We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart Option in Rome”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #21 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here for a one night stopover in Rome and was pleased with the choice. Hotel is really well organised and staff were helpful. I really appreciated being able to do my own laundry within the hotel at a cheap price! Its a cross between a upmarket slick backpackers and a business hotel. Close to main train station but a good distance from major sites. No frills option for those wanting no-fuss, simple and well-priced accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glampergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,567 - 1,573 of 4,279 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked a week at the IQ from the middle to end of March and found the hotel to be spotless with helpful, smiling staff throughout our full stay. It is very modern in the urban/chic category and still feels new. The breakfast buffet was wide and varied and the price was in line with moderate restaurants. It was also very convenient for getting the day started. The hotel is in the Termini District ( train station ) which allows you get almost anywhere in the city quite easily. Very near the hotel were a number of excellent restaurants including Matriciana and Antica Boheme. Both offered wonderful dinners and quality service . We walked from the hotel every day to the sites we chose to visit and it was definitely envigorating and healthy some might find it a bit of a challenge because of the hills and some distances. All this and fairly well priced compared to some of the other hotels we had looked at before we booked and then saw when we were sightseeing. Enjoy

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just came back from our three city tour in Italy and Rome and the IQ Hotel was our last stop. I don't know where all of the good reviews come from or maybe it was just our hotel picks in Venice and Florence but this place was AWFUL!! From the unfriendly and rude staff to our tiny room, this hotel lacked in every aspect. Although very clean, our room was so small that we really had to struggle to find a place for all of our luggage. If you have a room facing the courtyard, it is so dark that it makes the tiny room feel like a closet. This is a no frills Hotel with no extra accommodations except vending machines. Rome is a big city and this Hotel is not located in an area where you can walk to the attractions making cab rides essential. The staff will not call a cab for you, they point you to an area where you can catch a cab which happens to be another hotel (what??). I have stayed in Holiday Inns that were nicer than this Hotel. We were so disappointed with this place that we actually spent time looking at other Hotels and found that it wasn't hard to find much nicer accommodations for the same money but it was Easter weekend and there was no availability. So with that said, I wouldn't recommend this Hotel to anyone, keep looking!!

Room Tip: Don't face the courtyard or the Opera House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Sirs,

It is clear from your words that you were expecting a completely different hotel when you booked us. We are sorry about this misunderstanding; however so far it has seemed to us to have been very clear on our descriptions of our concept and about what kind of services we offer, and guests seem to appreciate this on their many positive reviews.

By reading your review, it nearly gives us the sensation that you have not been staying with us since it seems that you have been having a bed experience especially in the areas that our guests normally consider our strongest points. Since your negative notes are quite a few, we would like to address them all.

Staff: this is the first point that really concerns us the most. You reported our staff to be “unfriendly and rude”. We are sorry that you had this impression since our staff’s courtesy and friendliness are normally the strongest and most positive aspects that our guests report about our hotel. We are sorry that you had this kind of sensation from our employees. If this impression you had was caused by the taxi episode, we can only but apologize for this and confirm that this must have been a complete misunderstanding on the matter. To explain further the episode you have mentioned, we can confirm that we do call taxis for our clients, it absolutely normal for us to do it. For this reason we are quite surprised about this answer you received. The only thing that we can think of is that the receptionist might have suggested going to the taxi rank because the call system was not working properly. At this moment we can only once more apologize for the matter occurred and reassure you that our receptionist was not meaning to be rude in anyway.

Room: by checking our system we can confirm that you have two rooms booked, one facing the inner-courtyard and one facing the street facing the Opera Theatre. We assigned these rooms as per your request to be close to each other. As for the room facing the inner courtyard to be dark, we have to admit that we have never really received a complain of this kind, actually guests seem to be happy to have these type of rooms assigned so that they can have a very silent room. Regarding the size of the rooms, we can confirm that all the descriptions and photos we provide are absolutely truthful in respect to what we have; therefore, we are sorry that you were surprised about the size of the rooms assigned. We understand that before coming to Rome you had been touring around Italy and had various suitcases with you which were too many for your room. We are sorry to learn only now about your discomfort, having known about it at the time it would have been our care to offer you the possibility to place the extra luggage in our storage room for the three nights of your stay so that you could be more comfortable.

Location: even in this regards we can only express our concern about your words. As for the rooms’ descriptions, our selling websites clearly show where we are located and all the public transport that is possible to find next to us. Not only we are very close to the main train station Termini, which is less than ten minutes’ walk away (this is the undergrounds and bus hub of Rome), but also most touristy stops are not really that far away. The Trevi fountain and Spanish steps are only ten-to-fifteen minutes away on foot, while the Colloseum and Forum are only a short twenty minute downhill walk away. The areas which have to be reached via public transport are the Vatican and the Trastevere district. We are sorry that you thought us to be quite far away from everything; however the map that we have placed on our website clearly gives you the distances to the most common tourist attractions with the time you might take to reach them.

Said this, it is clear from your words that you had immediately a negative impression of our hotel and that whatever we might have done could not really help you enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, as you said, your stay was during Easter and even if we wanted to move you to other rooms we really could not, due to full occupancy.

We do hope that next time you come to Rome you will have the opportunity to stay in another hotel which will suit your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A beautiful modern hotel in the centre of room. Helpful staff and handy vending machines including one for toiletries toothbrushes body wash etc anything u might have forgot! A lovely roof top garden which is lovely to sit at night with a nice cold drink from the alcohol vending machine! The breakfast Is amazing and I suggest everyone gets it we'll worth the value. The hotel don't provide evening meals and don't have a swimming pool tho.I will say tho the hotel took £194 from my account 2 days before my trip... Which I still haven't got back almost a week later! Not everyone has a spare £194 floating about and might leave you short for your holiday so please be careful about that. The two single beds pushed together weren't great for me and my partner and kept separating which made me uncomfortable other than That can't complain :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have appreciated so much our vending machines, which are part of our innovative concept. However, we are sorry that you had some bumps during your stay which you were not expecting.

As for the luck of restaurant and swimming pool, we are sorry that you were expecting them to be available on our premises; however nowhere on our selling websites we refer to having either of these services. As a matter of information, we can confirm to our future customers that our neighbourhood offers a variety of restaurants, while it is actually quite difficult to find a swimming pool in the city centre; normally only hotels on the outskirts of Rome have one.

Regarding the two beds placed together, we can reassure you that this is actually common practice in Italy; however, as mentioned in various other occasions, we are always ready to provide a foam-pad that our housekeeping maids can place on top of the two single mattresses to make a double one. We are sorry that you did not let us know about your discomfort, it would have been our care to solve this problem immediately.

Coming now to the money we have pre-authorized on your credit card, we are sorry that we have caused you this discomfort; unfortunately, this is also common practice for a hotel to check if a credit card left as guarantee is valid. Our procedure is to pre-authorize the card with the total amount for the first night of stay and then release it immediately; depending on the credit card provider, the money should be again available within ten days. We are sorry that procedure has surprised you, as a matter of fact no other guest has ever complained about it; however we do understand that this might have caused some distress and we apologize for this.

Clarified this points, we do hope to have you back soon to discover some other parts of Rome and to enjoy once more our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here in March-April for 5 days. Modern hotel and exceptionally clean. English-speaking staff was very helpful in advising us "what and where" in Rome. We had a room with a balcony and the view to the Opera House and on to the quiet side street was pleasant. Breakfast was awesome and, comparatively speaking, well worth the price of 10 euros. Washer and dryer are available and work well. The hotel is near the Termini station, which is the main hub for the underground in Rome. We used it often and purchased a three day pass. The Republicca Plaza with a lovely fountain is nearby as are many beautiful basilicas. In the area we found some great places to dine, too. You won't be disappointed with this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was a modern, very clean hotel, right near opera house. Was able to walk tohotel from Roma Termini, though with suitcases, took about 15minutes. About 30 minute walk to either of Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish steps;5 minute walk to train station, 20 minute train ride to Vatican. Ate the hotel breakfast one morning- it was very nice, for 10 euros, excellent coffees, cappuccinos, fruit, eggs, breads, meats, cheeses, spreads. There is a carrefour supermarket around the corner where we were able to pick up bottled water, yogurt, fruit, and bread to have a little breakfast in the room the rest of the stay (the rooms have refrigerators, very helpful), also the vending machine on the 5th floor had a variety of coffee for 50cents, (very small cups, I need a few); but it was very convenient to have. The self laundry center was wonderful to have while traveling Europe, 4 euros for washer and 4 for dryer, but the dryer took more than 2 cycles to dry--still, very helpful to have. The room was nice,but the bed was a little hard for us and I wish I had asked for a foam toppper. next time. would stay here again. Wi-fi was excellent, the best I had of 4 hotels in Europe! Also, elevators were very decent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed in iQ hotel for 4 nights with my family. Have visited Roma three times and I am impressed with this new modern hotel with its location and cleanliness.

The location is near to the Roma Termini with about 10mins walk. On the other side, it is near to the train station for travelling around Rome itself. The location is centralised but yet not noisy.

We had three people to a room but the room was spacious and clean (I am very particular with the cleanliness of hotels). There are vending machines around as well as hot water dispensers at my floor which we find it thoughtful as my family always prefers to drink warm water, especially during chilly weather.

The hot water is constant with a good flow, unlike some of the accommodations in BnB where hot water is limited by the water tank hence restricting the flow of water.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jace468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,863 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,269 in Rome
1,377 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,269 in Rome
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#40 of 1,269 in Rome
941 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,269 in Rome
2,996 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £101 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing