We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket Travelodge”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #19 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.

Booked on the basis of the reviews on Tripadvisor.

The positive points about the hotel are that it is very new, very clean and in a good central location. We found all the staff we dealt with to be courteous and helpful.

It is a 'no frills' hotel - rather like a Travelodge but with a higher standard of fixtures and fittings.

On the not so positive side of things, our room (410) was unbearably hot, which meant it was not a pleasant environment. It is not possible to control the heating which was at a constant 25 degrees celsius. Even with the windows open all night we could not sleep well. This is a problem the hotel seems aware of but is struggling to address. For the final night we were provided with a fan and the option to change rooms. The room we were shown had a very small bed so we did not bother.

On another point I was disappointed with the size of our room (and the alternative room we were shown). Reading the reviews here it is clear that some rooms are much more spacious than the two we saw, hence the very positive reviews written about them- it is worth bearing in mind that not all the rooms are spacious. I contacted the hotel in advance as my husband is 6 foot 5, requesting a suitable room. For whatever reason we were allocated one one of the smaller rooms with two beds zipped together - leaving very little floor space.

In summary the hotel did the job and was good value for Rome. If I visited again I would probably go for one of the more established options and pay a bit more money. I would score the hotel 3.5 out of 5.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HerefordshireSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,979 - 2,985 of 4,363 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2011

Checked out trip advisor before I went and I wasn't dissapointed. Great location, rooms were basic but comfortable, I had no trouble sleeping beds were fine. Fridge in the room was a bonus. Vending machines were very handy especially for bottled water if you wanted to grab some before sightseeing only 0.50, the wine was cheap too at 6 euros. Breakfast was well worth 10 euros have your fill then its sets you up for the day was ages before we felt the need to have something to eat. Staff were helpful and friendly. No complaints whatsoever would book up there again if I went back to Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeriP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Overall, I had a pleasant 8-night stay at the iQ Hotel Roma. The hotel is located on a quiet street off Via Nazionale, near the Repubblica metro station and about a 10-minute walk to Termini station. The hotel is very modern in architecture (so if you're looking for a hotel with antiques, this isn't it). We walked everywhere (but the Vatican) from the hotel. It's about 15 minutes walk to the Trevi Fountain and Colosseum, 20 minutes to the Spanish Steps, and 30 minutes to Piazza Navona at a leisurely pace.

The rooms are comfortably appointed and were cleaned impeccably every day -- fresh linens & towels. I'll agree with other reviews that the beds are a bit on the firm side -- but I found this to be the case throughout Europe. Our room faced the Teatro dell'Opera which was nice. The room offered a wall-mounted flat screen TV (CNN is the only English speaking channel), a desk with chair, empty mini-fridge, a safe in the closet, mini-toiletries in the bathroom. It was great to have the vending machines which had 500ml bottles of water for 50 cents -- at least half price of anywhere outside the hotel -- and pretty good espresso/cappuccino/cafe macchiato for also 50 cents. The machines on the 5th floor had half-size bottles of Prosecco for €4 right by the door to the rooftop terrace. It was great to go up there after a day of sightseeing and just unwind. As mentioned, there's a microwave available, a small 24-hour gym (for those who really need to run on the treadmill) with a small sauna, as well as a pay-as-you-go business center with printing and faxing capabilities which I didn't use as the hotel has free wireless internet throughout. Tip: if you have more than one device you want to connect at the same time, ask the front desk clerk for an extra username/password.

I did not opt for the €10 breakfast buffet during our stay as we're not heavy breakfast eaters and found that we were good with a cappuccino & croissant from the local cafe/bakery -- total of €3,60 for two.

The staff at the hotel were really friendly and always greeted us when we entered and left the hotel. One day during our stay it rained cats & dogs so we decided to wait it out by reading our books in the lobby lounge -- we were there for 2 hours and no one bothered us. The front desk clerk was even nice enough to call the airport shuttle service for us the day before our departure to arrange the pick-up time.

I would definitely stay there again should I return to Rome for the 4th time. :)

Happy travels!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Stayed at the IQ Roma over a weekend in February with my boyfriend, sister and parents for my dad's birthday. We had 3 rooms booked and requested that they were situated near each other on a high floor and that exactly what we got, level 4. All our rooms had their own balcony which had a view over the Opera house and square, I think only level 4 had balconys, and the rooms were immaculate with large bathrooms stocked with shower gels, shampoo, soap and shower hats. We had breakfast everyday with was worth the 10euros, pleantly of choice and a good way to start the day with all the sightseeing that Rome involves. All staff were friendly and polite and gave us a good map to start exploring from (we did buy a map back home but ended up using they one they gave us as it was clearer).
Location was excellent, walked to everywhere except the Vatican (although we did walk back from it...if your legs can endure the walking was a great way to explore the City) and the nearest metro was 2 mins away, really easy to use and only 1euro to get around. Lots of reasonable local restaurants to find just off the main road (to the left of the hotel as you come out), loved Riccis (i think was down a side street called via Geneva or something like that). The best bit though was the terrace with vending machines....so nice to grab a 5euro bottle of wine and sit out there before and after going to dinner. Its all enclosed so at night just grab the spare banket from the room, the weather was so nice we even managed to catch a bit of sun up there on our last day! This was much better than paying 5euro for a glass of wine in a hotel bar, and the vending machines had everything you could want at supermarket prices.

All in all we loved our stay in Rome and the IQ hotel was the perfect choice for us. Book it you wont regret it.....I will be recommending to all my friends and family and when we return to Rome we won't bother to look elsewhere.
Thank you IQ Roma

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank katiered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

friendly staff , nice rooms , ample breakfast for 10 euro surcharge. Convenient location to Termini Station and all major sites....

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stato42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed at the IQ for 3 days and loved the location. It's close to the Termini which is great if you have to catch a train to other parts of Italy and it's also close to the Republicca subway. So getting around Rome using the subway is a breeze. The hotel is not right on the main street, so you will get a quiet nights sleep but since walking is to be expected in Rome anyway, the distance to the train stations are not unreasonable. It helps saves on the cab fare. We ended up walking to the Termini to catch a train to Venice with all our luggage with no problem.

We are a family of 4 and got a room that accommodated all of us in it. Both my kids got their own beds which was great and it's definitely not easy trying to get a room in Rome that will sleep 2 adults and 2 teens.

The beds are definitely firm and the room is decorated in a modular style (think Ikea). However, our room did not feel cramped, it was clean and the bathroom was spacious with the basics that you'd find in a hotel like hair dryer, shampoo etc. We had a refrigerator in our room and we were directly across from the laundry room. Soap is even provided in the washing machine and there was an iron/ironing board in the there.

The vending machines are definitely a convenience and very reasonable. They have vending machines for wine and beer. There was another for snack, sandwiches , soda and water. Water was 50cents a bottle-half the price of what you pay for at the store. A sundries vending machine is on another floor should you forget your toothbrush, need a shaver or batteries. It even sells umbrellas which came in handy one rainy night and it was E2.50 vs what the vendors were trying to charge us on the street (E5). There's a microwave on the same floor.

There's a small complimentary gym for those who need their work out fix. Free Wifi is available throughout the hotel and in the room which was a huge bonus when we need to do a little more research on what we wanted to do the next day.

The staff was friendly and helpful and happily provided us with a sewing kit when we needed one. There are lots of restaurants in the surrounding area for lunch or dinner. Breakfast was more than plentiful and reasonable.

It's approximately 15- 20 minutes stroll to the Colosseum. You may want to consider a 24 hr metro card if you plan on covering a lot of ground and the card can be used on both the subways and buses. It is activated from the time that you validate the card either on the bus (a yellow machine) or the train.

The IQ hotel is not a 5 star property and it it will not be the right fit for you if you're looking for luxury, robes in the room with fancy amenities and having coffee in your room balcony while overlooking the Spanish Steps. However, if you are looking for a value 4 star hotel that offers you convenience, cleanliness and comfortable place to lay your head after a long day, IQ hotel is it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank burrflies8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

First lets start with the pro's to this hotel:

The hotel and its rooms are emaculate to the point of almost sterility. I LOVED this. We even heard people vaccuming our hallway outside our door twice a day. They provide plastic disposable cups.
The hotel was quiet.
Beds comfy (but firm).
The front desk was very efficent.
The roof top terrace was a pleasure for socializing.
We loved the ice machine! So rare in europe.
They also provide a fridge in every room for your use. So helpful!

Then the CON's:

The 10 euro per person breakfast was a. not even close to worth it and b. disgusting does not even close to describe it.
The location is only ok. It is walking distance to all of the major sites IF your not already exhausted from a full day of site seeing.
Lastly, this hotel's concepts is to try to be fancy but with no frills so it may stay affordable. This is great except beware it does kinda feel like they are nickle and diming you at times. For example I threw away one of the plastic disposable cups from the room. I asked for another and was told I could PURCHASE one in the vending machine. This just seems cheap in my opinion.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenjacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iQHotelRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011
Google Translation

We would like to thank the guest for their positive comment and reply point by point to the negative one.

>>Breakfast.
We would like the reader of TripAdvisor and all our future guests to freely decide if the breakfast we offer is worth 10 € per person or not.
Below are the items provided in the breakfast buffet:
>>>bacon, sausages, turkey Würstels, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, steamed zucchini, steamed potatoes, parsley mushrooms, baked beans, selection of croissant, Krapfen, doughnuts, selection of tarts, selection of biscuit, Nutella chocolate spread, honey, selection of jam, marmalade, selection of bread, selection of fruit in syrup, flavored plums with red wine, lemon and orange peel, fruit juices, selection of coffee, cappuccino, hot chocolate, milk, mineral water, fruit salad, selection of yogurt, selection of fresh fruit according to season, mixed salads, cherry tomatoes, cucumber, selection of butter, selection of cheese, selection of salami.
We think that the selection covers a wide variety of different tastes and certainly compatible with other 4 stars hotels in Rome.

We consider the adjective “disgusting” used by the guest really out of line and impolite. We understand food is a matter of personal taste but no one else have so far defined our breakfast using such unacceptable word. On the contrary, it has been considered more than appropriate.

>>Location.
The iQ Hotel location is clearly indicated on any map available on our and other booking sites. We provide accurate information on the official web site to help future guests to understand where we are located and how to reach us. We suppose the guest author of this review had all the chance to locate the hotel in the city which is pretty central by the way.

>>Hotel concept.
We do not nickel-and-dime the guests. We simply decided not to include in the room rate those services that are not absolutely essential to the comfort of the guests’ stay. It’s a model where the guests are free to buy the extras they may need at a very affordable price from the vending machines located on almost every floor.
This concept may be “different” but it is not cheap, it is just iQ.

Ms Loredana Spaltro, iQ Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,017 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,272 in Rome
1,413 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,272 in Rome
3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,272 in Rome
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £80 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing