We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and will be back!”
Review of Palm Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Gallery Hotel
Ranked #21 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Beautiful Barbados
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved it and will be back!”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The staff and the hospitatlity was second to none! We were so happy with the warm reception we received from the Manager. Very accommodating. And, the place is intimate, clean and wonderful. We highly recommend this lovely little boutique hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    176
    32
    5
    4
See reviews for
266
580
50
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We found this fab hotel through Trip Advisor and once again TA helped us have a great trip!

This hotel is based just outside the city center and in a really nice neighborhood. Do not be put off that it is just outside the middle of Rome, for us this was a true bonus.... you actually want to escape the noise and buzz of the city. It is so easy to get back in, the number 80 bus stop is a 4 min walk away and that bus comes every 3 mins and in 5 mins you are there in the middle - it was so easy. (nb there are many other buses to also chose from and the metro - no more than 5 -10 mins walk away)

On our first day we actually walked from the hotel all the way to the Spanish Steps through Park Borgase - again no major effort and shows how well placed the hotel is.

The hotel itself is simple but classy. The room was lovely with a great shower. The only disappointment was that the double bed was in fact two single beds pushed together, not sure if this is the normal in Italy - but might be worth checking when you book. There is a lovely sunny terrace where you can have your coffee outside. The breakfast was nice - very simple - but more than adequate for such a hotel, you will not be disappointed.

So our tips to a trip to Rome :

1. Stay in this hotel - it really is great value and far better than staying in the middle of Rome
2. Ask the wonderful Luisa for her maps. She really does have a map for every adventure and she is really very helpful
3. Get a good map of Rome before you start. We made the mistake of not doing this and got confused and lost - then we got one !
4. Do not buy drinks in the center of town. We walked just a little towards our hotel and instead of 9 euros for a small peroni, we paid 3 euros for a large peroni. The difference in price was shocking, don't fall into the tourist trap - always check the menu before you sit.
5. We bought bread, salami and cheese from supermarket and had picnic for lunch each day - SO much cheaper and just as nice
6. Don't buy anything from the kiosks outside the main tourist attractions - they are ridiculously over priced
7. When you go to Collesum , buy your ticket from the entrance to the Forum (just 200 meters down the road). There was a 45min queue to buy ticket at the Col and we had got this tip from Trip Advisor - there was zero queue at the Forum. The same ticket lets you into both sites. Once you have your ticket, you walk straight into the Col. This was the TOP TIP !
8. The Vatican Museums was great - but we only spent an hour or so there. Still don't miss it for the Sistine Chapel.
9. On the Saturday we went for a day trip to Pompei. Totally doable and so worth it. We left on the 8.27 train (went on the cheap one which was 10.50 euro and 3 hours, but it was fine (we read a book!) then at Naples, look for the Circumstavia signs for the local train - you can get the ticket for that train there - and 30 mins and you at Pompei. The train drops you to the front door. 3 hours at Pompei was more than enough and we were back in Rome by 7pm. (once again we were organised and took a picnic)
10. Get the 116 Bus to Travestre. It is a great way to see the back streets of Rome !!
11. Do not spend any time at all near Termni train station. it is a simply horrible place full of tramps and dodgy people. So relieved that we didn't stay in that area.

Overall we had a great trip and staying in the Palm Gallery Hotel certainly made it relaxing and comfortable. Hope this review is helpful to you.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank LondonLucyLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I have to say this B&B was a great find. This was our first trip to Italy, and everyone at the hotel was very helpful. The room was cleaned daily and was perfect size. They had maps to all the sites and told you which buses to take to get to each. They sold bus passes at the hotel, which was also helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mattie12903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We had the pleasure to stay at Palm Gallery for 3 nights during a recent trip to Italy. The hotel was easily a highlight of our trip. The host and staff are incredibly welcoming and helpful. The hotel itself is clean, spacious and beautiful. There is a lovely garden in front where we enjoyed breakfast (which is phenomenal, great variety of high quality italian breakfast treats - better than the spreads we got in higher-end hotels!). The rooms are spacious and very clean and comfortable - again, look like those in a much more expensive hotel. The neighborhood is peaceful, safe and quiet - we left our windows open at night to the sounds of birds and bugs, which was lovely. That being said, there is a drawback to the peaceful location - it's a bit of a walk from the main sights. We took the metro, which is about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Not bad at all, and an easy trade for everything else great. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat and would recommend to anyone visiting Rome!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alden110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

First of all, Luisa and Daniel are truly wonderful human beings who seem to excel at exceeding expectations. I felt like Luisa was my friend before I even arrived in Italy. She quickly responded to every e-mail inquiry I had before we arrived. I had a feeling that she and Daniel were going to put us at ease as we experienced our first trip in Europe. They did not disappoint! I was worried about language barriers, but with them there were none.
Daniel met us at the airport and instantly we had a new friend! Throughout our 4 days we were there, he guided us to good restaurants, walked us to ticket offices, even ran out in the rain to get us a map and tickets one day. He was always available to take us to places we needed to go by car. Our last day he drove us to the Hertz location and waited in the garage to make sure we were happy with our car! Luisa was very sweet and helpful, too. She knew we were celebrating my husband's birthday and before we left she gave us two bottles of wine to enjoy the rest of our trip!
We loved the room that we stayed in. It was bright and sunny, large enough to move around and nicely furnished with storage space. The bathroom was modern and the entire area was very clean. The staff was extremely courteous. Breakfast was more than I expected downstairs in the comfortable dining area. There were meats, pastries, apples, bananas, cheese, yogurt, fresh squeezed orange juice, nuts, and more. The cappuccinos were wonderful! Amenities were great, wireless access everywhere and beds and linens were super comfortable! I can not say anything bad about this place! I will miss Luisa & Daniel and hope to see them again some day!

Room Tip: We had the corner room which was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bizybee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

This hotel is an inspiration. We were greeted by the owner Louisa when we arrived late at night With a warm welcome. The hotel itself is a gem with beautiful furniture made by Louisa and her friends. When I displayed an interest in the technical details they were kind enough to explain them in some depth. it is very well placed — very close to the beautiful villa Borghese Gardens. The rooms, breakfast, serviced, and so on and so forth were without exception very good. The gardens are nice to sit in though small. Breezer was also very helpful with guidance about what to see in Rome and restaurants to go to — not only with advice about ancient and Renaissance Rome but also with advice about current artistic and architectural places to see such as the Maxxi Museum of the 21st century. It was left to our last day to see it and turned out to be very interesting indeed about contemporary architecture and art.

- And she generously explained the technical details to us in some depth

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelsonandbronte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Traveling with my husband on a 60th birthday trip, our experience at the Palm Gallery Hotel was first to last everything we had hoped for, and often exceeded our expectations. The room was airy and light, well decorated and furnished. The bathroom was well-designed and roomy, not something one often finds. Everything worked. The location in a green and quiet residential area, yet well serviced by both bus and metro to the center of Rome, was perfect for sightseeing without getting mired in the noise and clamor of the center at night. The area of the hotel remained peaceful all day. The staff went above and beyond as a matter of routine. Personally I loved the garden, and the sun deck at the front, surrounded by greenery and the perfect place for a glass of wine to unwind. Louisa, the owner, is a fascinating and caring host, and Daniel and the other young men were always attentive and helpful. The one aspect that is currently being rectified is the relatively cramped guest lounge/breakfast room - the renovations of the new area downstairs were held up due to requirements to prove they hadn't hit ruins when they discovered an old cellar - but the new area, much larger lounge and a cafe/breakfast room, should be finished by mid-June. Yet even with the smaller area, I wouldn't have stayed anywhere else.

Room Tip: The large panoramica room was great for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBoomer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,614 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,256 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Relais 6
#33 of 1,256 in Rome
1,859 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,256 in Rome
2,861 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#11 of 1,256 in Rome
3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Gallery Hotel

Property: Palm Gallery Hotel
Address: Via delle Alpi 15D, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 stars hotel, located in a very charming area 2 km from Spanish steps, in a liberty villa with garden, totally renovated. Design and liberty rooms. Private bathrooms, wifi, safety box, minibar, air conditioning, LCD TV, personal scale, hairdryer. Fresh pastries and high quality breakfast, wine & cocktail bar, airport pick-up, babysitter, indoor & outdoor relax area, store, fitness, rooftop terrace & garden events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Palm Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing