We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location, very practical hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #23 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
1 review
“Perfect Location, very practical hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Travelled around Italy for 8 days, stayed in 4 different hotels (all 4 stars). IQ was the best by far.

Centrally located, this hotel is perfect for a stay in Rome, a few minutes away from the central station and within walking distance from many attractions. Plenty of restaurants around to check out.

I would definately recomment this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asalaimeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,818
    1,034
    102
    19
    9
See reviews for
965
2,074
115
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Will definitely stay here again. Everything is new. Location is great! Breakfast in the morning is totally worth the price! Great selection. Bathroom great. Good space. Free Wi-Fi and proximity to subway Ana train station. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 836 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed at the iQ hotel in mid April at the beginning of a trip through Italy. I arrived at Fiumicino and simply took the Leonardo Express train (14 Euros) and then went out the front door of the Roma Termini and walked two blocks then turned left and walked two blocks to the hotel. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the train station and a metro station so getting from the airport and to anywhere in Rome is very easy, cheap and quick.

This is a newer hotel in central Rome. The room was, in my opinion, small but quiet with a sliding glass door leading to a small deck. The bed was a somewhat hard foam with mushy pillows. The room also included a mini-ref, closet safe, desk, work chair and blackout curtains that really worked. In the bathroom there was a bidet, towel warmer, small magnifying mirror, hair dryer, shampoo and body lotion with a very small shower.

The TV included a wide assortment of English language shows including CNBC, BBC World, Bloomberg, CNN International, Skynews, CCTV and Aljazeera. I didn't see any parking other than on the street. There was a great roof deck with alcohol vending machines for relaxing after seeing the many Rome sights. Breakfast was available but wasn't included in my room rate. There was a self-service laundry, gym, sauna and business center with Internet PC available for 5 Euros/hour.

I stayed at this hotel 3 nights and would recommend it as a clean, safe, newer hotel if coming to Rome. The location was within easy walking distance of the train station and most tourist sights. The hotel is a little pricey but I would return if given the chance and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just returned from a four night stay at the IQ and considering some of our experience with Italian hotels this one compares with most good and modern hotels that I prefer. Granted it is a matter of taste but the IQ was bright, spacious, comfortable and very clean. The staff was friendly and the facilities also very convenient. The 5th floor has vending machines with modest prices excellent for those times when you want a snack and do not want to go back out and search around the neighborhood. The choices may be limited for some but you can buy wine, beer, sodas and juices. A regular bottle of wine is only 6 Euros. Also, you have coffee or cocoa, chips, chocolate, etc. Then there is the terrace with comfortable seating open all hours. They even have heating lamps to keep you comfortable when it is colder. The only negative I have was that after the first day (of four nights stay) I had to keep asking for body lotion because the chamber maid would only leave lots of shampoo and no lotion, go figure, but that alone would not spoil our stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Angiefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

iQ Hotel Roma was a good find. Definitely a newer hotel it was great to have the security card entrance available in such a busy city. The rooms were well-planned/laid-out and we're quite clean. On the first floor, we expected a lot of street noise but the doors kept that outside. It was nice having access to even a little outdoor space. The reasonably priced vending machines on each floor, the available laundry machines and the small, but functional and clean fitness center were great benefits. It's worth noting that the TV connection wasn't the greatest. Cabs didn't have the easier time finding the hotel but we found it to be in a good walking distance to many things - the Coliseum, Trevi Fountain, etc. the front desk staff was helpful with early check-ins, directions, making needed change in euros and some reservations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We recently spent a few nights in Rome before driving down to Sorrento. We arrived via a taxi mini van booked by the hotel and were greeted with big friendly smiles!
The hotel is situated 10 minute walk from Termini Train and Bus station and is next to the Opera House. It was lovely hearing the musicians tuning their instruments and seeing people arriving dressed up for the performances.
Our room was clean and with a good sized shower which was suitable for the disabled person I was traveling with.
The breakfast was fresh and with lots of fruit, breads and of course coffee! There were self service coffee machines so they were popular!
We spoke with the manager about a small problem with the air conditioning and it was resolved swiflty.
The hotel has a roof terrace with tables and you are welcome to bring food into the hotel and eat outdoors in the fresh air. (There's a small carrefour supermarket around the corner selling basics for a picnic dinner!) They even have ice machines and a wine vending machine to use! Brilliant place to stay!

Room Tip: The front rooms have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopher35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairborn, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were a family of three and looking for a convenient, clean, mid-range hotel for 4 nights. This hotel definitely met or exceeded our expectations.

The location is about a 5 minute walk from the Repubblica metro station (literally just up the street and around the corner) and about a 10 minute walk from Termini, maybe 15 minutes with heavy luggage in tow. Plenty of eating options within easy walking distance. (Be sure to try the Green Pistachio gelato place on Via Nazionale just SW of Via Firenze.)

Our room had a double bed plus a rollaway type bed. Bedding comfort level was fine for us. The room size was typical for Europe but slightly bigger than expected and the small balcony was pleasant to step out onto in the morning. Furnishings and decor were modern and new, sufficient electric outlets. In-room programmable safe was included. The in-room mini-fridge was much appreciated and we were able to stock up on some beverages and snacks that needed refrigeration. We had no issues with noise from neighboring rooms or the hallway.

The bathroom was fantastic and huge for this price point. The tub/shower and additional standalone shower were nice and had adequate hot water and good pressure. Daily housekeeping service was clean and thorough. Plenty of toiletries refreshed daily.

The hotel is sharp and modern looking throughout. It really shines with so many amenities and thoughtful touches, though. Wi-fi is included in each room. Several vending machines are located throughout, for soft drinks; snacks; toiletries (not just toothbrushes but a wide variety); coffee and hot drinks; and the best thing ever - a wine and beer vending machine (also sells plastic glasses and cups if you need them)!! Now that's something every hotel needs to have! A small guest coin laundry is available, which we used several times - 4 Euros per load and it automatically dispenses detergent and fabric softener.

On the rooftop there is a courtyard with tables and chairs, plus a children's play area. We didn't use the exercise room or business center, but they looked nice. We aren't big breakfast people so we didn't buy the breakfast buffet option, though it seemed like a number of guests did. Luggage storage is available.

All of the staff we encountered were friendly, professional and prompt with any requests. This was an excellent hotel, especially for the price, and we'll certainly plan to stay again when we next visit Rome!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 84fiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Jet2Holidays , Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing