We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice for a Roman Holiday”
Review of Domus Valeria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Domus Valeria
Ranked #641 of 3,763 Rome B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 May 2014

There are many things that make this a great choice to stay in Rome. Probably the best reason is Marco! He certainly has made the right choice in serving as a host to visitors to this great city. Please listen to his suggestions for eating and you won't go wrong. The last night I was there I ate at Il Margutta just around the corner and it was amazing. The location is perfect, very close to The Spanish steps, but once your inside the B & B all the sounds from the hustle and bustle disappear. I know some people would be concerned about the shared washroom, but honestly it was never an issue. You won't go wrong with this B & B for your stay in Rome.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you very much for the nice review.

It was a pleasure being your host, let's stay in touch!

A big hug from Rome

Marco V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed with Marco for three nights and it was a wonderful experience. Marco was so kind, informative and generous. The room was fantastic, very comfortable bed and the location of the B&B is perfect, just metres from the Spanish steps and metro. Breakfast on the terrace each morning was a wonderful way to start the day. I spent the first 4 nights in Rome in another hotel around the corner as I couldn't get into Domus Valeria and while it was perfectly adequate it wasn't a patch on Marco's. The friendly atmosphere, from both Marco and the other guests, the wonderful room and fantastic breakfasts really added to the wonderful experience in Rome. Highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: I was in a double, plently of room for two people. The whole B&B is extremely quiet despite bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your review and nice comments.

It was my pleasure being your host and I really hope to see you once again in the future, maybe in Australia!

With warm regards

Marco V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

As with previous city breaks accommodation, with the aid of trip advisor reviews we were confident that Domus Valeria would be a good choice - how right we were to book 4 nights here.

The overall reason we knew this was the right place and indeed it turned out to be so was.....Marco. In the run up to our arrival he took time to reply to our e-mails with advice and indeed when saying we were having issues booking a trip or two he offered to book tickets for the Colosseum and Villa Borhese, which he did. He also arranged the airport transfer which although more costly than public transport is a good idea, especially if you're arriving later in the day.

The welcome was warm, the bedroom and facilities very clean and very comfortable and indeed we (only 3 rooms) had the use of a small kitchen area with fridge, freezer, etc so you can prepare simple meals, etc to eat on the roof terrace. He also very kindly prepared an evening meal which we had on the very lovely roof top terrace - every breakfast and afternoon/evening after trips was spent up there which is a lovely area to relax.

We had many good chats with Marco who was not only warm, professional and at all times helpful offering much advice, he also took time to simply chat about things which all adds hugely to the overall enjoyment of a stay as you learn & exchange many things. If you get lucky with fellow guests as we did (2 South Africans, 1 Australian & 1 Russian lady) we also had fun talking with them.

Location-wise, this place is very well placed with places like the Spanish Steps 2 minutes walk, Trevi Fountain 15 minutes walk, Colosseum & Vatican about 30 - 40 minutes walk. Marco provides maps and also suggests restaurants, etc to go to.

Basically, if you want to stay in a sanitised, faceless hotel then don't come here, if you like the sound of all of the above and a great host like Marco then book this place up! Thank you Marco.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Valerio A, Proprietario at Domus Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I

As I always use to say, when I meet nice people like you this is the most enjoyable aspect of this work.

I wish you good luck and I really hope to see again you once again in the near future.

With warm regards

Marco V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Also this year we were so lucky to have choesen Marco´s wunderful flat in the middle of rome at Piazza di Spagna. As the weather mostly was sunny we were able to join his wonderful terace for breakfast. This time we met a guy from Hongkong and joined a wunderful and intersting day together by walking along the via appia antica. Also the ohrer guests were freindly and it is really great to meet those nice and interesting people. I am lookiong forward for next year to join one more time Marco´s cosy appartment. And of course Rome to which I fell in love from the first time I visited it.

Room Tip: If you are travelling alone maybe it is the best to book a double as single. But also the single is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RAMuenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Valerio A, Owner at Domus Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely message!

Has been a pleasure to have you here, as always!

Waiting to see you next year.

With warm regards

Marco V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I am glad to stay at Domus Valeria for my first visit to Rome. An oasis that I could enjoy some quietness and relaxation from the buzzing city life and crowded streets. The room I occupied is tastefully decorated, clean and cosy, rest of the apartment too. The roof terrace is arguably the highlight of this place. Every morning while having the sumptuous breakfast prepared by Marco, I also enjoyed watching the skyline of this part of Rome which fit together in harmony and beauty. The apartment is conveniently located near to the Spanish Steps and travel to tourist hotspots are reachable on foot around twenty minutes. The surrounding area is safe to walk around with stylish shops locate on street levels plus reasonably priced restaurants for this area. Marco, the host, was always hospitable, attentive, helpful, passionate and knowledgeable. It was also a pleasure to meet his family, friends and other guests. A future revisit is definite. Thomas

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Valerio A, Owner at Domus Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your review, It was a pleasure for me being your host!

Let's stay in touch and hope to see you again in the future, maybe in Hong Kong!

A big hug to you!

Marco V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had a wonderful time in Rome and staying with our new friend Marco. Our stay was too short only being there for 2 days but Marco made us feel very welcome and was so helpful when planning those "must do's" in Rome. We had a chance in a lifetime to attend the general audience with Pope Francis and Marco had contacted the Vatican and acquired tickets for us in advance. A short 30 minute walk early Wednesday morning and we were able to get seats just 50 yards from the podium where the Pope delivered his Easter message. That was truly the highlight of our entire trip and we have Marco to thank for that.

The apartment is centrally located right next to the Spanish Steps and honestly that was a saving grace as we wandered Rome and got lost several times. All we had to ask was "where are the Spanish steps" and we could easily find our way back. With a very early departure Marco arranged a private car to the airport and he awoke early to help with the luggage and making sure our driver got us to the airport on time.

Marco..thank you so much for a wonderful stay and hopefully one day you will come visit us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SDTraveler055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Valerio A, Owner at Domus Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review!

I hope to assist you again in the future.

With warm regards

Marco V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

It was a pleasure staying at this B&B. Marcus was a wonderful host and the location was perfect...very close to the Spanish Steps. Though they are located in a central location it is very quiet because of their location in the building.
I would definitely stay here again ...and I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonyexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Valerio A, Owner at Domus Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for ypur review!

I hope to see you again in the next near future!

With warm regards

Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,021 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#453 of 1,273 in Rome
300 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#105 of 1,273 in Rome
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#211 of 1,273 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#74 of 1,273 in Rome
1,455 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Valeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Valeria

Address: Via del Babuino 96 | 4th Floor, Apartment 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #641 of 3,763 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £73 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Valeria is my cozy Attic-Floor Apartment (with lift) for gays, lesbians and hetero friends, located in central Rome.The apartment, with two doubles and one single room, is on the attic floor of Palazzo Saulini, one of the most prestigious historical buildings of Via del Babuino, built in the eighteenth century. The roof garden of about 100 square meters, overlooking the Spanish Steps and the Academy of France, is completely available to all guests.The period decor and the comfortable lounge area make Domus Valeria the perfect place to stay for a visit in the Eternal City, for business or leisure. Wi-Fi Internet access, the collection of films and books and a large terrace overlooking Rome will make your stay a unique experience, whether it is for a few days or several weeks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domus Valeria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing