We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Centrally Located Hotel”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #20 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We stayed in the quad room which was a king bed, a single and a double fold out bed. The hotel is close to Termini Train Station (walking distance) and close to all of the other major attractions of Rome. We walked to just about everything we wanted to see. There is lots of nice little restaurants and shops right near the hotel. The rooms were clean and made up daily. The air conditioning seemed to be set on really cold and we couldn't warm the room up, the hotel did provide extra blankets for the beds though when we asked. The shower was hot with good pressure, although like a lot of hotels the shower was in the bath and it didn't drain very well so after a few minutes you found yourself standing in a couple of inches of water, this didn't bother me too much but it really annoyed my husband. The staff were friendly and happy to help with questions, all of the staff spoke English really well. We ate breakfast one morning at the hotel which was E10 per person, the breakfast was OK but we ate out at local cafe's the other mornings which was nicer and about the same price. Overall I would recommend this hotel to others and I would stay there again if we are ever back in Rome.

Room Tip: We picked a quad room which was really good value for money for a family of 4. There aren't a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Keiranne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for all your positive comments about iQ’s location, attentive cleaning staff, and friendliness. It is unusual to hear that the air conditioning was too cold in summer! It is too bad that we couldn’t have sent up someone to turn it all the way off perhaps! The AC is not centrally controlled, so you should have been able to regulate the temperature to your liking. We are sorry to hear that your husband was put out by the water not draining fast enough in the shower. This could have been rectified by a quick visit by our maintenance staff. But thank you again and we would be glad to have any of your acquaintances here to stay with us and hope that we will have the pleasure of your company for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,512 - 1,518 of 4,368 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Two families just toured Italy for 16 days and we stayed 5 nights at the iQ Hotel Roma in July. Hotel staff was very attentive. Front desk staff especially wore many hats: reservations, concierge, bar tender, barista, money exchanger, tour guide, etc (LOL). Rooms were plenty big and modern, especially for European standards. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patti809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My family stayed here in June 2014. We had three rooms and we all enjoyed the style and comfortable accommodations. Love the roof deck, breakfast and location. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again if lucky enough to return to this historic city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for our last 2 nights (July 13 & 14, 2014) as part of our 6 nights in Rome. We wished we had stayed here all 6 nights.

The price is great for Rome (and you get a lot more for your money than hotels that charge a comparable amount).

The room is smallish (but average for European standards), and very stylishly decorated, with an extremely comfortable bed. Very, very clean.

Upon check-in, we saw immediately how friendly and professional the staff are. The hotel is very modern (like a boutique hotel) and has a LOT of style.

We were very impressed with the thought that had gone into the customer experience. The room key folder folded out to show verbiage and graphics outlining the main things one might want to know (location of ice machines, where smokers can go—as all rooms are smoke free, etc.) The roof-top area is incredible. There is a vending machine to buy bottles of wine (at an incredibly reasonable price), snacks, sandwiches, and other beverages. There is a large covered area on the roof, another area with full sun exposure, and even a kids' play area.

Other amenities which appeal to the long-term traveller include an in-house laundromat (self-serve washing machines and dryers), a pool, a work-out room, and full compliment of toiletries for purchase in case you run out.

The hotel is surrounded by restaurants (not all of which are tourist traps) and many attractions (e.g. the opera house is across the street). The main train station (Termini) is a 5-minute walk away.

All in all, this is a great moderately-priced hotel with attention to detail that one would normally only find in a luxury hotel!

Room Tip: If you like outdoor space, or are a smoker (even though all rooms are non-smoking), ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SnozWrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Every part of our stay at the IQ Roma was perfect. When we first arrived there was a lovely lady at the reception who checked us in within minutes, giving us maps of Rome and telling us all about the hotel.

Our room was small but perfectly adequate. It was also immaculate. We had a balcony that looked onto a backstreet. This was a nice extra. The mini fridge is left empty so you can fill it with own supplies (there is a supermarket on the corner next to the hotel that sells lovely yogurts and breads if you aren't paying for breakfast at the hotel). The bathroom had nice fluffy towels, and was cleaned daily.
The roofgarden is great- the foosball table was a winner for me. Also, there are two vending machines. One sells water/juice/wine and sweets; the other sells toothbrushes, hairbrushes, plasters (those things that you always forget on holiday!).

The location of the hotel was great. Obviously in such a big city the hotel is going to be further away from some attractions, but the subway was close to the hotel so nothing was too far away.

I would like to thank Larbi at the reception for his restaurant recommendations and for making reservations for me. He was lovely and polite and a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RMuir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

iQ Hotel Roma was the first stop of our Italian honeymoon and it was fantastic choice! We chose this hotel based on TA reviews and pictures and it was all very accurate!

Room
We stayed in room 419 and it was surprisingly quiet given the balcony facing the street. The balcony was a great feature to sip on some vino at the end of an adventurous and tiring day. The room was large enough for the 2 of us and our luggage. It was very clean and tidy. There is an electronic safe in the room to keep your important documents and belongings safe. Bed was firm and comfortable. Bathroom was modern and clean. Shower was large for European standards and the water pressure and temperature was great!

Hotel
Checking IN and OUT was very easy. All hotel staff are extremely friendly, helpful and speak English well. The lobby and common areas were well kept and tidy - there seemed to be a staff member cleaning diligently every time we walked the halls. The hotel layout was easy to understand and well labeled as other reviews and pictures have shown. Breakfast had a good variety and worth the extra 10 Euros. The free WIFI was amazing and very convenient!

Location
This is the best feature of the hotel! It was easy to walk everywhere especially to some of the main attractions like the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain and Spanish steps. It is an easy walk to the Metro that can help get you to the Vatican. There is a grocery store and pharmacy just around the corner. There are many restaurants very close by with and even greater selection a short walk away. Simply ask the front desk and they can point you in the right direction. Roma Termini Train Station is about a 10 min walk from the hotel. The neighbourhood felt welcoming and safe!

Overall, we had a very pleasant experience at this hotel and we would recommend it!

Tip: self serve laundry facilities already have detergent so don't worry about bringing any.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank HowIsUrDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! It's located next to the Opera, and walkable to everything! The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast choices are plentiful and delicious, and well priced at 10 euros per person. Bonus: a self-service guest laundry which includes soap! The staff is friendly and helpful. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank listka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,023 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#37 of 1,273 in Rome
1,416 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,273 in Rome
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,273 in Rome
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £78 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing