We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intelligent hotel for the self sufficient modern traveller!”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #21 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Intelligent hotel for the self sufficient modern traveller!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel within easy walking distance of the main attractions and the train station. Very bright and modern hotel room, good size bathroom with hot powerful shower, air conditioning was a bit of a problem as couldn't adjust so was quite cold, although no bar area self service drinks dispensers at reasonably costs with a nice roof terrace. Used the laundry facilities which was a great idea as we had clean clothes for our next location. Would defiantly recommend this hotel and would return if i visited Rome again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,993
    1,059
    105
    19
    9
See reviews for
1,035
2,171
117
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Clean, nice hotel.
Located within 5 to 10ish mins from the city sightseeing bus stop.

Loved the outdoor courtyard upstairs with the self service bar.
Staff were friendly and rooms were decent. Tv was a bit small but.. who cares when u r in a good location to explore rome!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelAM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Found this hotel to be the perfect place to stay when wanting to see the sights of Rome. Room was modern, quiet and cosy, with plenty of space for two. Good location, close to public transport however everything is close enough to walk to. Handy vending machines and an ice machine, laundry facilities and a nice terrace. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: No complaints about our room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Pros:
- modern well equipped rooms
- lovely rooftop for reading/hanging out
- kids playground on rooftop
- walking distance to great restaurants and train station
- grocery store next door
- good, free wifi

Cons:
- small room with nowhere to sit within the room other than bed (could have been because we request cot)
- good breakfast, would have been nice to be included in room rate like many other hotels

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDLM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guests,

We are glad that you have found so many positive aspects about our hotel. We are especially glad that as a family with an 8 year old you have been able to enjoy our playground on our rooftop!

As for your notes on our rooms and breakfast we are sorry that you have found these as your main cons.

Regarding the room, as we have managed to check on our system, you had originally booked a Double Room for two people and only after added your son and changed you reservation to a Double Room with a Sofa bed. As described, these rooms offer a large double room with a sofa that eventually can be opened as an extra cot when requested. Since this is normally left open during the guests’ stay the only other possibility to sit would be the desk with its chair. Unfortunately, we do not offer suites, rooms with a separate living area; however, maybe next time you decide to travel in three it might be more convenient for you to book a triple room, which would give you more living space.

As for the breakfast, the fact that it is not included in our room rates, is in fact part of our concept. We prefer allowing our guests to add only the services that they really want to consume, and the breakfast is part of these. Since not only guests like having a full buffet breakfast in the morning, we prefer leaving them the choice of paying for it or not.

We do hope that since the pros were more than the cons you will be coming to visit us again, and maybe next time our front office staff will be able to help you chose the best accommodation for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This was a great hotel. The staff were amazing. The rooms were huge by North American standards, which I was not expecting. The rooftop terrace was a lovely place to retreat to in the evening. Amazing place!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Datgeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our room was immaculate! Additionally, the breakfast buffet (10 Euros per day) was very good and offered a good selection of items from which to choose. Most staff members were friendly and helpful. However, when we encountered problems with our room safe, one staff member was less than helpful. In contrast, other staff members offered superb restaurant suggestions and assistance with directions and transportation. The location is good being very near highly rated-restaurants, good shopping and an opera house directly across the street. If you like to walk, many of Rome's major sites are just a 20-30 minute walk away. Otherwise, a taxi stand is just across the street and a metro station is a couple of blocks away. I would book again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homebodytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to understand that although you had a bit of a bump along the way you have enjoyed your stay with us!

Regarding the episode you have reported on the safe, unfortunately we do not recall your request for help to one our staff members and since you do not provide us with a specific example we can only guess what might have happened.

When it comes to opening a closed safe we have very strict procedures and not all our staff has permission to open a locked safe. Normally if a safe has been locked we require the guest to be there when the person in charge is opening it. For example, if a guest tells us that he cannot access his safety box only while leaving for the day, we will require waiting for him to be back before accessing it. However, we are sorry that you have felt ignored by our staff member. We really think that it must have been a question of miscommunication about our procedures and that he had no intention to be unhelpful.

Said this, we hope that you will be coming to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located in between 2 stations but then again most of the stations in time doesn't get you to the places of interest you wanna go! There is basically not room service - everything is do it yourself - no in room dining and DIY laundry. Breakfast is cheap at 10 Euros

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamestjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to understand that although you have appreciated our breakfast you have not really found much else to your liking. It seems to us that you have not fully grasped our concept nor our location.

We are especially sorry about this since we take great care in placing information on our selling websites so that all our customers may better understand what kind of hotel we are.
As for the location and underground stops you have mentioned, we are a bit surprised that you did not find them useful for touring of Rome. Repubblica stop is only 300m away and it will take you directly to the Spanish Steps, Piazza del Popolo and the Vatican City in less than 10 minutes ride; while Termini train station, 600m away, is the main hub for both the undergrounds and most buses. Taking underground B will allow you to reach the Colloseum, Circus Maximus and the Aventine Hill and even go further down to Saint Paul’s Basilica and EUR area, always reachable with a 10/20 minutes ride. As for the buses, you do not even require going all the way to Termini but simply cross via Nazionale where you can find many buses taking you to the Vatican and the Trastevere district. The locations above mentioned are the ones our guests tend to enquire about; however in case you wanted to see something else our staff would have been more than willing to direct you towards these spots.

Regarding the lack of room service, as explained clearly on our website, we are a different type of 4 star hotel. We offer guests the possibility to chose only the services that they want to acquire and spend their money on and not waste it on unused services, as for example room service. Instead of this we provide on each floor vending machines which will provide guests with snacks and drinks at very reasonable prices. Furthermore, our guests are welcome to buy their preferred meals and have them on our rooftop terrace available all day to them.

Said this, we are sorry that although we have tried to provide as much information as possible on our selling websites you have not been able to understand our location and concept. We hope that next time in Rome you will be able to find a hotel which will suit your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,748 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,261 in Rome
1,326 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#45 of 1,261 in Rome
2,248 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing