We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay in IQ Hotel Roma”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #19 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in the IQ. I don't think I have ever stayed in such a clean hotel ever! The hotel was immaculate. The breakfast had everything you could imagine to eat. It is ideally situated approximately a good ten minute walk to the main sites. The staff were so friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this well run hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,454 - 1,460 of 4,331 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family (mom, dad, 3 teens) stayed 5 nights in two rooms--a twin and a triple--in early August. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. It's within walking distance of Termini. We also walked to the Colosseum and from the Borghese Gallery. The only time we took public transportation was to the Vatican (the subway stop Republic is nearby). So for location, this is a great place.

The breakfast, at 10 euros each, is EXCELLENT and worth the money. They had so many selections including fresh fruit (fresh fruit salad with seasonal offerings), and whole fruit including bananas, apples, oranges, nectarines, plums, and lots more--just really nice. Plus, there were hot items if you need your eggs, and then meats (cold ham, salami, etc.), high quality ricotta and mozzarella, fresh tomatoes, and then an amazing selection of pastries. We just loved the breakfast.

All of the staff we encountered were helpful and spoke excellent English.

The twin room was quite small but comfortable for us. It included a nice large closet and a safe, two beds, a desk with chair, and a roomy bathroom which had a tub/shower combo, toilet, bidet, and sink. There was ample storage space in the bathroom and in the room itself. Everything was clean and in working order.

The triple room included a large bed for two people and a second bed for one. This bathroom was larger than the one in the twin room and also included a separate shower, so in theory, two people could shower/bathe at the same time (the tub here was just like the tub/shower combo in the twin room, but there was also a stand alone shower).

Our rooms were on the first floor (second floor if you're from the U.S.), and faced the opera house. A few times, we could hear a bit of noise from people in the street, but that was really minimal and not a problem.

The hotel vending machines sell items at the same prices you'll find in the Carrefour Express convenience store around the corner. We even bought umbrellas in the vending machine.

The entire hotel was spotless.

The rooftop patio is very nice and includes a playground for kids plus several semi-private seating areas.

The one downside is that I think the toiletries are a little bit cheap. You'll get one tube per person per day of a shower gel/shampoo combo. I am not that picky about shampoo, but I personally didn't like it, or the fact that it's is made in China.

Still, in spite of that, this hotel is absolutely worth the cost, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a convenient reasonably priced room in Roma.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ProfandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review! It is with great pleasure that we read our customers’ reviews and learn that our efforts to make their stay memorable have been worth it! We are especially glad that you have found our breakfast to be “EXCELLENT” and that you have found our vending machines extremely convenient.

As for your note on our in-room toiletries, we are sorry that you did not find these of your liking. So far guests seem to have been pleased by the quality of our new set and so far nobody as complained. We can only confirm that most hotels offer small bottles of shampoo/shower gel which are roughly 25ml while ours are 40ml. Furthermore, if the bottle is nearly over, our housekeeping is normally prompt at placing a new one for use. Regarding the fact that they are made in China, we can only confirm that most hotel products are and even so this does not necessarily mean bad quality. We have changed the old toiletries especially because these new one seemed of even better quality.

We understand that even for this matter all is reduced to personal taste and we are sorry that you found this a fault and a downside to your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is within walking distance of the train station which was why I picked it. It is more modern than I would have liked, but that was my fault in picking the hotel.

Several Rome sites are nearby and within walking distance. Asked the hotel front desk for a restaurant recommendation and I think they recommended one in which they get a kickback. We didn't like that place. Next night we asked the front desk "where do you eat?". Got a family restaurant that was much better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Duane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to understand that although you found the hotel to be too modern-looking for your taste, you have been nonetheless happy about your choice and even after so many months from your stay you still cherish a fond memory of it. iQ is definitely a one-of-a-kind hotel in heart of Rome were a more classical-style is a common hotel feature. Our pictures and description normally stress this fact and guests seem to choose us especially because our style and concept are different from the average downtown hotel.

As for the restaurant our front office staff suggested, we are sorry that you had the impression that we sent you there in order to receive an unofficial payment from it. We can only say that the restaurants we suggest have been normally deemed nice by our customers and we choose them not only based on vicinity and reviews but especially on our customers’ feedback.
We are sorry that after your meal you did not let us know about your experience and did not report your dissatisfaction we the suggestion. It is always our care to contact the restaurant and try and understand what might have gone wrong and therefore evaluate the possibility of continue suggesting it or not.

Ultimately, we also understand that restaurants, as for hotels, may have a different feedback depending also on the taste of the guests themselves. Often we have received conflicting reports on the same restaurant due to this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the hotel with our son who's in his twenties. We were all pleased with the hotel and my son was especially happy with his room. The staff were very helpful and ran the hotel efficiently. The breakfast was good and the restaurant had a nice setting.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank nfzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our recent three night stay at the IQ Hotel was easily a five star stay. First of all, the hotel is immaculate! The rooms are very modern but small. The exercise room has 2 treadmills, an elliptical, two bikes and a sauna room connected to it. It was functional and as spotless as our two rooms were. The are very well priced vending machines on fifth floor terrace area that serve beer and wine. A shout out to the front desk staff all of whom were extremely polite and caring. One complaint that I do have is that if you want a cup of "American" coffee they only way you can get it is to buy the breakfast in the buffet area for 10 euros. Whatever, in Rome maybe I should do as the Romans do. I will definitely return to the IQ in my next stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have stayed for 3 nights in a triple room, the room was spacious & very modern. Staff are really friendly & helpful. Breakfast was great. The hotel is very close to "Roma Termini" & most attractions/shopping streets "Via Nazionale, Via del Corso, Via XX Settembre, Via IV Novembre, Via del Tritone".
Vending machines are available in house where you can enjoy all day soft drinks, snacks, hot drinks & even sandwiches.
Gym/Sauna, laundry & a play area for kids (on the roof).

Definitely i would recommend IQ Hotel Roma for you to stay.
Sure will be back one day !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ShadyRadwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed with my 11 year old daughter for 3 days, clean, safe, modern. We stayed in a room on the main floor, no problems with noise good size room. Bathroom was spacious and nice toiletries were offered. Room was spotless and even smelled good. A bar fridge in the room for your groceries which was convenient as Rome is expensive, we went to a small grocery store and bought some essentials. Great location! Close to bus stops and walking distance to most sites. Take the hop on hop off buses views..amazing..
Nice terrace for breakfast or having an evening cocktail, although no interesting views.
Never experienced such amazing Service in all of Italy anywhere(also while vacationing elsewhere) Roberto I believe was his name (dark haired, 30ish) Amazing thank you for all your concern in ensuring our shuttle picked us up.
Breakfast was good but had to pay $10 Euros for my 11 year old that eats very little, also I though the space the ground floor garden/ square was wasted, a small poll of a small café would be great.
WIFI worked great..happy child!
Overall definitely stay here, unless you want a Old Rome feel

Room Tip: Ground Floor 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetRomeo1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to see that you and your daughter have spent such a great time with us and that you have found many of our services to be perfect for your stay.

Regarding the cost of the breakfast, we are sorry that you have found the 10 Euros to be too expensive since your daughter does not eat much. Normally our guests travelling with children are quite satisfied by our buffet since they seem to find something for all tastes. However, since we understand that not all guests eat a lot in the morning, we also offer the possibility to book the room without the breakfast option included. As an alternative, our vending machines offer some snacks and also hot beverages which may also supply as breakfast for those who prefer a normal one instead of a more conspicuous buffet. Even better, as you have mentioned, we allow guests to keep their preferred items in the in-room fridge and consume them as they please even on our rooftop terrace. This might be a good alternative for those guests who prefer to eat relatively little for breakfast.

As for your suggestion to arrange the outdoors inner courtyard for other purposes, our management has been already considering a way of using it, including the possibility of a pool. Unfortunately, being the building in the city centre there are quite strict limitations to the works which can be undertaken and it is very difficult to obtain permissions. However, we can reassure our guests that we are indeed looking for a more intelligent way to use the space, always considering the comfort of our guest and especially of those sleeping in the rooms facing the inner courtyard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,960 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
1,399 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,271 in Rome
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,271 in Rome
2,289 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £87 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing