We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Rome”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #21 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
IL
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Rome”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in June. It's in a good location, very close to the train station. A decent amount of restaurants are nearby. We were on the 3rd floor. The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable and air-conditioning worked well (important because it was hot when we were there). The rooms are unbelievably quiet...I never heard anything from the hallway or neighbouring rooms. Very helpful and courteous front desk staff. Would stay here again if we return to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuckgal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,958
    1,052
    103
    19
    9
See reviews for
1,014
2,154
117
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, very close to the main attractions and a lot of great authentic Italian eateries. Very clean, modern room, albeit small. The negatives were minor - no cultural exchange from the busy check-in staff each time we passed by and a surprise tourist tax added on at check-out for our pre-paid night and additional night - who knows maybe that is standard.....?

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guests,

We are glad to understand that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have especially found our location to be good to tour around Rome.

As for the staff, we are sorry that you thought them uninterested in talking with you. We really think it must have been a moment in which they were extremely busy, as you have mentioned, to not be able to properly address you. Our guests normally express their satisfaction in the way our receptionists help them with information, maps and restaurant bookings. We are sorry that you did not have the chance to properly engage with them as they normally do with other guests.

Regarding the city/tourist tax, we are sorry that you were not informed at the moment of booking. This city tax has been in force since 2011 and all our selling websites report the need to pay it directly at the hotel at check out time. The cost depends on hotel stars; in our case is Euro 3 per person per day. This tax is actually common throughout European cities and, although paid at the hotel, it is charged by the city council and they are the ones collecting it. We are sorry that although nowadays it is common to have to pay it in hotels, and that we have placed a note on all selling website, you were not aware of this. Unfortunately we could not locate your reservation, so we are assuming that you have gone to a private travel agent who probably did not inform you about it. We are sorry that you found this odd; however we can confirm that it is absolutely normal procedure and that all guests have to pay it when they stay in any hotel in Rome.

Said this, we hope that you have been able to enjoy in full your stay and that you will be coming back to visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

New clean hotel close to termini station. Rooms are small, think cruise ship cabin sized. Friendly staff, really good valued breakfast - ours was included in our rate. We arrived in the morning from the US and didn't expect our rooms to be ready we were initially told to come back in the afternoon, but Cesar made a few calls and we were able to get Into one room within 30-40 mins. We had to book 2 rooms for the four of us. Rooms are clean, ac adequate, small TV, beds are good but very firm but didn't care for the pillows. There is a safe in the room and a small refrigerator. Good value for money when in Rome. Walk to termini.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allfifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed 5 nights in IQ hotel, room 111. The room was clean, convinient and reasonably spacious (for Rome). It faced inner yard and was so quiet that we could not hear any sound at all. Very attentive and helpful stuff. Great location, many restaurants and bars around, teller machine and bank were just next to the hotel entrance. Reasonable walking distance to most major attractions in Rome. Highly recommended.
For dinner restaurant Terme Di Diocleziano at Via del Viminale 3A provided excellent service and fresh delicious food at reasonable prices. Go to the roof. And don't be deceived by lack of people,- they are on the roof terrace.

Room Tip: Rooms facing backyard are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A new hotel that is very clean and is walking distance to bus stops, metro and train station. It's very easy to get around Rome using public transportation. This hotel is also not far from the Roman Forum and Coliseum. Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful, giving us the name of a local place that had excellent food, Trattoria il Tettarello. Loved the hotel wine and beer vending machine. Also used the hotel washing machine and dryer. From the nearby train station we took day trips to Florence and Pompeii using the high speed train, it's only a little more than one hour travel time. Set up van back to airport through hotel, driver was very polite and found out which terminal we needed to go to, and drove safely. I have stayed at many hotels around the world, this is one of my favorites. If we went back to Rome, we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a terrific place to stay in Rome. Close to the train station, 5 minute walk in a nice area. 10 minute walk to the Colosseum and Roman forum. The hotel was really nice, clean, and well-appointed. The coffee from the vending machines was pretty good, even for a coffee snob. Front desk was friendly, and helpful with suggestions for restaurants and destination info. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHD1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights and experienced some negative bed issues (twin beds pushed together to make a king came apart during the night). The manager (Diego Rossi) was informed and promptly corrected the situation with a very comfortable mattress topper and bed fasteners. We were really happy with the fix as this is a fantastic hotel. It's immaculately clean and comfortable. The breakfast (10 euros per person) is awesome! Fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, ham, coffee, juice, pastries... all delicious and well prepared. It's located near the train station and the Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore. We took taxis to see the Vatican, a fancy dinner out near the coliseum, and The Borghese Gallery and managed to walk back to the hotel without issue. My only complaint is that the young men at reception were not as helpful and polite as Mr. Rossi. Nonetheless, I would stay here again... Had a wonderful experience in Rome and credit the kindness of the Romans we encountered and our splendid accommodations for making this trip so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Keep windows closed at night... Noisy birds outside wake up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSky360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,258 in Rome
6,675 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,258 in Rome
1,296 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,258 in Rome
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing