We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel...”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #21 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel...”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Had stayed in hotel during one of my business trips and loved the place. The hotel is centrally located. The rooms are a bit small but the overall managable. The staff are courteous and the breakfast was good. Overall a fantastic experience and would definetly stay here during my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajkamath786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,990
    1,059
    105
    19
    9
See reviews for
1,034
2,170
117
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The IQ is well maintained with very comfortable rooms.
The staff is very friendly and very accommodating.
The hotel is very accessible to the train station and the buses. I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pnhalladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We elected to try this (do it yourself) hotel for a few days following a cruise and luxury hotel extravaganza in Europe. We were able to do our own laundry, mix our own drinks and picnic on the roof without hassle or admonition; in fact, all the forgoing were encouraged. The hotel is close to the Termini train station and therefore, close to everything accessible by bus, train or metro (which is everything!). The staff were very helpful and everything was handy - including a beer and wine vending machine! The 10 euro breakfast buffet was very good and the room was modern, clean, quiet and sufficiently large to accommodate our luggage without tripping over it. Closet had a reasonable number of hangers and a safe. Internet worked quite well and was free.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40-YearWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Upon arriving we were greeted by friendly, welcoming staff. The hotel lobby and facilities were nice. The rooms were a bit small and tight, but the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very modern and clean. The hotel is also in a great location for walking to shops, restaurants, as well as very close to Republicca metro station. The only downfall or room for improvement I'd say would be with the wifi. The wifi was in and out and often times didn't work, which was oftentimes frustrating when trying to communicate with family and friends in the states.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AD_Wilson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Sir,

We are glad that even after a month from your stay you still cherish some pleasant memories of our staff and facilities.

Regarding your note on the size of the room you were assigned, we have checked our system and can confirm that as per your booking you were in a Small Room. Moreover, at the time of booking and on the voucher you have presented at check in it seemed that you had requested a single room, although you then arrived in two. Unfortunately, on this occasion, we were not even able to offer you a different type of accommodation since we were fully committed – which is quite usual being June high season in Rome.

For this reason we can only stress once more the importance to choose the right accommodation depending on length, number of people travelling and reason for stay. All of our selling websites have been equipped with all the information and photos of all our room types so that guests may make an informed choice; furthermore our staff is always available to answer any further question that our customers might have.

As for the Wi-Fi, we are sorry that you have experience this lack of service. Regrettably, even by checking our log-books, we could not find any reference to this malfunction occurred during the period of your stay nor any other complain from other guests or yourself. We can only imagine that might have been a temporary problem; nevertheless our staff is always ready to help and having know about your distress about this particular matter we would have checked immediately the system and adjust any possible issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here over New Years 2013-2014. The room was very small (reminded us of a cruise ship), but the staff was very friendly & accommodating. The location is great - if you take a left out of the hotel. You really only want to go to the right if you are going to the train station, which is also close by - a good (if you need to take the train) and a bad (train stations don't necessarily attract the best of mankind.)

We easily walked from the Hotel to the Spanish Steps, the Colosseum, and the Borghese Gardens. If you are on a budget & don't really need much room, this is a great choice in Rome.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BizTrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Sir,

We are glad to learn that even after so many months from your stay; you still cherish fond memories of our staff friendliness and convenience of our location.

Unfortunately, we have not been able to pinpoint your reservation in our system; therefore we cannot really determine what kind of room you had booked or what you had paid. We can only stress the fact that all our selling websites offer a full description of our rooms with the different width and bed types, correlated with pictures. Regarding the rates, these vary daily depending on occupancy and especially season. Since January is normally low season in Rome, it is possible that you found a very convenient rate compared to what you might find during April or May.

As for your note on the closeness to the train station and the people who may be found there, unfortunately we cannot really do much about it since it is in fact something that the Major’s Office of Rome should take care about; furthermore, as regrettable as it might be, it is also a very common phenomenon for big cities. We can only confirm that no guest so far as reported any particular episode and in fact they all seem quite happy about our location and confirm that feel quite at ease even walking at night in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My family spent 5 nights at the iQ Hotel during our stay in Rome and we were thrilled with our experience there - the room, while a bit of a tight fight, was very comfortable, the bathroom was well supplied and spacious and the outdoor areas on the top floor were a great place to relax. While we had a bit of trouble getting reservations at restaurants in the area, the front desk was very accomodating and willing to help us out. The breakfasts were a fantastic feature as well - we were able to start our day in the hotel without much stress and at a reasonable price.
As for the location, we cannot say enough about where the iQ Hotel is - you're right near the Termini Station, the Subway and Via Nazionale, but just removed from all of the hustle and bustle of Rome (we had no sound problems at night at all). You can be at any of the major attractions of Rome within 20-30 minutes, and at the Forum within 10.
This is definitely a great hotel to use as a home base in Rome, but not a place to spend lots of your time. We got a great deal for staying 5 nights and couldn't believe the value we were getting. I definitely recommend iQ!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter_D515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We arrived in Italy after travelling through Spain. We had booked through Eur Destinations and were not sure about the hotel. When we first arrived we got the $20 upgrade question for a "balcony room" (which seems to be pretty common in Euro - something always to upgrade)... anyway we declined it. My initial take on the guy at the desk was he was an $$$. I had thought we were in for a rough stay. However, the room turned out to be pretty decent. Shower was great.... beds were "okay" .... pretty small since we were travelling as three ... and in Europe that typically means a sofa bed... The facilities were good and the breakfast was worth the additional cost... nothing exotic but a decent way to start the day. We smoke so they conveniently had smoking areas at each level. A VERY nice rooftop area to sit. We even sat through a thunderstorm up there and stayed dry while enjoying the weather. The vending machines were actually as cheap as going to the local store which is one of the things that they state... it was true.... the day following we purchased tickets for the vatican at the counter in the hotel which was nice... they have the hop on/off tickets also... and the gentleman that greeted us initially was very helpful with the whole adventure... so I guess I was wrong.... the location is within walking distance of most everything that you want to see... the vatican is about a 40 minute walk but we did it even during the heat... Trevi... 20 minutes... colseum 30 minutes.... there is ATM right next to the hotel... literally.... and a McDonalds (if you have kids without the Euro taste buds) ) about five minutes away.... overall a very good mid range place to stay, nice people, good location and I would not hesitate to stay there again...

Room Tip: I am not sure what the balcony rooms are but I didn't see anything that was worth upgrading for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate the time you took for such a detailed review full of positive review and insightful comments! We are sorry that you were a bit confused by the offer of an upgrade upon your arrival – should anything become available for a more comfortable room, we always offer this added comfort to guests who seem interested. We are sorry that this gesture took you a bit by surprise! Again, we thank you for your lovely comments on the enjoyable breakfast, the spacious and clean room, the quality of the shower, your pleasure on our central position and helpful conveniences nearby, and your appreciation of the smoking balconies on each floor. Also, the summer storm sounds like a memorable experience and we are happy that you were able to enjoy it from the dry comfort of our rooftop. We have had lots of positive feedback about the vending machines and we are glad that the prices were comparable if not better than nearby stores! We look forward to having you and your family back with us for your next time in Rome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,737 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,261 in Rome
1,321 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#45 of 1,261 in Rome
2,248 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing