We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at a friend's house...”
Review of Palm Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Gallery Hotel
Ranked #17 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hotel and rooms are beautiful and we looked forward to returning here after each day out in the city. It really feels as though you are staying with a friend and not in a hotel. The hotel provides a map with nearby buses with routes to popular tourist attractions. We ended up walking into the city and taking the bus back each day. For us, it was easier to familiarize ourselves with the area in order to know when and where to get off the bus on the way back. Plus the walking helped ease the guilt of daily gelato treats! However, it was quite a far walk (and I am accustomed to 5 mile walks every other day).
The hotel also provides a mapped list of nearby restaurants. We ate at Pizzeria Bruto two out of the three nights we were there. It was a casual, local spot with great bruschetta, pizza and salads. (Our bill for an order of bruschetta, bottle of water, and two pizzas was 26 euro) Also has outdoor seating. Our last evening, we ate at Ristorante Emilio, and again, were amongst locals. Delicious pasta (carbonara and cacio e pepe) and dessert.
Breakfast each morning on the patio was a treat! Croissants, cookies, toast, mozzarella and tomato, and eggs made to order. There was also some gluten free treats. Again, the feeling of staying with friends and not the fuss of a formal restaurant.
Having a drink on the patio after a day of sightseeing was a great way to relax. It was fun to meet other guests and trade stories on the day and plans for the next.
I do feel that the walking distance took away from our overall experience, but then again, the location made it easy to unwind from the crowded city and the restaurants we tried were excellent. I highly recommend this hotel and feel that if it weren’t so hot, the walking into the city may have been more enjoyable and less of a negative.
We left feeling like Luisa and Daniel were two new friends!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacation9778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,179)
There are newer reviews for Palm Gallery Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

737 - 743 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

I am a travel agent from Canada which recently stayed at the Palm Gallery hotel with a group of 11. This lovely small intimate hotel has and exceptional staff assisting with restaurant tour reservations and recommendations, the rooms are modern and comfortable, just a short bus or taxi just out of the hussle and bussle. WE really enjoyed sitting out on the deck having drinks at night and breakfast in the morning...it was so relaxing! I would highly recommend the Palm Gallery when visiting Rome!
Thanks Luisa!! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I enjoyed staying at the Palm Gallery Hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Vincenzo who was very attentive. The owner, Luisa, suggested good restaurants in the area that offer very authentic Roman cuisine and are moderately priced.
I thought the room was comfortable and very clean, the bathroom was also clean and modern, and the grounds are a definite plus. The breakfast is very good, the coffee excellent, and there is always some tea, fruits and little snacks during the day as well.
Although the location didn't bother us too much, we even walked from the Pantheon to the hotel one night, walking during the day in the heat or taking the bus when it was crowded was a bit of a hassle. When in Rome the next time I might opt for a centrally located hotel that I could access more easily.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Very attentive staff and comfortable accommodations a short bus ride from the frantic center of Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My wife and i stayed in the Palm Gallery as part of our Italian honeymoon in September 2011 after reading the other reviews on TA. We arrived in Rome on the train (Roma termini) and walked to the hotel - under 30mins with two suitcases isn't a problem in our book. All the staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful (providing maps, places to eat and translating Italian emails from a bus company when my jacket went missing). The room and bathroom were to an excellent standard (my wife was very impressed with products in bathroom) and staff go to great efforts to create a warm ambience in the hotel. There is good choice for breakfast (staff will also offer to make omlettes etc) and you can either eat inside or out on the terrace. The hotel is undergoing some renovation work at the moment - new fitness room, new dining room but we didn't notice any undue noise and it didn't effect our stay. A great hotel and we would definately stay again!

Kat & Ian Lester

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KILester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Together with my boyfriend I spent a weekend in Rome this September. Staying in the Palm Gallery hotel was great - it feels like a little oasis in beautiful but busy Rome, is beautifully decorated and has excellent service (late breakfast is not a problem!). The hotel owner Luisa gave us lots of tips for sightseeing and good restaurants around, and it is easy to go downtown by public transport or by cab. I definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariekevdL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

SERVICE:
My fiancee and I got engaged at the beginning of our 2 week Euro Trip and our last stop was Palm Gallery in Roma. We were never treated as well (at 4-star Hilton's or boutiques) as we were at Palm Gallery. From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel comfortable and at home. We didn't report an issue with the TV channels, but it got fixed because the cleaning staff noticed it. We were served great snacks and breakfast. We got a real insiders guide to food/beverage in Roma and the staff reserved us a spot for a fantastic late-night dinner in a nearby park.

ATMOSPHERE:
If you want a "cookie-cutter" chain-hotel atmosphere, Palm Gallery is not that place. It is unique, stylish, and homey (not homely). The terrace is extremely relaxing before or after the inevitable long, hot walk in Rome. Our room was huge compared to what we've come to expect in Europe. The room had high ceilings, a nice cross breeze, and great natural lighting. The AC worked when needed and the amenities were also a nice touch (crisp dry towels, high-quality tolietries, etc.).

LOCATION:
We found the proximity to Termini train station to be perfect as a jump-off point for our touring. It is walkable (we did many times) but also has closer connections to the metro and city buses. We also walked back from the top of the Spanish Steps. It is not located in a busy neighborhood but we found everything we needed close by. We ate two great dinners at restaurants within 3-6 blocks (recommended by hotel staff). We also had access to grocery items when needed.

I strongly recommend this place based on the above points.

Regards,
Travis

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,803 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,228 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,267 in Rome
618 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Gallery Hotel

Address: Via delle Alpi 15D, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £94 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 stars hotel, located in a very charming area 2 km from Spanish steps, in a liberty villa with garden, totally renovated. Design and liberty rooms. Private bathrooms, wifi, safety box, minibar, air conditioning, LCD TV, personal scale, hairdryer. Fresh pastries and high quality breakfast, wine & cocktail bar, airport pick-up, babysitter, indoor & outdoor relax area, solarium terrace and small swimmingpool, store, fitness, rooftop terrace & garden events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Palm Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing