We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worthy of its rating”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #19 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I chose this hotel as friends have stayed here and it was rated well, and it didn't disappoint. I stayed 8 nights, so I really did get to spend time there. As for the room, it was a nice, modern hotel room. Plenty of space, lighting, and a nice bathroom - with plenty of counter space. I found the bed a bit hard initially, but after requesting, they added some padding that helped out. I liked having a small fridge available, as with a grocery store just around the corner, and a nice rooftop, allowed me to do some snacks/light meals without having to hit a restaurant. As for their restaurant, I had most of my breakfasts there, as it was a reasonable price and good selection (did try a few spots nearby, but didn't find anything better). The wi-fi worked very good, although I did pay for the business center unlimited as I was there many days and used it to book and print tickets to various things. It was plenty quiet on a side street, and the location in town is probably as good as any. The only thing I can think of to "knock" is that it felt like a modern hotel room in "anywhere". So if you really want an old world or European feel, this may not be the place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e_onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,606 - 1,612 of 4,330 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our family of five stayed at the iQ hotel for 5 nights in March-April 2014. We chose this hotel due to its high Trip advisor rating, modern furnishings and convenient location. We were not disappointed.

The hotel is conveniently located across the Opera House and near the Termini station. A few minutes walk will bring you to a Carrefour express and to some good restaurants. One particularly good one is the Matermatuta restaurant along Via Milano.

iQ hotel's concern for the security of their guests may be evidenced by the fact that the main entrance of the hotel can only be opened by the guests' room key or by ringing a bell. Upon entering, the front desk personnel are efficient, polite and friendly. When we arrived, our two rooms were ready and everything was done per our previous instruction (adjacent rooms, twin beds etc). We want to give special mention to Yevgeniya, Cristian and Alberto. They were considerate and extremely helpful and truly helped to make our stay pleasurable.

My daughter got sick during our second day in Rome. The manager and the Filipino staff at the breakfast restaurant of the hotel helped me prepare a breakfast tray to bring to my daughter in our room. We appreciate their concern and kind assistance.

We also like the vending machines found on our floor that can supply drinks and snacks (chocolates, sandwiches) at any time of the day. However, it would have been nice if the hotel also has room service or a restaurant that serves lunch and dinner (not only breakfast) in case warm food is preferred.

Our triple room was large, clean, modern and comfortable. The mattress is a tad on the hard side but comfortable nevertheless.The only down side is that the walls appear to be very thin. I can sometimes hear people in the adjacent room laughing or talking. The sound becomes even more audible when the occupants of adjacent rooms are talking in their respective bathrooms.

Other than that, we liked our stay at the hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors to avoid hearing some noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eat1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to learn that your stay with us met your expectations and especially that you have appreciated so much our staff.

Moreover, it is very important to us to understand that our concerns for our guests’ safety have been noticed and valued; we always strive to make our customers’ stay the most enjoyable one, and knowing them safe is a priority.

As for your notes on the missing room service and restaurant, we can only say that we understand that for most guests having the possibility to eat at the hotel can be an advantage, however having these services would actually mean going against iQ’s main concept. Furthermore, as you well noted, there are many good restaurants in the area and if guests prefer, they can buy any type of food and bring it back to the hotel to enjoy in their rooms or on the rooftop terrace.

Coming now to the rooms’ isolation, we are sorry that you have experienced noise coming from the neighbouring rooms. We can only say that the walls have been isolated so to guarantee noise reduction and give guests a restorative night’s sleep. However, it also true that the other guests’ behavior also influences much the quality of sleep and noise level. As for the street noise, we are a bit surprised about your note since iQ is actually located on a very quiet street a short stroll from the main road via Nazionale and most guests seem not having problems with external noises; nonetheless, we understand that some people might require quieter rooms than others, this is why we always suggest to place a note on the reservation about this need and we will do our best to assign a room accordingly depending on availability on the day of arrival. Finally, regarding the mattresses, we are sorry that you did not feel like coming to us for a solution. As explained on other occasions we are more than happy to place a soft padding on the mattress so that guests may have a more comfortable sleep.

Said this, we hope that you and your family will soon be our guests again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel is on a small street, but it is very nice. It is in walking distance of the metro and train stations. Placed in the center of the city, it is a 15 minute walk to Trastevere and Jewish Ghetto. It is also very close to all the tourist attractions - Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, etc. The staff is great! They are very good with giving suggestions for food and sightseeing. They are also helpful without over stepping any boundaries. The rooms are very clean. Beware - the hotel windows do open all the way without a balcony so just be careful, especially if you have children. Overall, a great place to stay when in Rome!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I really didn't find any negative point

1. The location is very good, near to termini station, so you can your daily trip from there where most the bus, metro, training are there also you can get cheap open bus tour there. also it near to several city sights.
2. It is very clear, and the room well furnished.
3. eshop and self services washing mashing is very good option.
4. The price is good if you compare it to other downtown city hotel.
5. Fast check in and fast check out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yadtrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It was my second time at IQ Hotel in Rome . I stayed for 3 nights this time. It's a great little hotel with the best setting close to the central station and with a Metro-station only 2 minuttes away. And I must say, that it is about the cleanest hotel I've ever been to! Staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast-buffet is quite impressiv for an italian breakfast. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We just got back from our trip a couple of weeks ago and the IQ Hotel Roma was just perfect. The location is excellent, close to many bus lines and metro, and also about 1km from the Fontana di Trevi, which is not far when you're sightseeing. Spotlessly clean, modern rooms with a huge bathroom (with tub), empty fridge for your own drinks etc., lovely view of the Teatro dell'Opera just in front, and I could go on and on. The rooftop terrace is also really nice and we had drinks there a couple of nights after dinner. The vending machine with wine, beer and even French champagne is also really nice, and surprisingly the prices are very reasonable. The 10 euro breakfast is also very good, with a good selection of items and friendly staff. The reception staff and basically all the staff are extremely kind and helpful. We used the sauna once which was also great, and the gym, although we didn't try it, also looked perfectly functional. The coin-operated washer and dryer were also really useful. I have been to Rome many times but this is the first really modern hotel I've stayed in and it was a welcome change. A first visit for my partner who found the hotel excellent, with tons of good restaurants just around the corner. A excellent hotel in Rome for a short or longer stay. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor facing the Opera and it was perfectly quiet with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GabsJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed on business. Loved the roof garden & view. Modern furnishings, friendly staff that helped with the language, near the metro stations & offices & tourists attractions....loved my stay!!! Everything was provided, cleaned ASAP & delivered on time!! Highly recommend this hotel!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank JujuG8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,959 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
1,396 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,271 in Rome
3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,271 in Rome
2,289 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#40 of 1,271 in Rome
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £87 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing