We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice in Rome! ”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #21 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

There is no doubt IQ Hotel is a gem in Rome. Located within minutes of the main Termini and Republica Metro systems. 15 mins walk to Piazza Venezia to Del Corsa, the main shopping street linking major attractions such as Trevvi Fountain and Spanish Steps. Carrefour is located just beside the hotel. Staff is polite and always willing to provide assistance and advice. Though not cheap, it is not easy to find fault with the hotel. Breakfast is good and the hotel also has vending / ice machines and oven. Only minor complain is the relatively weak aircon n cosy room.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank moodyinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,234)
There are newer reviews for iQ Hotel Roma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,467 - 1,473 of 4,234 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Based on reviews,I expected this hotel to be "local to sights" and of a good quality i.e 4 star .it is not..
It is extremely close to Terminii Station ,less than 5 minute walk.It is close to the Metro in Republic square but it is not close to the Colisseum (20 minute walk) or Trevi (20 minute walk).
It is however next to the Opera house and very clean.Its a good budget hotel with self service and a vending machine.There are no coffee making facilities in the room.The rooms are small but comfortable.To find the hotel come out of Termini walk past the bus station and you will see a fountain in the middle of a roundabout in Republic square turn left down the main street and second left.The hotel is halfway up on the right.There is a slightly quicker route via opera house but confusing to new arrivals.
Best way to get around is the Metro,with various ticket options but the best seems the 24 hour 6 euro ticket.a couple of stops from Republica is Spagna for Spanish steps( great for restaurants) and Trevi .For coliseum and forum go back one stop to Termini and change for Stops to Coliseo.Very good for a budget hotel but not what I was expecting given the rave reviews,especially as we were "upgraded" on arrival so goodness knows what we would have got,however if you want quiet ,clean and cosy and a base near to the station this will tick all the boxes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Sirs,

We are sorry to understand that you were disappointed by your stay with us. As you have notice by the reviews that made you choose our property, it seems that most guests appreciate the type of modern hotel concept which we offer.

We are especially concerned about your opinion and words because we always strive to be as clear as possible with guest about what we are and offer. It is with the outmost care that we place the same description of our rooms and facilities on all our direct selling websites so that all guests may see what we are without misleading information or images.

Since you have addressed many points in your review, we will take this chance to try and explain them further so that future guests and readers of this review may have a further insight to our concept and facilities.

Location: as depicted on all the website’s maps, we are close by the Opera Theatre, on a small road next to a main street, Via Nazionale. Here, you may find not only the underground stop Repubblica, but also many different buses and hop-on hop-off busses that will help you visit Rome easily. As for walking distances, we are sorry that you have found the Colosseum to be so far away; however, we can confirm the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps are just 10 minutes downhill walk away. What we may suggest is to ask our receptionists which is the best and direct route to get there without wasting too much time.

Hotel: we are sorry that you were expecting something different. However, we can confirm that we are definitely not a budget hotel and that for the Italian Tourist Board we are rightly placed into the 4 star category. Most hotels in Rome city centre are of a more “classical” taste and service style; however, as we have said in many other occasions and as described on all our selling websites, we offer a different concept. Guests have the possibility to choose what kind of service they want to add to their room rate so that they will not be forced to pay for something that they will not be utilizing, such as the breakfast or the private bar. Most of our guests, as reported by the many positive reviews we have received, seem to appreciate this kind of approach; we are therefore sorry that you did not manage to find something positive about it.

Rooms: as for the rooms, we are sorry that you thought that the one assigned to you was too small. Please note that as per your booking you were assigned a Double Room, so you were not upgraded as you have mentioned. As per the room description on our selling website, the double room assigned did in fact measure roughly 15m². As always, we would just like to reaffirm that our staff is available 24/7 to help our customers choose the best accommodation for their stay based on their needs. Maybe in your case a large room, like a Double Room with a Sofa-bed, would have been more comfortable for you. As for the style and feel of the rooms, it is quite clear from the pictures that we have a modern, linear style. We are sorry that you found our furniture to be too “IKEA” for your taste (but we can confirm that it is not); however, nowhere on our selling websites we show different room styles than what we actually have.

Coffee making facilities: regarding this, we are sorry that you have found the lack of this service inconvenient. Unfortunately, as for the private bar, this is not part of our concept therefore it is not offered as an in-room facility and as such is not even included in the room features on the websites’ descriptions. However, on the last floor, next to the rooftop entrance, we have placed a hot-water dispenser available at all time, so that guests may feel free to use it as they please. The vending machines are there also to give guests the possibility to purchase the drinks and snacks that they want to consume at very reasonable prices. Alternatively, our guests can feel free to buy what they want from the local shops and enjoy it in their rooms or the public areas of the hotel.

Conclusively, it is clear that our modern concept was not what you were looking for to enjoy your stay in Rome. We hope next time you visit you will be able to find a more “classic-style” hotel which will satisfy all your requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

The front desk crew was outstanding. They operate with a client first attitude. Also, Diego, the manager truly understands the hotel management business. The accommodations were great, as well. Location was great for all of the Rome attractions. Stayed there twice and would stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HtownTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It was hot in Rome this summer but not in our room in iQ where the A/C was working like a champ. Clean, modern--two comfortable beds and a couch/bed easily accommodated our family of four. Not to mention you get a bottle of beer out of a vending machine for 2.50 and then sit on the comfortable roof patio in the evening. Staff very friendly--highly recommend this place--taxi or metro can get you anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My daughters and I stayed here for a total of 10 nights and we will definitely go back. It is in the best location for walking to all the most popular tourist attractions such as the Trevi fountain, the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. Restaurants and shopping are just around the corner yet the hotel is a quiet refuge after a hectic day of sightseeing. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, the front desk staff are very helpful. We dealt with Nicholi the most and he was very accommodating, making sure everything about our visit went smoothly. The hotel also arranges airport transfers if you need it and our driver was absolutely awesome. I believe his name was Hugho and he was extremely knowledgeable and an excellent driver which is something you want when navigating the roads of Rome! I will definitely be recommending this hotel to all my friends,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Well what a fantastic find the IQ Hotel Roma turned out to be!

We've literally got through the door of our home less than 20 minutes ago and I'm writing a review...

We stayed at the IQ for 3 nights thursday through saturday; myself, my wife and my 7 year old son. The location is perfect for exploring Rome, very central (yet on a quite side street so no late noise), the hotel itself is immaculately clean and the staff are simply fabulous. The rooms were modern, clean, well appointed, and for a city centre hotel were larger than I expected (we had a balcony room for 3 people)

The roof garden was a god-send and is reason enough alone for booking this hotel - after a day in the beautiful Roman sunshine exploring the many, many wonders of the city it was wonderful to come back to the hotel, throw some coins into the alcohol vending machine and simply sit and relax on the comfortable chairs. The heavens opened late Saturday afternoon and we spent a lovely hour sitting under the gazebos listening to the rain enjoying a cold Peroni - if it wasn't for the roof garden we'd be stuck in our room.

I could waffle on about how much we enjoyed but i dont think i need to - simply put - this is a really, really great hotel and you'd struggle to find anything better in Rome.... when we return to Rome we'll be returning to the IQ and we'll be looking forward to the hotel as much as Rome itself.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: try and get a room with a balcony - there aren't many in the hotel - 301 is great!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeightonAndTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed at the IQ Hotel Roma for 5 nights while in Rome and I would definitely go back. It is perfectly located within walking distance to the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, and the Colosseum.

The hotel is very modern and the rooms are a good size. Beds and pillows are comfortable. The toiletries provided are great quality (loved the body lotion!).

Hotel breakfast is worth the 10 Euro charge. We ate breakfast at the Hotel most mornings due to planned tours. As I said, it is worth it - lots of cured meats, cheeses, vegetables, yogurt, cereals, and fresh fruit. The highlight of the breakfast is a wonderful machine that will make any coffee/espresso drink you desire. And believe me when I say it is good.

Another wonderful thing about this hotel is the rooftop terrace. We would take a bottle of wine up there before heading out for dinner at night and enjoy the ambiance. The service at the hotel is very friendly and very attentive as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,806 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#45 of 1,267 in Rome
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,267 in Rome
2,967 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#41 of 1,267 in Rome
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £109 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing