had fresh food, including fruit, hot eggs and bacon, danish, juice, and coffee! I would definitely recommend this hotel and when I go back, I will definitely being staying here again! I'm sad I didn't book the other IQ hotels for the rest of my trip :(

Stayed: January 2014
6  Thank 894christinad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,799 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,351 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,267 in Rome
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,267 in Rome
2,962 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#41 of 1,267 in Rome
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £108 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing