We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem! Brand new, trendy & super comfortable!”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #19 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2010

This brand new hotel is a true gem! We spent weeks trying to find a reasonable hotel in a good location in Rome and luckily found the IQ hotel! After looking at 200+ hotels on the internet, we got an impression that Rome hotels are old, run down and expensive. IQ is the complete opposite - it's brand new and it has everything a traveller needs!

The location is perfect - only a 5 min walk from Termini, but not at all in a noisy or shady area. It is situated in Teatro dell'Opera, right next to the Opera House.

The hotel is very clean, stylish and trendy. It has vending machines on most floors with everything from disposable cameras, toothbrushes, food to wine & beer. The hotel has a gym & sauna, self-service laundry, microwave on the 4th floor, business center, free wifi, balconies on the 4th floor, closed off smoking area on all floors, non-smoking rooms, children's play area and an amazing roof top terrace which is open 24h!

The rooms are spotless, and the bathrooms are fairly big with a good shower. The beds are a bit firm, but with comfy pillows and a comforter. A/C throughout the entire hotel.

There is a breakfast buffet on the rooftop terrace for 10 euro if it's not included in your rate. We just ate breakfast at a cafe or grabbed some foccacias on our way to the different sights.

Rome is such a beautiful city and the IQ hotel helps you enjoy it to the fullest. There's nothing like a hotel you enjoy coming back to after a long day out.

It doesn't get any better than this - look no further - book this hotel!

I do recommend visiting the Torre Argentina Cat Sanctuary at the ruins where Caesar was killed - the volunteers are doing such a great job and it's also a cool sight to see considering it's history.

Do get a buspass from one of the hop on & off buses to get around, or simply take the metro and walk. Everything except for the Vatican is pretty much within walking distance. Eat some ice cream at Blue Ice or Il Gelatone - they have lots of soy ice cream too!

Happy travelling!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelagentoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,129 - 3,135 of 4,364 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2010

This was the 4th hotel we had stayed in during our stay in Italy. It's in a convenient location, it's very new and trendy, and a decent price. The rooms were modern, spacious, and the bathroom was spacious and very modern as well. Service was friendly and prompt and their command of English was great so it made it easy for travelers. The only thing I'd improve on is that they don't have hair conditioner in their bathrooms, but do have shampoo and bath foam.

*TIP they have a private car that you can book to take you to the airport if you want: $45. it's an E class Mercedes which is a nice alternative to the train or bus.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scintillater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We loved iQ Hotel in Rome. Exceptionally clean and beautiful modern room with thought out details like lots of space to lay out suitcases. Stunning, huge bathroom with both bath and shower stall and loads of fluffy towels. Wi fi and air conditioning both worked very well. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only downsides were no pool, and some early morning noise from a child playing in the hall once. It is perfect for a family with older children. We can't wait for them to open worldwide.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VangrooverKits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This hotel is newly renovated, well kept, and clean. Rooms are small but nice, even if the mattresses are a bit hard. The staff was friendly and did their best to be helpful. They have a really nice business center, but for some reason the internet always seemed to be down for the 3 days that we were there, which was annoying.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdo47802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

An excellent hotel, friendly knowledgeable staff, spotless rooms, great location and great price.

An interesting concept for a hotel; but I don't care that a city centre hotel doesn't have room service or serve anything other than a breakfast. It has free wi-fi and beer and bottles of wine can be purchases from vending machines on every floor.

I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We stayed at the hotel for three nights during our honeymoon road trip through Europe. We stayed at over 20 hotels on our honeymoon and this hotel was one of our favorites. It was centrally located and just 1km from the train station. The roof top garden was a nice touch and with the hotel being brand new, everything was very clean and tidy. They have coin operated laundry which was useful and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nakida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I'm not sure how we stumbled into such a great little hotel during our stay in Rome, but what a fabulous find. We were immediately impressed with the quality not only of the hotel, room, decor etc. but also with the superb staff! The front desk staff were always friendly and willing to be as helpful as possible. The location was excellent, within walking distance (less than 10 min) to Termini, and 5 min walk to the Metro, Republicca. Located just off of Via Nazionale (major road with shops etc) the street was very quiet, and away from a lot of the hustle and bustle. We found that not many people (taxi drivers etc.) knew about the hotel yet, but we would just mention the Opera and they would immediately know where. The breakfast, though not included 10 euros, was excellent and we were sure to stock up on the fresh fruit, eggs, yogurt, juice to help us start our day. The rooftop patio was a great place to relax after a long day of sightseeing, and the very reasonable vending machines provided everything from water (50 cents!) to full bottles of wine, beer, coolers. The mini-fridge was also a great convenience to have in the room, as we went to the little grocery store behind the hotel and stocked up on snacks. IQ Hotel Roma was built with convenience, and self-service in mind. With laundry machines, free business centre/wifi, workout room, rooftop patio, ice machine, vending machines all available. We were in a double room, which was spacious enough, had a easy to use safe, flat screen tv, comfortable bed/duvet, and very clean and modern decor. The only problem with the IQ Hotel Roma is that when I recommended it to my parents for their upcoming visit to Rome- it was fully booked!! Word is definitely spreading about this fabulous little hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,018 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,272 in Rome
1,413 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,272 in Rome
3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,272 in Rome
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £80 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing