We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel off the beaten path in Rome”
Review of Palm Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Gallery Hotel
Ranked #21 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel off the beaten path in Rome”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Palm Gallery hotel is truly one-of-a-kind. From our first steps on the property, we felt like we were staying at the home of a friend. Luisa, the owner, is the perfect hostess who greeted us with a bottle of Prosecco and snacks which we enjoyed on the lovely front balcony. We quickly became acquainted with the hotel cats, especially Romeo. We spent some time every morning and evening on the balcony, enjoying the beautiful gardens and peacefulness of the neighborhood. Luisa went out of her way to make our stay fabulous even having drinks with us late one evening to celebrate my husband's birthday.

The accomodations are lovely. Our room was very comfortable and quite large even though we had three people staying in it.

With the maps provided by Luisa it was no problem to take the bus all over Rome. Be sure, though, to either utilize Luisa's car service from the train station or the bus as we were price-gauged by a taxi driver.

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at the Palm Gallery and will look forward to returning again!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TX_traveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    176
    32
    5
    4
See reviews for
266
580
50
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My boyfriend and stayed there last June, a charming town house away enough from the noisy downtown but yet close to take a subway and get there within 20 minutes.
The staff is great, fist of all the owner (Luisa) is always there to assist you...she welcomes every single guest :)...from the moment you arrive they make you feel like home...Vincenzo (the receptionist) is very helpful and charismatic...Lorenzo by night its a great host, either you arrive in the morning or late at night someone is always there to assist you.
On a personal note, our room was in the first floor and very close to the kitchen and service area, therefore mornings were very noisy and towels in the bathroom were very hard....it will be nice if you could have t.v. channels in other languages apart from Italian.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina_Pimienta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The title just about sums it up. This is not your run of the mill hotel. Great decor, spacious rooms and great staff. We were welcomed by Daniel, who kept a parking spot saved for us and then welcomed us with a lovely bottle of wine. The hotel has a quiet garden perfect for relaxing after a busy day exploring. It's a bit of a distance from some major tourist areas but definitely worth it. We look forward to staying here again on our next trip to bella Roma.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We spent our final night at this hotel in Rome.

While it was a little bit of a journey out of the city of Rome, it's very well connected and its great to get away from the hustle and bustle!

We were made to feel very welcome and special, and we knew it would be a relaxing stay from the start. The rooms are very comfortable and it feels a lot like being in a luxe B&B rather than an impersonal hotel.

I highly reccommend this place. We used the hotel's bus service to get a transfer to the airport which was great and very stress free!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieandGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The staff was amazing here, I admit that. They helped us do "Rome in a day", which is all we had, and gave us 1-day unlimited ride (4 euro) metro passes, which everyone visiting Rome should get. You have to leave your room key in the lobby, which I hate to do. It did not seem to be closely monitored. The hotel is in the middle of a residential area and is not close to the subway at all. Take the bus or use the hotel's transportation. The hotel was very expensive for its location, along with the transportation it offered. It took us hours to get to the hotel from the Fiumicino airport and luckily two Roman gentlemen GPS'd it for us on their smartphones. Otherwise, we would have never found it. This was the most frustrated I had been on our 6-country trip, and I even had multiple directions. Here's a tip: Stay at the Hilton Rome Fiumicino Airport hotel that offers a free shuttle into Rome (which will save you 30 euros per person round trip, and a whole lot of time on public transportation). Also, this hotel was more expensive than the Hilton Rome Airport when we stayed at it. I was so frustrated about its location, that it overshadowed the service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sedillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

For the discerning traveller...
A very special little hotel just outside the city centre in a lovely residential area, which is safe and quiet. We stayed four nights and loved every minute. Luisa and her staff are like a family, and treat guests like family too.
We were a party of five, two mums and three grown-up daughters. Our rooms were beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, and very quiet.
The hotel is a lovely old building with a big shady terrace. Just the place for a drink after a hard day's sightseeing. Luisa provides maps and advice for almost everything - trips to the Vatican/Colosseum/shopping. She can give you bus tickets too, and we were walked to the bus stop on day one, to ensure we got the right bus.
Useful tip: eat locally, not in the city centre. We used Luisa's map for local restaurants, all of which are about five minutes walk from the hotel. We found ourselves in properly Italian restaurants, eating the most exquisite food. Not pricey either.
Other useful tip: we wished we'd the Palm Gallery airport pick up... we got horribly ripped off by the taxi drivers at the Termini Station.
Rome is full on in July, so this hotel was the perfect sanctuary at the end of a hot, busy day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midnightmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed here for 4 days and can't say enough about the wonderful support of the whole staff - Luisa, Vincenzo, Daniel and the others you can tell they enjoy working together. Vincenzo helped my daughter and I navigate the language barriers in the restuarants by writing down in Italian the words I needed to inquire about gluten-free options!! He even had me practice the sentences to perfection! This made our searches for dinner sooo much easier! Can't say thank you enough Vincenzo. Luisa's advice for the buses was spot on and she was quick to met us at the train station when we first arrived. She had such a joyful spirit, that must be what got her through the broken toes she suffered out last day there!! Breakfasts were wonderful, and once again Vincenzo found some gluten-free options for my daughter and I to enjoy! The eggs were great as was the coffee! Rome was steamy,but it was nice to return to the quiet and cool rooms at Palm Gallery. Our room was clean and a tight squeeze for the 5 of us,but it worked just fine. After a long day of walking through Rome, we looked forward to their comfortable beds for a good night rest. I'd definitely return here, perhaps during a cooler time when we could enjoy sitting outside for breakfast and enjoy some wine at the end of the day outside as well....I failed to mention how nice it was to arrive and be greeted with drinks, on one of their lovely patios, on the house! They took care of our laundery for only 5euros a load and Daniel gave us an entertaining ride to the airport! We were there in 45 minutes, just like Luisa said. So glad we didn't try to navigate that trip with public transport. Hope to see everyone there again, soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlinhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,614 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,256 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Relais 6
#33 of 1,256 in Rome
1,859 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,256 in Rome
2,861 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#11 of 1,256 in Rome
3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Gallery Hotel

Property: Palm Gallery Hotel
Address: Via delle Alpi 15D, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 stars hotel, located in a very charming area 2 km from Spanish steps, in a liberty villa with garden, totally renovated. Design and liberty rooms. Private bathrooms, wifi, safety box, minibar, air conditioning, LCD TV, personal scale, hairdryer. Fresh pastries and high quality breakfast, wine & cocktail bar, airport pick-up, babysitter, indoor & outdoor relax area, store, fitness, rooftop terrace & garden events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Palm Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing